We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Cacique

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Cacique
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Cacique to your Saves list
Detras del Monumento al Agricultor | El Cacique, Alajuela 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“perfect value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel El Cacique for one night to catch an early flight the next morning. For just 20 dollars I had all I needed. A VERY clean room, hot shower, TV, comfi bed and very fast WIFI. John, the host, was very nice and aranged the taxi for the next morning. I can only recommend this hotel if you are looking for a affordable place to stay close to the airport. The taxi takes you there within a few minutes and is only 3 dollars. It's nothing special, but it fitted my needs perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
16
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

close to airport, johnny is way chill, price is spot on...... perfect place for pura vida people..... if you want you can take his dog, "ringo" for a walk in the park across the street. 420 friendly, cold beers in the cooler downstairs, fast wi-fi in all rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We found Hotel El Cacique 7 years ago when we needed a place close to the airport for an early morning departure. John made sure we were comfortable, headed us in the right directions for something to eat and gave us a coffee before sending us in a cab to the airport at 5 am!! Since then we have stayed there multiple times, taken family and friends there and sent clients from our business to John and everyone has always been more than satisfied!! Nice to know we can depend on John and Hotel El Cacique for a good night sleep after just arriving in Costa Rica or just getting ready to leave Costa Rica after a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay in San Jose. John was fantastic - he collected me from the airport late at night, gave me plenty of information, was really friendly and made sure that I made it to my flight the next day. The rooms are clean, the wi-fi works well and you get a good night's sleep. A short walk from car rental agencies, restaurants and overlooks a park. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing spot! Great view of the valley and mountains! Convient to the airport! Highly recommend staying at hotel cacique! The owner is very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good spot if you arrive at the airport (San Jose) and want to crash somewhere close, or a good spot to stay the night before leaving.
Just a short walk from the car rental agencies that serve the airport, too.
Has wireless, which is always convenient.
A little hard to find, but not so bad if you contact Johnny and get specific directions.
Enjoy your stay!
Dan

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

After being bounced around by the car rental agency and wondering what I had got myself into, I was told of Hotel el Cacique. I was was welcomed there as a long time friend and treated by the family as a guest they had been waiting to arrive. They gave me the comfort I needed and a place to relax for what went from a one night visit to four nights. The helped me by taking me to the bus stations or directing to what I had to do to get around in Costa Rica. I returned to pick-up a friend after 10 days and left things to be protected on my next 2 weeks wondering around. Being only a 10 minute walk from the airport was a Great convinece. Having someone give me advice before I wondered off was very helpful to my 30 day stay, wondering aimlessly.

Room Tip: I liked both down stairs and upstairs, possibly down stairs was a litlle quieter,, but to me it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Cacique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cacique

Address: Detras del Monumento al Agricultor | El Cacique, Alajuela 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest & most affordable guesthouse to the Juan Santamaria airport ! Stay with us & enjoy the real costarican experience in a safe family environment !Since 2004 we have been known for our great location (next to agricultor park & highway 1), clean cozy rooms with private bathroom - hot water shower (fan,cable tv & wi fi), friendly service & the best rates in our area !!! We are just a short walk to all rent a cars (+20), layovers or domestic flights (Sansa & Nature air), shuttle buses (Grayline & Interbus), banks, stores, pharmacy, etc. We are your home base when you arrive, in between & before you leave paradise !!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Cacique Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Cacique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.