We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at Eskalima” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eskalima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eskalima
50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Wylie, Texas, United States
1 review
“Nice Stay at Eskalima”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel Eskalima was a great place for us to stay. If you want the Hilton quality then probably stay at the Hilton instead. If you want a nice, clean place to stay that has very friendly people serving you then this hotel is a great value!

The staff was extremely nice and bent over backwards to help us with our needs. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer,AK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect little hotel before your flight out of Costa Rica. I choose this hotel based on price and proximity to the airport. They offer a continental breakfast at 7, but our flight was a 6:30 AM. They told us no problem they'd have toast, orange juice, and coffee ready for us at 3:30 A.M. and a taxi ready a 4 A.M. We stayed in the standard double room, which had air conditioning, a mini-refrigerator, lock box, and hot water. The room was very quiet as well. The gal at the front desk was super helpful in giving us directions to getting to San Jose via bus and getting back via bus. The bus station is super close to the hotel too! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had to catch a 6 am flight out of SJO. Wanted to be close to the airport & didn't want to spend a fortune. This place was perfect. Rooms are very clean and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us out. The night manager gave us breakfast at 3:30 am (it wasn't a full breakfast - but, coffee, juice and toast). We really appreciated that. It is walking distance to restaurants and shops in Alajuela. It's a small, simple hotel - we recommend it for a one night stay when you're coming in or out of SJO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telchac Puerto, Yucatan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was close to the airport and were not expecting much for the price. We were pleasantly surprised. It has recently been renovated...the rooms were small but nicely decorated & very clean with A/C.. We thought it was going to be noisy given it's location smack dad in the middle of downtown Alajuela but it was surprisingly quiet (we did have a room more towards the back so perhaps the front rooms may not be as quiet). The staff is the "shining star" here though. They all went out of their way to make our short stay a pleasant one, giving suggestions of where to eat & sights to see. Our flight was an early one and we were leaving before the scheduled included breakfast but they made sure we at least got coffee, juice & toast before we left. They also arranged a shuttle to the airport for a small charge and it was right on time. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews said good basic hotel close to airport for your last night in Costa Rica... they were right.. it's not far from the airport but you can do better!

We paid the same amount of money to stay here on the last night of our vacation as we did at the Hampton Inn & Suites the first night of our vacation.. and they were miles ahead of this hotel.

Hotel Eskalima is literally a basic hotel. Bathrooms are so small that you can not dress in them, even if you want to shower.. the fridge did not work.. and although I did check the mattress etc.. for cleanliness (which was good) the duvet cover was showing signs of past stains (although I'm certain it was clean it still gave you doubt). The included breakfast was no better than basic and tasteless, however the very young staff were friendly and were as accommodating as they could be.

The area is very sketchy to say the least.. we arrived around 5pm and although the hotel has a nice park across the street it was full of what can only be described as local female entertainment (for a PG rating). This we enjoyed full view of while eating breakfast the following morning!
My son of 15 yrs and myself did not feel safe at all in the area and wished that trip advisor reviewers of past had noted this as we would of stayed at the Hampton Inn again if we had known. The hotel staff advised us to not venture out after 8pm and the hotel doors were always locked, regardless of time of day. They did offer parking next door.. no idea if it was secure or not, but we didn't leave anything in the car so there was no issue there.
This is the only time that we felt unsafe in this beautiful country after 10 days of visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Joining the other travellers for saying that this hotel offers bare necessity, don't expect charm and cosy. Quite easy location to join both the airport or the roads to Arenal. Not sure what you do with your car if you have one when you get there, i don't think there's a parking. Overall the staff was nice and helpfull, and you have a choice of breakfast from continental to local. Wi-Fi and TV and hot water ( and that's a luxury ).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Flew into CR,...rented a car.... and drove over to the downtown at 5 pm on a friday. Nice Clean VERY SMALL room, but breakfast was good and the girls on duty couldnt have tried to be more helpful. Stayed two nights and saw the soccer game. There is huge downtown noise, but the AC works even if the hot/cold shower was a bit spotty. The hotel's wifi wasn't up and working and there are no pools or amenities, good place to stop and get your bearings, easy jump off to Poas Volcano. Alajuela is next to the airport so departure, arrival is close and easy. Breakfast is tipica or continental and very adequate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: 50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 10 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eskalima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.