We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Airport Boulevard | Noreast corner of Juan Santamaria Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica
(506) 2431-5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 84 Restaurants in Alajuela
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Los restaurantes Denny's ofrecen un ambiente casual y un menú variado servido 24 horas al día. Denny’s es conocido por sus desayunos servidos a toda hora, incluyendo el popular Original Grand Slam Breakfast®. El menú de Denny’s también incluye una variedad de platillos especiales, opciones con pollo, carne, pescado y mariscos, hamburguesas, ensaladas y postres.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Extremely Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We don't have Denny's in the UK, but I'm assuming the ones on the US are considerably better than this one. First visit was a real let down, Veggie burgers had to be sent back to be reheated and even then they weren't that hot, so we just ate the chips (fries) and left.

Prices were very high by Costa Rican standards (1800C ie. nearly $4 for each soft drink!). You can get some great food in Costa Rica and having spent three months in Central America, this was the worst...by far.

Believe it or not we actually went back here (there are no other Veggie options near the Hampton suites and it was evening and we didn't have a car). Second visit was much better since we ordered breakfasts (they serve them all day), reasoning that they couldn't ruin eggs, rice and beans. Much better and quite tasty, but still very expensive.

We subsequently discovered there are better restaurants up the road, maybe 1km from here, a great Pizza place and a Sushi place next door - worth the walk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    41
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Caldera, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Denny's? In Costa Rica? WHY?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Go to a local "soda" or some of the nice Costa Rican restaurants nearby, but avoid Denny's, probably the worst meal I've ever had in Costa Rica.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Works for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I only needed dinner on my overnight stay at the Hampton Inn, which is across the street from the Denny's. It's fine for what it is. I wasn't expecting a 5-star meal. I had a basic turkey club and fries. It was fine. It wasn't too greasy and it filled me up so I could get a nice restful sleep. The staff was courteous and nice and they didn't rush you out of there. I ate and read my book in peace.

You have to remember when you go there that it's Denny's. It's Denny's. It's not Ruth's Chris Steak House. You already know going in that it's going to be basic at best. They do a good job at basic, the staff is courteous and the place is clean. That's all I really needed for one meal. If you want something fancier, you'll have to go elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive and just edible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The service is professional, but a little robotic, lacks some heart. Food is almost edible. Probably the fruit plate is what you should order. Gallo Pinto is dry, not recommended. Portions are big and usually to greasy for my taste. Best of this Dennys is its location, close to the airport and hotels. I find it clean but tired. Tables are spacious. Well, Dennys in general is not my favorite but worse in Costa Rica. Should try breakfasts or dinners somewhere else, unless you have no choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quite mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

It should be hard to screw up a breakfast. Yet, this Denny's location was able to do it. Slow service. Missing items. Lukewarm food. Dry and tasteless "gallopinto". Pancakes as thick as a cake, heavy, dry and sandy. And all of this, of course, at exorbitant prices that would make their American cousins green of envy. Overall, stay away.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.