We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condo Portofino

Condo Portofino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Condo Portofino to your Saves list
Condo Portofino
200 mts. NW Rectificacion Guido, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
BRACEBRIDGE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The other reviews were quite accurate but omitted were, noise from truck - engine brakes, hot water in shower only, used a bucket to bring hot water to the bathroom sink, the kitchen sink, the washing machine. Sonia seemed to be in charge and spoke very litte English hence a dispute over how much money we owed for the THIRD month of rental Jan, Feb Mar 2011. Would not rent again unless we had a car for which there was free parking, secured.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tjlgbarber
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were not sure what to expect. The people at Portofino meet us right at the airport and brought us the short distance to the hotel. They were very helpful in assisting us in any way that we needed. We do not speak Spanish so it was nice to be able to speak english with them.

I hope that we will be able to return to Costa Rica for another family trip and we will definitely stay at Portofino again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brännö
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

The owners of this hotel, Marjorie and Dave, were absolutely wonderful. First they took us in at reasonable prices and had a very good standard. Then they were so very helpful with everything - finding places, getting a good price on a rental car, etc.

It was a fantastic stay and I would recomend their hotel to anyone.

Cheers!
'The Swedes'

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieM08
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

After a long trip we were picked up at the airport and within 10 minutes we were at the front gates of Portofino. It's a cute building with a Mediterranean feel. My husband, 9 year old daughter and I we escorted to one of the second floor apartments. Inside the Mediterranean color scheme continued. It was warm and welcoming. The bedrooms were a good size with closets in both. The bathroom was clean and we always had hot water. I love the open concept of the kitchen and dining area. The furniture looked new and was very comfortable. They even had a wash room with a washing machine, and it wasn't coin operated! My favorite part of the apartment was the skylight they had. It let in natural light most of the day. Although you could open the windows and get a wonderful breeze, we preferred the air conditioning. We're from the north; 80 to 90 degrees Fahrenheit is too hot for us no matter what kind of breeze is blowing.

The staff was wonderful. Those we talked to spoke English as well as Spanish of course. They offered suggestion on where to eat and shop and even offered bus tours to destinations throughout the country. On more than one occasion our guide/staff member negotiated a better price for souvenirs and dining.

The day before departing one of the staff members mentioned that we would have to pay a tax to exit the country. They explained where to go in the airport to do this and that it needed to be done prior to going through customs. We knew nothing about this tax and the information helped us save at least an hour of standing in line.

We loved the apartments and the staff went above and beyond expectations. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condo Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condo Portofino

Address: 200 mts. NW Rectificacion Guido, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 10 minutes from San Jose airport. Each accommodation is in a 2 to 3 bedroom 1-bath suite with a full kitchen. We offer free; parking, wireless internet, cable TV, A/C. We are with-in 10 min. walking distance of banking, shopping, and dining. Day-trips with-in an hour drive include: volcanoes, waterfalls, canopy tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Condo Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condo Portofino Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condo Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.