We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marin B&B
Save
You added Casa Marin B&B to your Saves list
Calle La Loma | Less than 10 min from San Jose Costa Rica airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Incredible hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family stayed here on the first and last nights of our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica. Jody is amazing. She picked us up from the airport, made an incredible breakfast and helped us organize a car rental. She welcomed us back after our two week adventure, took us to pick up some take out for dinner, helped us return the rental car and even packed us a picnic breakfast to eat at the airport before our early flight home. I have never experienced such genuine care and service at a B and B. The room was very clean and food incredibly tasty.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
37
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I agree with everything that others have said about Casa Marin.From the first email to Jody,to the moment we left to head home,Jody could not have been more helpful.She answered every question and every email really quickly. She was at the airport waiting to pick us up. She had a breakfast waiting for us when we arrived . Since we flew in so early, she arranged for us to check in early so that we didn't need to wander around Alajuela with our luggage and without a car until the afternoon. That was a very big help! She drove us to town for dinner and to the airport the next morning to fly to the Osa.Four days later,she picked us up again at the airport (plus another trip to pick our friends up at the airport who were joining us). She drove us all to town that night for dinner and we stayed another night. Jody washed our clothes (thank you, thank you..), served us great food, made phone calls to restaurants and to the car rental agency, let us use her computer to let folks at home know we arrived safely,and on top of all that she is a gracious , softspoken lady.She has a big heart, as she has adopted/rescued several cats and dogs. If you are not an animal lover, no worries because they are well behaved and not on the loose.(although I invited Shakira, a young cat ,to visit with me in my room). We stayed a 3rd night after traveling for another 10 days and again Jody was up at the crack of dawn to haul us to the airport with a breakfast bag in hand.Our friends are still in Costa Rica as I write this and have changed their plans so that they can stay at Casa Marin their last night as well.This B&B is a great value because the rooms are spacious, clean ,have really comfy beds, plenty of hot water and good water pressure.The fact that Jody willingly drives you to town and back and forth to the airport saves you a lot of money in taxis as well. So do visit Jody for the value, the central location but more importantly, because she is a great host.
Thanks for everything Jody! You made everything so easy for us...Judie, Francisco, Cindy and Dario.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMarinCostaRica, Owner at Casa Marin B&B, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Prior to the arrival of these two friends, we had had much communication between one another to make sure we covered all the bases. That helps so much to have information prior to the stay so that I can make sure I am accomodating the guests in the best way possible. Afterwards, their friends joined them here. I truly enjoy when guests use Casa Marin as their base, can also vicariously share in their adventures here. So greatly appreciate you taking the time to not only write the review, but to go into the details as well. I am grateful for you and your friends staying here and I am continuing learn so much in hosting people during their stay in Costa Rica. It was my pleasure and hope you can come back this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very nice place to stay when arriving or leaving CR. Close to the airport and central Alajuela. Jody was very nice host and she even took us to restaurant on our last night giving us a tour of the town and her observations of living in CR as an expat. The breakfast in the morning was excellent. She took us on the morning of our flight to fill up our gas tank in our rental at the closest gas station. Highly recommend for a place to stay in the San Jose/airport area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Like many other reviewers, we stayed at Casa Marin for one night before our flight home. We had spent almost two weeks in Costa Rica on our honeymon.

We needed something simple, cheap and quiet and this met all those, plus the added bonus of the friendly and helpful Jody.

Jody had already said she would be able to take us to the airport in the morning, so I arranged for the car rental company to pick our car up from the B&B. Jody knows the company I used and was able to give them a call when I got there.

Although we had time to pop into Alajuela, which was about a 10-minute drive and is a pretty nice town. If you want to go out and do stuff you're going to need a car, as Casa Marin is in a pretty sparse residential area. Although Jody will probably help you arrange travel if you need it. It's not the easiest thing to find either, the sat nav needed a couple of goes.

