We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chubascos

Chubascos
1km North Laguna Fraijanes, on the way to Poas Volcano., Alajuela, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 94 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant had the best food and service of all the places where we ate in Costa Rica. Family owned and always on site. Cozy, very clean, and surrounded by beautiful vegetation. Friendly and helpful staff. I highly recommend the casados, a local dish - delicious! I ate it in other restaurants but it couldn't be compared to Chubascos. I swear I could eat that every day. For dessert, try the home made apple pie (Costa Rican apples) and the arroz con leche. Ah, and do not forget to try their natural fruit drinks. Their coffee is pretty good too.
1 review
“Great place and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I love the food, fresh ingredients and good taste. I like the tortilla alineada and the gallitos. Also has strawberry juice very delicious.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A highlight of my brief Costa Rica trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had only one day to explore during a business trip and was so glad a friend took me here. Such a pretty setting; we sat on the covered terrace surrounded by beautiful flowers and hummingbirds! Service was very warm and friendly.

We were a group of six and so shared many dishes. If my only experience here is any guide, servings are copious, and food is typical Costa Rican but very well prepared and presented. We started with tortilla, corn tortillas filled with cheese and fried. Very yummy with salsa. We also had a stew with pork and red beans, an excellent shredded beef atop another tortilla (huge!), and picadillo - small bowls of different chopped vegetables. Plantains stuffed with cheese and peppers were also tasty, if not good for the waistline.

This is a nice place to linger and relax. Highly recommended. With a glass of wine or beer, we each paid $20 US and were absolutely stuffed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat on the way to the Poas volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This should be a mandatory stop to eat or even stay over if you are visiting the volcano area. I have not stayed in the cabins but have eaten here a couple of times and I have not been disapointed. Prices are fair and plates are not small so it's worth the visit. It has nice gardens and is a very cozy place.

Service is good too, and the place is located about 1 hour drive from San Jose and it's halfway to the Poas volcano.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A light misty rain with sun rays filtering through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The word: "Chubascos" is a colloquial expression used to identify the environmental condition of sun rays shining through the mist. The Food is Good and it's a nice resting spot on the long journey up Volcano Poas.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this Central Valley star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Anyone visiting the Volcan Poas, doing a canopy or coffee tour, or seeing any of the other beautiful sights in the mountains of Costa Rica's central valley absolutely must stop at Chubascos. It melds the presentation of a very fine restaurant with the rustic, down-home environment and cooking of a comida tipica establishment. The wait staff is accustomed to large groups, and is very patient and supportive and their English is competent. The atmosphere is fun and boisterous. Chubasco's property is bountiful with flowers and plants, has a large grassy area for kids to run around and play, and there is even a trail in the woods that leads down to a creek with small waterfalls. The appetizers are great, especially the patacones, fried yucca, and mini empanadas. The traditional casados are huge and the fish is very fresh. It's a true testament to the restaurant's quality that whenever we've been there, the place is full of Ticos (as Costa Ricans call themselves). Even if you not touring around the Poas area, Chubascos is worth the 30 minute ride from the town of Alajuela.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubascos also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Chubascos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chubascos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.