We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tour experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano riding tour

Arenal Volcano riding tour
Arenal Volcano | La Palma, Alajuela 824417, Costa Rica
50687104716
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 activities in Alajuela
Type: Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With our healthy and well trained horses, we start this incredible guided tour, crossing rivers and through the trails in the rain forest, enjoying all the views of the San Carlos plains, and the amazing lava paths of the majestic Arenal Volcano. We can see also, monkeys, birds like toucans, turkeys, hawks, falcons etc.Departure time: 8:30 a.m. / 1:00 p.m.What to bring: Long pants, hiking boots, suns screen, mosquitoÂ’s repellent, camera, binoculars and rain gear.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing tour experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would really like to thank Jorge Montero, owner of Waves and Trails Travel for arranging our hotel and tours in the Arenal Volcano area, the volcano itself is spectacular, (but more spectacular if you do the horseback riding tour) my wife loved it and my children had a blast while doing the zipline and riding the horses overlooking the arenal volcano. The hotel was full but because of Jorge's assistance we were able to check in and his tour guide/driver that took us from San Jose knew this magical view point where no other tourists know about it and suddenly we were in front of an 90 feet tall waterfall in the middle of the rainforest. I would like to highly recommend Waves and Trails Travel for your trip to Costa Rica.

Vanderbilt Family

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“arenal costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

if you like horseback riding and being outdoors close to an active volcano--go for it. september and october will offer the best views

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Costa Rica Volcano & Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place is a dream come true. The Garden is unbelievable with beautiful flowers, trees, streams and waterfall. This is a spa resort and the bar is located in the middle of the swimming pool, so don't drink too much as fall off your stool. The backdrop is a live volcano where you can see the "steam" coming out of the mountainside. Here is the link to take a look at this paradise! http://www.arenal.net/tour/arenal-hot-springs/

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Went to the hanging bridge. What an experience! Walking hundreds of feets in a hanging bridge, saw white face monkeys and tropical plants

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Juan Carlos Serrano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My hubby and I were staying at the Treehouse lodge in SantaClara Costa Rica where Mark the owner suggested this trip. Arenal Volcano and Baldi Hot Springs Tour (night) Juan along with his son Edwardo picked us up right on time!
Took us straight away to see the volcano. Juan was so informative, we could have been on a National Geographic episode. Through the entire ride we asked many many questions regarding the specifics of Costa Rica (possibly planing to retire here) Juan was very happy to answer all questions. He had warm DRY clothes for both of us as we were drenched (as in most days this is their rainy season). Edwardo; assisted in all steps along the way ever playing the best gentleman. Opening and closing the door for us and even posing for a picture

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Volcano riding tour also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Volcano riding tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Volcano riding tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arenal Volcano riding tour to your Saves list