Breakfast was tasty, the room was spotless and we left happy and refreshed for our flight. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We planned a trip in Costa Rica to both coasts and the central mountains. We wanted to fly to Manuel Antonio NP and take a tour to Tortuguera NP and then drive through the mountains. We used Casa Marin as our base. They picked us up at the airport when we arrived, dropped us off the next morning for our flight to Manuel Antonio, picked us up again when we came back to stay another night before joining the tour to Tortuguera and welcomed us a third time when we showed up with our rental car. The fourth night was our last night in CR and they took us to the airport for our flight home the next day. All that was just the logistics of the trip and it was flawless. The best part was getting to know them and enjoying sharing stories of our trip and our lives. Jody and Wilson are great people to know and it was a pleasure to spend the several evenings with them. Jody's directions were also better than the GPS, so that is another reason to stay with them. She also served the best breakfasts we had in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: There are two big rooms by the pool downstairs. We stayed in Dolphin. The other one looks just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Casa Marin for one night at the end of our trip. Casa Marin itself was simply beautiful. We stayed in 3 different places in lodging costing in the low $100s; Casa Marin was both the least expensive and by far the nicest place we stayed. Whoever did their tile and finish work really knew what they were doing. The rooms are large, beautifully outfitted, beds are comfortable, sinks are custom hand-painted, the pool and landscaping is beautiful. It really feels luxurious there. The two rooms are each in their own separate small building, ensuring privacy. The location is very convenient, near the airport and also near some other small shops and restaurants.
We had an unusual experience there-- we had quite a trip getting to Casa Marin, and by the time we got there my husband was very ill; he had actually briefly passed out in the van on the way. Jody was incredibly accommodating, getting us situated, going to the store to buy crackers and gatorade for us, making me lunch (I hadn't eaten all day). It was so comforting to sit and talk to her over lunch, she's worked as a nurse and made me feel a lot better about what had happened, and I felt like we were in really good hands. The next morning she sent us off to the airport with a bag breakfast and a hug. I am sure you will have a less exciting trip to CR than we did, but it's nice to know, in the event something does happen, Jody will be there for you. We obviously didn't have the time or energy to do much 'fun' stuff while we were there, but I'm sure Jody will bring the same energy and care to helping you plan dinners, tours, etc. I can't recommend this Casa more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Marin at the end of our 25 days trip in Costa Rica for one night. It was a perfect ending of our trip. Jody was an awesome host. Excellent communications prior to our stay via email. Gave us the perfect directions on how to get to her house. After checking in she offered to help us in finding a car wash for our rental. We followed her to the car wash, then to the gas station, then to Budget rental for us to return our rental car, all during rush hour. She waited for us patiently and then drove us to a nearby restaurant for dinner. She even sat with us at the restaurant and did our ordering in Spanish :) We chatted and exchange stories and by the time we got back to the house few hours later we felt that we have known here forever.
We stayed at the Dolphin room, very clean and spacious and tastefully furnished and decorated. Too bad that we only stayed for one night, we would love to swim in their very inviting pool and maybe spend more time visiting with Jody.
Our flight was for 8 the following morning. Jody made us coffee @ 5 then made us a care package for breakfast and drove us to the airport at 5:40. She showed us where to line up to pay the exit tax. After checking in we opened our care package and were thrilled to see warm quiche, cheese pastry, fruit bread, yoghurt and boxed juices. The food lasted us all the way to Seattle, since we are not big eaters.
Thanks a million Jody for taking such a good care of us during our brief stay at your casa. You are such a warm and nurturing person. We are looking forward to our next stay, next year hopefully.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marin B&B

Address: Calle La Loma | Less than 10 min from San Jose Costa Rica airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marin B&B is located less than 10 minutes from the San Jose, SJO, airport. We are in Alajuela and are central to the volcanos, coffee plantations, waterfalls, botantical gardens and other tourist favorites. Casa Marin B&B is located in a tranquil, rural area of Alajuela, yet convenient to restaurants and shopping. We offer two poolside cabinas, one especially for couples, the other for a family of six. Casa Marin B&B is only an hour and a half from the Pacific Beach, two hours from La Fortuna and Volcano Arenal. We want the best possible vacation for our guests and are knowledgeable about hotels and tours in many areas of the country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marin B&B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marin B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.