We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Save Saved
You added Airport Hotel Rio Segundo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I LOVE this place. I travel to Costa Rica very often with my family and have stayed in MANY different hotels. By far, this is the best hotel I've stayed in. Great quality for the price. The rooms are very clean and modern. The staff is incredibly friendly and very accommodating to your needs. I also appreciate that there is always someone on site that knows English. The location is GREAT. You can easily get to many different tourist spots. Incredibly family friendly!!! I highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Iri0202

THANK YOU for sharing your opinion and experience in our hotel, we appriciate it so much and a pleasure for us to serve you again maám / sir.

Rene Rose Sinque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Love this place its awesome. Great location and good quality. The website is very helpful and descriptive. Good rooms, cleanliness, service, and style. Friendly staff. Pura vida! Thank you for my stay(:

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Cara406,

THANK YOU for sharing your opinion and experince in our hotel, we appreciate it so much and a pleasure for us to serve you again maám / sir.


Rene Rose Sinque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Based on the reviews I read before making an online reservation I was surprised to receive such poor customer service. We arrived at the hotel with a printed copy of our reservation stating the charge for 2 people for 1 night to be $48. And that the airport shuttle was free and included. We were told upon check in that there was a mistake and the charge was really $58 and the shuttle service had been discontinued.
After about 20 minutes trying to get them to honor their quote we gave up (wasn't sure I could get the credit card charge reversed if we just left) and went to our rather shabby room.
Later, on a walk we discovered the much nicer Hotel Millennium about 3 blocks away. It was $40.
At least the pizza was good. And we found a great cafe up the road - Cafe Don Mayo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear mr. phil,

We appreciate that you posted your review, it will help us alot to improve our service. We are very sorry that you experienced that here at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo. However sir we would like you to know that we have a new management now, new stuff nice and friendly, a well renovated rooms with aircon and we added new restaurant too. Just to make it clear sir you´ve experince that to the former owner of the hotel. I am encouraging you to come and visit us again and see the difference between the old hotel and the new one, we will give the room for only $48 for couple and complimentary bottle of wine or pizza. We apologize again and thank you !

Teamhotelriosegundo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are a family of 4 traveling with 2 young kids (almost 3yo and almost 1yo). We stayed at the Rio Segundo hotel the first night we arrived in Costa Rica (night of May 22, 2013). We took a (orange) official taxi from SJO ($4) to the hotel. We told the hotel that we would arrive ~10pm and as soon as the taxi parked on the sidewalk, the manager (I think) came out and helped us with our luggage. He had minimal knowledge of English. We arranged for the room key and payment with the help of the pizza cook (it may have been his son), whose English was pretty good. The room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy but we were so tired that we slept okay. They made sure we had all that we needed for our night. Nice staff. The room was okay, nothing fancy but nothing too bad. The shower head and shower curtain rod had seen better days but it worked fine. There was warm (not hot) water which was sufficient to rinse off the sweat from the day. Price was okay ($88/night for 2 double beds). They didn't have a crib or baby bed, so we moved the 2 beds against each other and against a corner wall so that both kids were not going to roll off the beds. Bed and bed sheets were okay. Breakfast (tico plate: fruit, rice, beans, eggs and toast) was included and was good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
dear florence,

Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving. Our pleasure to serve you sir&maam.


Rene Rose Sinque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms were surprisingly nice! There is an onsite pizzaria that makes delicious pizza. The personal pan pizza is actually large enough that you could split it with someone. The location isn't in downtown Alejulia, but close to the airport. There is a pharmacy and grocery right across the street to buy any last minute things you need before departing. Good, solid deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving. Our pleasure to serve you sir&maam.


Rene Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Passed by this little place on our way to get fuel. We weren't sure if it was open, but we stopped anyways. SO glad we did.
Awesome little place with great pizza. The server and cook was very nice and spoke great English.
Didn't stay in the hotel, but it looked great enough.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

No frills. No microwave or frig. Small. We had the two bed room. It was clean and only needed one night before going to the airport. Wake-up call was on time (3AM) and shuttle was on time an hour later. Very nice and friendly staff. It was great the Pizzeria was attached. Pizza and salad were good. I did not know there was a pool but trip adviser would not let me un-pick the single bubble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Hotel Rio Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Address: 1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel in Costa Rica.Airport Hotel Rio Segundo is half mile away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Therefore it allows our guest to reach easily the airport for an early departure.The hotel offers drop off shuttle to the airport, Italian and Japanese restaurant in site, a NICE AND CLEAN rooms with air-condito and Free WI-fI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Airport Hotel Rio Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;