We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buena Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Buena Vista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
High Prairie, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

My family of 3 stayed at the Buena Vista Hotel for an extended period prior to, and after, attending a tour of Costa Rica.

The hotel is built on the lower slopes of Poas volcano and can boast spectacular views of the central valley, and the cities of San Jose and Alajuela. Be sure to take in the view after dark, when the shimmering lights of the central valley fairly take your breath away! The location is convenient for access to Juan SantaMaria International Airport, the city of Alajuela, the Capitol (San Jose) and nearby attractions.

Hotel Buena Vista is constructed in a Spanish colonial style (at least, to me it looked that way!) and is bright and clean. Hotel grounds are immaculately kept. Every day we saw hotel staff cleaning and keeping the hotel and grounds. The hotel has a reflection garden, a beautiful lawn, a nearly-enclosed pool deck, a fantastic restaurant & bar, and an interpretive coffee trail winding through their hillside coffee plantation, with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside.

The hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel that we were at our home-away-from-home in Costa Rica. They were willing to arrange day trips to various venues (shopping at Sarchi, Grecia's metallic church, exploring waterfalls, rainforests, cloudforests, Poas Volcano, etc.). More impressively, the staff took the time to greet us with a warm handshake each morning and whenever we returned to the hotel. They generously shared their time and knowledge of Costa Rica whenever I asked them about Costa Rica's history, culture, economics, family life, ecology or whatever topic came to my mind. Sometimes these conversations took a bit of time and - with interruptions to attend to the needs of another guest - the staff always gave us the time to help us, share with us, teach us Spanish, and treat us like family!

Did I mention the food? The food! It's tasty, nutritious and delivered in a pleasing manner. Some of the fruit is grown on the grounds (ask the staff for a tour) and the cooks make eating an experience to savor!

I cannot say enough good about these wonderful people who make Hotel Buena Vista a destination of choice! They made our arrival warm and welcome, our stay happy and comfortable, and our departure sweetly difficult! Have you ever stayed at a hotel where you couldn't leave without hugging them goodbye?

I would happily come back and stay here again.

If you want a safe, clean, quiet and happy place to base your discovery of Costa Rica from, make it the Hotel Buena Vista!

  • Liked — The hotel staff
  • Disliked — the 20 gallon hot water tanks
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    126
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
136
158
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Recently my nephew and myself had the pleasure of staying at Buena Vista and I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough for all they did to make our stay wonderful. Over and beyond our expections, it included assisting us with travel arrangements after we left the Alajuela area.The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with wonderful views from your balcony , the hotel is kept immaculate the breakfast and dining was very good , we enjoyed it so much we returned to Buena Vista on our last night before leaving Costa Rica. This well maintained hotel offers beautiful grounds, a gift shop, a lovely dining room, a bar, and the friendliest service you could imagine. What more could ask for? If you plan on travel to Costa Rica and are confused about hotels and areas as I was prior to going there, then do not overlook this hotel. A great value, I hope to return to Costa Rica and Buena Vista.

Lois in Massachusetts, U.S.A.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed here on the last night of our holiday and felt the hotel to be bad value for money and not really in line with the other recommendation. It was hard to find good value accomodation near the airport so perhaps this is the best of a bad bunch but in comparison to the other places we stayed on our trip the hotel was dated and lacking in charm.

The staff were friendly though the hotel is right on the edge of the town and the in house restaurant very olf fashioned. We booked through the online service but when we arrived they had no record of our booking despite getting confirmation when we booked.

They have free internet and will shuttle you to the airport for free.

  • Liked — The proximity to the airport
  • Disliked — Bad value for money
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

I've been beginning and ending my CR trips for the past 5 years at the Hotel Buenavista. Attention to detail, friendliness, ease of making (and changing) reservations, airport pickups, the view (spectacular), ecological-awareness make this my top choice in the Central Valley. From the first time I visited until just last month, I've been treated like family. I recently brought a group to CR and they were all very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. Their only suggestion would be to make the dinner menu a bit more eclectic and Tico-styled for the North American palate.
Don't miss the spectular presunrise and postsunset views of the Central Valley from the back lawn.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff; they will take care of anything you need with a smile
  • Disliked — nothing;
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. albert,Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Buena Vista in July (1st night at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of our trip). We had a beautiful view from our balcony of the coffee fields and of San Jose in the distance.

The staff were wonderful....very helpful and full of good advice. They were very welcoming when we came back at the end of our 3 week trip. They greeted us like old friends. We sat and had a glass of wine and chatted with Coco (one of the hotel staff). What a great guy!

The staff were also very accommodating.......picking us up at the airport and from another hotel, and helping to arrange our car rental.

The Buena Vista is the perfect place to start and end your trip to Costa Rica!

  • Liked — helpful friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We just returned from staying our last night at the Hotel Buena Vista and would not stay there again. The shower was cold, and the staff was not very friendly, not to mention that the room in general felt dirty. Bad experience all around.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

We booked this hotel from pictures on the internet and were not disappointed. The place was beautiful and the staff wonderful and so attentive. Our daughter needed to arrive two days earlier and was taken care of before we arrived. She had been travelling in a student program for 4 months and was in need of some care and comforts - Hotel Buena Vista provided a much needed haven! We all stayed two nites in the beginning of our vacation and two nites at the end. It was the perfect place to be - particularly liked the transportation to and from the airport. Even had luggage stored for us during our trip. Everything about the hotel and staff was first class. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to Costa Rica!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.