We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well orientated hotel, friendly personel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eskalima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eskalima to your Saves list
Hotel Eskalima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well orientated hotel, friendly personel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel the day after and before you have to go to the alrport of san jose. The day after arriving Europcar would drop off our car there. Very handy. The boss gave us some very good tips and suggestions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miller Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel sent a taxi to shuttle us from the airport which was very helpful. They also accommodated our request to check in early as our flight from Toronto arrived mid morning. Our room was not large but very clean and the cable tv even had an English station or two! The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very welcome. If you have mobility issues be sure to ask for a room on the main floor rather than doing the stairs.
Breakfast included 3 choices. Good location either on arrival or departure day, as it is relatively close to the airport.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is a short drive from the airport, perfect if you're arriving late. The hotel didn't send the shuttle but we found a cab that drove us for 8-dollars. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. There was air conditioning. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. We had some time to kill the next day and enjoyed walking around the city streets. There's a large market nearby with alot of fruit, vegetable and meat vendors.

Room Tip: If you get the suite with two rooms, keep in mind that you have to walk through the second bedroom t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

They are doing some major renovations, which perhaps explain why our room is so nice with a good-size TV and new bathroom usually not expected of hotels at this price range. The staff speak some English and are incredibly friendly and helpful. Would recommend for the day before/after airport!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank veryberry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Many flights leave San Jose early morning or arrive late at night. This hotel was perfect to get us through the night! We stayed here on the first and last night of our trip and i would recommend it to anyone. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and new. Beds were comfy and washrooms were clean. Breakfast was included. The hotel is a quick 3 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ApoL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

It has very comfortable rooms. We especially appreciate all the help from Fabiola. She was wonderful in everything she did. She helped us to get a better taxi price, looked up bus information for us and really went above and beyond as far as service goes. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The owner was also around to make sure we were taken care of. A good place to stay when you first get to Costa Rica or are ready to leave because it is so close to the bus station and not to far from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chadwick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

New hotel in Alajuela (opened in 2008) close to a small park on the west-end of the city.

Although Alajuela itself is definitely not a nice place to be we enjoyed our stay in Eskalima Hotel which was due to the nice and clean rooms but first of all owing to Fabiola, the great and nice girl at the reception. She helped us with some recommendations for the city but did also all the email- and telephone work for making a reservation for us in Cuba AND prepared a very nice breakfast (you have three options to choose from).

As Alajuela is closer to the international airport than San José, Eskalima Hotel is a very good place to spend the day and/or night before your flight back.

Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominguillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.5 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#19 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#12 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.4 mi away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eskalima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eskalima

Address: 50 mts de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha | 50 mts Este de Pizza Hut Calle Ancha, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#11 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eskalima 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eskalima is a family hotel finely decorated and created for each of our guests feel the warmth as in their own home.We have 10 rooms, with private bathroom, hot water, cable TV, air conditioning and telephone.We are strategically located in the city of Alajuela, just 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport and close to shopping and bus stops.From our hotel you can easily move to all tourist attractions in the area as the Poas Volcano, a bird zoo, Crafts etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Eskalima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eskalima Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing