We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours

Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours
Hotel Orquideas Inn Resort, Alajuela, Costa Rica
506 2433 1480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 activities in Alajuela
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were put in contact with Zamar 2000 thru La Rose de America hotel for an airport pick up our first night in San Jose. It is the same price as a cab $15 but they wait outside with your name on a sign. He was a little late so there were a few minutes of panic and confusion but it all worked out. Luis was our driver. He is fluent in Spanish and English. We enjoyed him so much that we booked him for several other transports. I didn't realize that they did tours as well as transportation so unfortunately we had already booked with Expediciones Tropicales which was only okay. We didn't learn that much about the flora and fauna of the areas we toured.
Anyways, that tour company would only pick up from certain areas so we had Luis drive us to the Holiday Inn Express near the airport for our pick up ($15). Then after the tour, it didn't make sense to go all the way back there so I had the guide call Luis and he arrange to drop off us on the side of the road somewhere. Within minutes of being dropped off, here comes Luis to pick us up.
Ironically, we learned more from Luis in 20 minutes about the areas we visited then in an all day tour.
Luis picked us up the next morning very early and drove us to a pick spot for Grayline for our trip to Liberia. We learned that Zamar 2000 can also do private shuttles to any location in Costa Rica. Since this was a little out of our budget, we opted to take collectivos, buses and rental cars for the next couple weeks. We flew back into San Jose from Managua and there wasn't a shuttle or bus within 3 hours of our arrival. Luis had mentioned that he could pick us up and take us to Puerto Viejo for $180. At first this seemed expensive to us but he said we had him for the whole day and could stop where ever we wanted. The night before our flight, we emailed him and luckily he was available to take us. It is about a 4-5 hour drive. Talk about great customer service. We stopped for an early lunch/late breakfast right after being picked up, he told us all about the plantations, plants, birds, wildlife, different forests and areas we passed by. He stopped to let me take photos when I saw something of interest. He even spotted a couple sloths and a few birds! He toured us around the town when we arrived at our destination, showed us the bus station and good restaurants. So to save money, we took the bus back to San Jose. What a crazy trip! There was a protest and we sat in traffic for an extra 2 hours in the sun. I was able to call Luis and let him know that not only were we late but that the bus station location was moved to another in town. Which turns out to be not a good area. He was there waiting for us when we finally arrived. This is by far the best money we spent during our trip. I wish we could have done some of their tour packages and will know for next time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This tour place runs out of the office of Orquideas Inn. We booked our tours in advance via email, which was super easy. Mary made suggestions for us based on our sudden need to be semi-adventurous! We booked tour for 3 days initially, then decided we loved the idea of having a private tour guide who speaks english and transportation, we booked a 4th! Our guide, Andres was very friendly and knew alot about the area, he was patient and let us stop for coffee/food, pictures, etc. anytime and waited patiently! I really can't say enough good things, we had such a great time Canyoning, Bungy jumping, Zip lining, and going to the beach. I would highly recommend such a tour because the roads are confusing and unmarked- hard to know where you are or where to go, and you have a bilingual person with you at all times- communication was a breeze, plus it was just a FUN time!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adventuras Turisticas Zamar 2000 Day Tours to your Saves list