We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms downtown Alajuela” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eskalima to your Saves list
Hotel Eskalima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
El Paso Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“small rooms downtown Alajuela”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Flew into CR,...rented a car.... and drove over to the downtown at 5 pm on a friday. Nice Clean VERY SMALL room, but breakfast was good and the girls on duty couldnt have tried to be more helpful. Stayed two nights and saw the soccer game. There is huge downtown noise, but the AC works even if the hot/cold shower was a bit spotty. The hotel's wifi wasn't up and working and there are no pools or amenities, good place to stop and get your bearings, easy jump off to Poas Volcano. Alajuela is next to the airport so departure, arrival is close and easy. Breakfast is tipica or continental and very adequate

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
15
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel Eskalima is a 'functional' hotel if you need a place to stay for your first or last night. You don't pay too much (60 dollars) and it's good enough. The rooms are ok and clean enough. There is wifi an, ac and the staff is nice. Breakfast is average, although it takes a while before you get it. A big plus is that it's 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel the day after and before you have to go to the alrport of san jose. The day after arriving Europcar would drop off our car there. Very handy. The boss gave us some very good tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel sent a taxi to shuttle us from the airport which was very helpful. They also accommodated our request to check in early as our flight from Toronto arrived mid morning. Our room was not large but very clean and the cable tv even had an English station or two! The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very welcome. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask for a room on the main floor rather than doing the stairs.
Breakfast included 3 choices. Good location either on arrival or departure day, as it is relatively close to the airport.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is a short drive from the airport, perfect if you're arriving late. The hotel didn't send the shuttle but we found a cab that drove us for 8-dollars. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There was air conditioning. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. We had some time to kill the next day and enjoyed walking around the city streets. There's a large market nearby with alot of fruit, vegetable and meat vendors.

Room Tip: If you get the suite with two rooms, keep in mind that you have to walk through the second bedroom t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

They are doing some major renovations, which perhaps explain why our room is so nice with a good-size TV and new bathroom usually not expected of hotels at this price range. The staff speak some English and are incredibly friendly and helpful. Would recommend for the day before/after airport!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Many flights leave San Jose early morning or arrive late at night. This hotel was perfect to get us through the night! We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip and i would recommend it to anyone. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and new. Beds were comfy and washrooms were clean. Breakfast was included. The hotel is a quick 3 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
2.4 mi away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: 50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 10 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eskalima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.