We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at a newly remodeled Buena Vist Hotel, located just 20 minutes from the San Jose Airport. What an absolute delight. The staff really makes you feel welcomed, and do their best to please you. They all pitch in to do everything and the comradarie is apparent. The rooms have been tastefully updated and the views the 2nd floor rooms are spectacular. They have a nice gift shop on site, and provide a nice, healthy breakfast in the morning. We will definitely be going back!!

Room Tip: We chose the 2nd floor since they had a balcony and a view of the city at night. There must have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    126
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
136
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I own a home in Puntarenas, Costa Rica, so we are frequently flying in and out of the country. Generally we plan our trip so that our first night includes a stay at the Buena Vista Hotel. They pick us up at the airport, and even arrange for our rental car to come to the hotel the following morning. The staff is extremely courteous, the rooms have all been recently renovated, the food is good, and the setting is just beautiful. I have recommended this to many of our friends and they have all been very pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the second story rooms with a view, or one of the rooms in the 5 new villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The Hotel Buena Vista is ALWAYS part of my trips to Costa Rica - a great place to stay after a long day of travel as well as the perfect location for the night before an early flight out. As part of a Central Valley tour, HBV is in a perfect place for day trips to Sarchi, Poas, La Paz, and coffee plantations.
The staff is warm and attentive - they will always be a favorite!!

Room Tip: The new villas are very nice - SUPER beds - all rooms in the main house are undergoing renovations n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chievres / Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Uphill just 9 km from airport - nice view on the central valley n San jose city - quiet and relax - nice large rooms - good food - we spent there our last 2 nights in CR - we would recommand this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just came back from a fantastic trip to Costa Rica with 3 girlfriends. I'm from Florida and they are from California. We stayed at Buena Vista the first night of our arrival and the last night before flying out. Cucko and Christian and all the staff at Buena Vista are top notch! We stayed in one of the new villas and was perfect for four women. Absolutely beautiful, very clean, extremely comfortable beds and a large balcony. Cucko recommended Wilson (tour guide) as a driver for us as opposed to renting a car and turned out to be the best decision. If you need a driver in Costa Rica, definately ask for Wilson! I stayed at Buena Vista back in 2002 and has remained a beautiful hotel with fabulous views, wonderful hospitality and great food. Never a dissappointment! I highly recommend to anyone travelling to Costa Rica as it is a perfect starting and ending point as well as a base for day trips in that area as there is so much to see and do. Pura Vida, Chris

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent the last night of our vacation in this lovely hotel. The view is spectacular, and the restaurant was amazing (my boyfriend swore he had the best shrimp of his life there). My steak was also out of this world. The bed was comfortable, and the employees were very helpful. I would definitely spend the night here again the next time I find myself in Alajuela.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a nice independent hotel to start your holiday in CR. They have a walk round the hotel grounds called the Coffee Trail, which is a nice introduction to some of the flora of CR and is well labelled. It's free and takes about 20 minutes depending on how many photos you take!

The food is fine, with a reasonable variety on the menu. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.

It was much better than staying nearer the airport. Even though it was dark by the time we left the car hire place, it was easy to find the hotel with the sat nav and it didn’t take very long, about 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.