We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Hotel Rio Segundo to your Saves list
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Passed by this little place on our way to get fuel. We weren't sure if it was open, but we stopped anyways. SO glad we did.
Awesome little place with great pizza. The server and cook was very nice and spoke great English.
Didn't stay in the hotel, but it looked great enough.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

No frills. No microwave or frig. Small. We had the two bed room. It was clean and only needed one night before going to the airport. Wake-up call was on time (3AM) and shuttle was on time an hour later. Very nice and friendly staff. It was great the Pizzeria was attached. Pizza and salad were good. I did not know there was a pool but trip adviser would not let me un-pick the single bubble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel was great. Super close to airport and they arrange for a wake up call and taxi to get you to your flight on time. Clean, cute little rooms. Perfect for one night. The little adjacent restaurant is pretty good as well. The service was great and everyone was quite helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had to leave very early in the morning so we stayed here the night before our flight. The room was very clean and the restaurant (open 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM) was great. We ate lunch and dinner there and the food was very good. The grounds of the hotel are like a park or arboretum. Plus there is a pool! The staff was very helpful in getting us off the nest morning at 5:00 AM. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We did not stay in this hotel so I can only rate the restaurant, Pizzeria Italiana.
Such a wonderful way to end our trip in Costa Rica. We were staying about a 1/2 mile to 1 mile down the road. The only thing close to our hotel was a casino or Dennys and these were not good options! After telling our front desk staff that we were capable of walking a mile or 2, no we didn't need a cab and we really wanted good food, he recommended Pizzeria Italiana. We are so glad he did!
The food was delicious, service very prompt and the restaurant was very clean. Some of the staff also speak English. The food was so good that we actual ordered dessert of blueberry cheesecake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The charming couple that run this hotel are very cordial, but the photos on the website were not accurate. It is something like a youth hostel. There is no A/C or hot water in the shower, something more mature US travelers expect, but the free breakfast was marvelous and the adjoining pizza/pasta parlor were surprisingly first rate (with room delivery on request). It is also VERY close to the airport and the quiet room was neat and clean and cooled by fans, something one must get used to while in Costa Rica. All in all, very much worth the economical rate.

Room Tip: One must call the hotel from the airport for the shuttle to pick you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest

we thank you, you take your time to let us know about your visit, I already took note of the comments, and we are going to work on more details, I promise on the next visit we are going to improve our service for you and your friends, thanks again, We hope you come back to Costa Rica soon.



best regards

Bernal & Lorena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierpe de osa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

For the budget traveler who wants to be near the airport, this is a clean, nice little hotel. Ask for a room away from the street. The Pizza down stairs is excellent and the owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Jim, on behalf of Rio Segundo Hotel staff want to thank you for your kind opinion, sure you will again in our establishment will always promise a friendly service, the entire team has received a copy of your comments , this motivates us to continue making an effort, God Bless you. Gutierrez Bernal manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.3 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.7 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
3.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Rio Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Address: 1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel in Costa Rica.Airport Hotel Rio Segundo is half mile away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Therefore it allows our guest to reach easily the airport for an early departure.The hotel offers drop off shuttle to the airport, Italian and Japanese restaurant in site, a NICE AND CLEAN rooms with air-condito and Free WI-fI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Airport Hotel Rio Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.