We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last day of our vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Save Saved
You added Hotel Buena Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Last day of our vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a flight back to the states early in the morning and we could have booked a room close to the airport along with all the business travelers in a "could-be-anywhere" hotel. But, we decided to enjoy the services of a "close to the airport" hotel in a hotel that is about 25 minutes up the hill in the coffee plantations. They offer free transportation to the airport, breakfast, lunch and dinner. They have a wonderful view of the city which can be seen from the hotel and the short stroll through the coffee plantation.
I highly recommend this hotel as a home base or first/last place before you head onto other locations. The staff is friendly and accommodating.
With that said, the hotel is not really within walking distance to any great restaurants or general “action”. It is in the hills with a great view in a relaxing setting!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villas because there were 6 of us. We had to stay in one room but it was bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    119
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
128
153
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The staff was fabulous, very friendly and knowledgeable. Coco was our patient and friendly driver to the La Paz Waterfall park. He also shuttled us to and from the airport. The first night we stayed in the older rooms, but they happily changed our reservation to the remodeled rooms for the next 2 nights. Breakfast was awesome! The fruit, muffins and coffee with hot milk was very good. I loved the intimate feeling, the staff knew us by name. We will stay there again on our next trip to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our tour group stayed the night for our first and final days of our two-week tour. The first night was problematic for some people in our group, but they seemed to be able to iron out the problems, eventually. Our room was the first one from the office and dining room, so we got a LOT of noise on a night we had to go to be early (and be at the airport at 5:30 a.m.), so that was a bit of a nuisance. But by and large, it is a nice place for a peaceful view of the mountains with a great cup of coffee and unwind before hitting the road. As with all the other hotels we experienced, the beds are less than stellar, but who cares?! You're in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel staff was very attentive. The hotel was clean and well maintained. They are a bit off the beaten path - up on a ridge in Alajuela - but have a shuttle service to and from the airport. It was a good way to start or end a holiday. You are, however, pretty much stranded once you're there. Their dinners were good. Breakfast is included.

Some other traveler comments here complained their shower nozzle made noise. Mine did too; so what. If that's all there is to complain about, you're just looking for something to complain about.

Room Tip: The "Coffee Trail" out back was fun. It's a short walk with signposts and flowers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Buena Vista hotel, which was excellent in every way. The hotel is set in a garden in the coffee plantation area in the hills above Alajuela. It is quiet, has lovely views across to San Jose and the temperature is perfect. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate; everything, including the beds, is of a very high standard. We were upgraded to the junior suite with an enormous sun deck for the first night, which was a lovely start to our holiday, but our standard room was also excellent. Also, there was no noise from adjoining rooms.

The restaurant serves extremely good, reasonably priced, food. Breakfast is a beautifully presented plate of mixed fruits, toast and jam, fruit juice and coffee. It is possible to eat either in the dining room or outside by the adjacent pool area. The pool area is surrounded by flowers and looks through to the garden.

The hotel has a well stocked and keenly priced gift shop, which we used in preference to other shops that we saw in other locations.

The hotel's complimentary shuttles to and from the airport and connecting with the Interbus shuttle, worked smoothly. We also did the Poas Volcano/La Paz waterfall and gardens tour with the hotel, followed by an excellent lunch at a restaurant recommended by our driver/guide Coco.

The entire staff of the hotel, more of a team because it is very much a family concern with several members of families employed there, could not be more friendly and helpful. Our stay was perfect and I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but the rooms facing San Jose have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay on your way into and out of CR. We arrived with our 2 kids late at night, tired. The kitchen was closed but the owners graciously allowed us to order dinner. The pool hours were also over, but again, the owners allowed our anxious kids to use it (as long as we were reasonably quiet). The rooms were recently remodeled- ours had amazing linens, pillows, and a luxurious bath. The view is tremendous. Small grounds, but intimate, and beautiful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We reserved a balcony room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We just got back from our second trip to The Buena Vista, it's a wonderful way to start (or end) your trip to Costa Rica.

The shuttle was waiting for us when we got off the plane and it's only 15 - 20 minutes to the hotel. They have remodeled the hotel since the last time we were there and it's GORGEOUS! We got a balcony room and it was nice to sit out there and take in the views of the central valley.

This hotel goes above and beyond to make sure it's guests are taken care of. We got in much later than expected and could not make our Interbus reservations for the next day when we were due in Cahuita. The internet was down as well. Irena at the front desk went above and beyond to help us. She even had her husband checking bus schedules from home for us! She ended up calling a taxi driver that the hotel frequently works with to pick us up, drive us into San Jose, buy our public bus tickets and then take us to the place where we wait for our bus.

The breakfast service is good. Delicious coffee, a muffin, toast and fresh fruit and orange juice. BUT if you want something really great - order off the menu and get banana macadamia nut pancakes. YUM! We also ate dinner at the hotel and it was very good.

Harlem was our server and go-to guy. He was super friendly and helpful. He even took us on a tour of the new guest houses that the hotel built. WOW!!!! The next time we come, I would LOVE to stay in one of these!

I can't say enough nice things about the Buena Vista. We really like this hotel!

Room Tip: It was about $10 more for the balcony room. I would definitely do this again. A guest house would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.