We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza is outstanding - did not stay at hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Hotel Rio Segundo to your Saves list
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo
1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pizza is outstanding - did not stay at hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We did not stay in this hotel so I can only rate the restaurant, Pizzeria Italiana.
Such a wonderful way to end our trip in Costa Rica. We were staying about a 1/2 mile to 1 mile down the road. The only thing close to our hotel was a casino or Dennys and these were not good options! After telling our front desk staff that we were capable of walking a mile or 2, no we didn't need a cab and we really wanted good food, he recommended Pizzeria Italiana. We are so glad he did!
The food was delicious, service very prompt and the restaurant was very clean. Some of the staff also speak English. The food was so good that we actual ordered dessert of blueberry cheesecake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The charming couple that run this hotel are very cordial, but the photos on the website were not accurate. It is something like a youth hostel. There is no A/C or hot water in the shower, something more mature US travelers expect, but the free breakfast was marvelous and the adjoining pizza/pasta parlor were surprisingly first rate (with room delivery on request). It is also VERY close to the airport and the quiet room was neat and clean and cooled by fans, something one must get used to while in Costa Rica. All in all, very much worth the economical rate.

Room Tip: One must call the hotel from the airport for the shuttle to pick you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest

we thank you, you take your time to let us know about your visit, I already took note of the comments, and we are going to work on more details, I promise on the next visit we are going to improve our service for you and your friends, thanks again, We hope you come back to Costa Rica soon.



best regards

Bernal & Lorena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierpe de osa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

For the budget traveler who wants to be near the airport, this is a clean, nice little hotel. Ask for a room away from the street. The Pizza down stairs is excellent and the owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Jim, on behalf of Rio Segundo Hotel staff want to thank you for your kind opinion, sure you will again in our establishment will always promise a friendly service, the entire team has received a copy of your comments , this motivates us to continue making an effort, God Bless you. Gutierrez Bernal manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stopped in San Jose on our way to the west coast. We happened to arrive in San Jose right after rush hour started and it was a bit overwhelming. There was a B&B we were looking for that came recommended very highly to us ($45 a night), but we were exhausted and it would have taken a long time to get there with traffic. My husband had previously stayed at Hotel Berlor, but it was full. The receptionist recommended Rio Segundo and let us know it was owned by the same person. The owner had in previous years helped my husband out by taking him to get a charger for his cell phone. We glady stayed in the other hotel. The accommodations are somewhat simple, but the place is very clean and the room was larger than I expected. We were hoping to spend a little less, but it was last minute and wound up being perfect for us. I love to support local hard working people when we travel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Rio S, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Dear Friends I want to thank you taken a moment to send us your memories of your stay in Costa Rica. we remember and appreciate your return. we try hard at our hotel with all the guests and we are sure that you and your friends will return to be treated with preference. Do not forget to contact me to wait for you and meet you personally. Thanks again, your opinion makes us grow. Gutierrez Bernal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Great stay. Close to airport. Pizzeria was great. Lovely staff and rooms. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear JaimieMcGlsham


On behalf of task force of the new Airport Hotel Rio Second, I want to thank you has been taken a few minutes of your time, It is gratifying to us that you are the first to comment on this prestigious network of Trip Advisor, even more have had the honor of achieving perfect score.

Thank you for speaking the service and our friendly service.

We hope you return soon to Costa Rica and we can serve you again.

Bernal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Hotel Rio Segundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Rio Segundo

Address: 1 km east from Juan Santamaria International Airport | on the road to Heredia, Rio Segundo, Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel in Costa Rica.Airport Hotel Rio Segundo is half mile away from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Therefore it allows our guest to reach easily the airport for an early departure.The hotel offers drop off shuttle to the airport, Italian and Japanese restaurant in site, a NICE AND CLEAN rooms with air-condito and Free WI-fI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Hotel Rio Segundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Rio Segundo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Rio Segundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.