We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location. Near Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   calle 1era y avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Canyon Country, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location. Near Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here one night, hotel is about 10mins away from SJO Airport and taxi cost about $6USD. It's a good place to stay if you have to be at the airport early. It's really more of a B&B than a hotel, seems to be a converted older house. The room was comfortable and clean. There is a computer with internet access available to guest in the hallway. Breakfast is included and consist of eggs, salchicha (hot dog), and gallo pinto - the quintessential Costa Rican rice and beans that is eaten during breakfast. Noise level is a bit high but the room a/c should muffle the noise from the hallway and stairs. The staff was very friendly and will call for a taxi when you are ready to leave. I'd suggest taking some time and walk around the town of Alajuela. The market is a couple of blocks to the west and provides some good eating opportunities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room served its purpose. It was clean but there were ants. I understand this is a common problem so I wasn't do bothered. But when we went to get some spray from front desk they didn't have anything to help. The shower was clogged so we had to have quick showers.
The breakfast was good, cooked fresh and very tasty.
The staff were also very helpful. They kindly informed us of the parking rules in the area so we wouldn't get a ticket.

I wouldn't suggest staying with a family as the streets in the area are very loud over the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Cheap rooms, very clean and quiet, nice bed, hot water and aircon.
Stuff very helpfull and nice.
Just next to the Cathedral, main area to have some dinner, some drinks, ice creams, great for a walk around the main buildings and to go for few drinks.
Thanks to the stuff!
David

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pros: great value, simple but clean room, in the middle of alajuela right next to the church. friendly staff and good service. exactly right for a night. free use of computer and internet. had laundry service.

Cons: not much of a view from room 6, small bathroom, there is free parking but the place though around the corner is impossible to locate...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here on our first night and last night in Costa Rica. The staff that greeted us each time did not speak much English, but was very friendly and we communicated with little trouble. Each time we stayed we left early the next morning. Technically the breakfast starts at 7am, but each time they prepared a breakfast at 6:30 am especially for us, which was greatly greatly appreciated.

Taxis had no trouble finding the hotel since it is so close to the Catedral.

The rooms were clean, but the first room we stayed in had what felt like a very small bed. Our room the second time had a king-sized bed (room #10), so if you require the extra room, you may want to try to reserve that one. The insulation between rooms is a little lacking, so we could hear a large group of people coming in at night--but they quieted down quickly. It has more of a B&B feel for the rooms, like it was a house that was converted, rather than a hotel.

We did not sight-see in the area, so cannot comment on this, but we were able to catch a late meal nearby.

We would happily stay here again and recommend others to do so too.

Room Tip: #10 had a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before we left Costa Rica (the international airport is in Alajuela, not San Jose). The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. The location is great, right next to the plaza and you'll have your choice of restaurants and convenient access to banks and everything else you might need to get ready for traveling in Costa Rica. When you are leaving, it is only a short taxi ride to the airport. The food at the hotel restaurant is tasty and very afordable.
The staff here is amazing. They are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
The next time I am heading to Costa Rica, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Cannot say enough great things about the proprietor of this establishment...Gus I think is his name. Extremely kind and friendly, speaks perfect English. Our flight was arriving late at night so our plan was to get a hotel close to the airport. Alajuela seemed nice, and since we'd be leaving first thing we opted for the cheapest place we could find, which was Alajuela Backpackers. But they got our reservation screwed up and gave away our room. Our cab driver (we were supposed to have a car rental, but that got screwed up by our late arrival too) took us here and we couldn't have been happier--room was great, breakfast was amazing, and when we told Gus our story he immediately got on the phone and got us a car--a good one too, at a good price, from a rental place just a few blocks away. Though we didn't plan to spend any time there, we actually found Alajuela kind of charming. Highly recommend the Hotel Catedral!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo

Address: calle 1era y avenida 1era, Alajuela 99999999, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo is a small family owned and managed boutique hotel located in the heart of the city of Alajuela, Located less than 5 minutes away from Juan Santamaría International Airport. The Hotel provides the tourist with a nice comfortable lodging option with personalized service, comfortable beds, AC, Cable TV, minibar, laundry service, WIFI, and Restaurant. Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.