We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kindest staff I have met” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Eskalima to your Saves list
Hotel Eskalima
50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The kindest staff I have met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A great hotel! The rooms are very clean, the breakfast is very good, the price is rational, but above all: The staff is great. They helped us with everything we needed, gave us breakfast at 4 AM (!!) because of our early flight and did everything with a genuine smile. We'll defenitly come back on the next time in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights due to the location from the airport. The price was great and the service could not have been better Andrew and Lenny we always willing to help. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We would stay again on 1 st or last night.
Thank you Andrew, Jack and Kelly from Canada!

Room Tip: Try to not be close to the very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and clean big rooms with all services, good breakfast, good prices, and very close to airport and the people are really ready and worry for you !it s a perfect place to start and finish your visit to the country

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hotel Eskalima keeps us coming back year after year as our starting and ending points for our journey to the Osa Peninsula. We always marvel at the quiet, peaceful atmosphere inside, while the bustle of Alajuela throbs just outside. The rooms are super quiet and plenty comfy. The best part, though, of Eskalima are the young staff who have been there at every one of our stays. Milena, Andres, and Marisol are the sweetest, most attentive young adults I have ever had the pleasure of doing business with. Actually, when you're at Eskalima, it's less like a business and more like a visit to your family! Congratulations to boss, Guido Guevara for hiring a heavenly staff. We adore them. Don't overlook this sweet oasis. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel Eskalima was a great place for us to stay. If you want the Hilton quality then probably stay at the Hilton instead. If you want a nice, clean place to stay that has very friendly people serving you then this hotel is a great value!

The staff was extremely nice and bent over backwards to help us with our needs. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer,AK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect little hotel before your flight out of Costa Rica. I choose this hotel based on price and proximity to the airport. They offer a continental breakfast at 7, but our flight was a 6:30 AM. They told us no problem they'd have toast, orange juice, and coffee ready for us at 3:30 A.M. and a taxi ready a 4 A.M. We stayed in the standard double room, which had air conditioning, a mini-refrigerator, lock box, and hot water. The room was very quiet as well. The gal at the front desk was super helpful in giving us directions to getting to San Jose via bus and getting back via bus. The bus station is super close to the hotel too! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had to catch a 6 am flight out of SJO. Wanted to be close to the airport & didn't want to spend a fortune. This place was perfect. Rooms are very clean and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us out. The night manager gave us breakfast at 3:30 am (it wasn't a full breakfast - but, coffee, juice and toast). We really appreciated that. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops in Alajuela. It's a small, simple hotel - we recommend it for a one night stay when you're coming in or out of SJO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: 50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 10 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eskalima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.