We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beautiful setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chubascos

Chubascos
1km North Laguna Fraijanes, on the way to Poas Volcano., Alajuela, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 Restaurants in Alajuela
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: This restaurant had the best food and service of all the places where we ate in Costa Rica. Family owned and always on site. Cozy, very clean, and surrounded by beautiful vegetation. Friendly and helpful staff. I highly recommend the casados, a local dish - delicious! I ate it in other restaurants but it couldn't be compared to Chubascos. I swear I could eat that every day. For dessert, try the home made apple pie (Costa Rican apples) and the arroz con leche. Ah, and do not forget to try their natural fruit drinks. Their coffee is pretty good too.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food and beautiful setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were there with a very large group and the service was great, the food was delivered all at the same time and it was served hot which almost never happens in CR. My only complaint would be the menu. They serve basically the same food that can be found in any Tipico restaurant in the country. We would eat there again if we are in the area but would not make a special trip to go there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not JUST a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We first visited this restaurant in 2004 and have returned many times. Now that they also have lodging, it is even better. Their patacones are excellent. Sunday is a wonderful day to have a leisurely meal and enjoy watching the families play in the yard.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Don't miss this diamond in the rough!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was our first day in Costa Rica and like everyone else from the US that drives...we got lost (going to DOKA coffee) and we were all better for it, because we found CHUBASCOS for lunch. What a charming B&B that would be like any picture you thought of a B&B in the middle of the Costa Rican Rainforest. The outdoor restaurant in our case came complete with rain which made it even more authentic in our case!!! The food was absolutely fantastic and was a Costa Rican slice of delight. My family had everything from the pork chops to steak and salids so we got to see a wide variety of the lunch menu. As usual my flexible family make the best of a bad situation and in the case of Chubascos we hit a grand slam!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“We love Chubascos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Pork Chops are fantastic, as is all of their food and environment. Met the owner, took pix and I'll post them later. Just wanted to tell you not to pass by this place if you're in Poas area, or make it a destination for lunch; beautiful drive and worth your time and money!!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a fabulous lunch at Chubascos after zip lining at Colinas De Poas. The food was great and their agua de fresas was amazing. It was nice to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. We liked it so much, we tried to go back for dinner, but they were closed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubascos also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Chubascos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chubascos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.