We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place ... Not sure I'd come back though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tacacori EcoLodge to your Saves list
Tacacori EcoLodge
calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place ... Not sure I'd come back though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

After reading the reviewed on TA, we decided to book two casitas for two nights - one for us and one for our kids. With a GPS, we had no problem finding the place in the dark after getting in at close to 11 pm. We arrived on 12/17, and with our x'mas luck, the neighbors had rented a sound system and partied all night singing loudly... Hey, they have the right to enjoy their holiday!! We cut our stay short since it was going to be a two-day party!! The breakfast was too skimpy for us, just a plate of fruit and toast with jam. We are more used to eggs, bacon, rolls, grits, and fruit, so that didn't work for us. Nadine and Patrick are very hospitable, welcoming, and understanding. We checked out one day ahead of plans and stayed in San Jose. While the place is quite nice, next time we will probably stay elsewhere...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Propriétaire at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
This lodge opened in January of last year and we try our best to satisfy our guests and make every effort to serve them.
You just happened to come at a time for Costa Rican people receive a doubled salary on December 15th called “alginaldo”. One month afterwards, they spend more money and in particular, throw parties with their friends to celebrate the occasion. We are really sorry that this inconvenience, as usually our neighbors are very considerate, but this was a one-time cultural event. We asked the neighbors to lower the sound and the party finished at midnight.

Concerning the breakfast included in your price, we provide healthy and sustainable alternatives. We choose the locally baked bread and organically grown trust to minimize vehicle emissions during transport. Our fruit juices are made from fruit and our homemade jams are made with less sugar than commercial jams. We do not serve bacon and other delicatessen meats which raise the rate of blood cholesterol and increase the risk of cardiovascular disease. The breakfast we serve such as coffee, toast, butter and jam are unlimited. Upon special request, we would be happy to prepare eggs and any additional breakfast items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    42
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
145
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Carefully selected amongst the many offers in the area, we looked for an place to stay that was near to the airport and at the same time a bit different from other hotels.
The Tacacori EcoLodge came to be a good choice. 10 minutes from the airport on the hill to Poas Volcano, a great spot with lots of forest surroundings.
The owners were kind and the arrangements made for the airport pickup and transfer to another hotel was easy.
If you're looking for a nice place to stay with clean and cozy rooms, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Pros: Casita, excellent bath & Shower, clean. Beautiful grounds.

Cons: Euro-minimalist style (no stand or dresser for luggage, fridge on floor). Scratchy towels. Very steep walkway from car park to reception, then again to casita. Dark inside; no way to read books or maps. The beautiful candle holders in the photos were just for photos, they were burned out or empty, same with hand soap and bath set, all empty. Noisy refrigerator could be placed in a cabinet. Otherwise, room was very quiet.

Host reception and common area: was quite the opposite of casitas; messy, cluttered, dusty with dirty windows. In need of repair and paint. Not centrally located. When asked for best-way directions, pushy on GPS rental (daily).

I'm not quite sure how "eco" applies in this case? Does it mean we don't want to supply you with dry towels? Bath or hand soap? Candles for when power goes out? What is a welcome cocktail? Does eco it really mean econo?

More a European experience than Costa Rican. Hosts were nice but indifferent. Communication in English difficult. Geared more to European clientele.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Propriétaire at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
We appreciate the comment from this guest and are pleased that they appreciated our casitas and beautiful grounds. We work very diligently to provide a superior experience. We would like to respond to the other points made in this review:

We opened this Ecolodge in January 2010 and continue to enhance the amenities and comforts. We are designing a cabinet for the refrigerator and suitcase for each casita. Our casitas are lit with lamps on both sides of the bed, a central lamp and a lamp in the entrance. Most importantly, each casita has large windows /glass doors into the gardens to provide natural light.

In summer, we dry our sheets and towels outside to avoid the use of the tumble-dryer to reduce our energy consumption in agreement with our environmental commitment. Obviously towels are a little less soft, but in return you find the natural scent of the linen dried outside and it is good for our planet! We also encourage visitors to bring their own soap and shampoo to meet personal preferences and protect the environment.

Concerning the access to the parking lot, we are situated on the heights of Alajuela and the ground is hilly. We improved safety by building staircases and by modifying access ramps. Casitas are situated away from the road to guarantee the serenity of the place. Each casita has privacy and beauty which our visitors appreciate.

Candlesticks serve only in case of power outages, we do not allow candle in the rooms for safety.

Our personal house serves as common area and is at present in the course of renovation, we gave the priority to casitas so that our customers are accommodated well. A building intended to be a common area will be built this year in the garden.

Concerning the GPS, it is a service we offer to our customers to facilitate their movements in Costa Rica. Because streets and numbers are not well marked Costa Rica we highly recommended a GPS. It is difficult to provide directions to a place without an address. This service is 5 USD a day it is a really very affordable tool compared with the prices of the car rental companies.

Our ecolodge combines both European and Costa Rican environmental sensitivity. We utilize solar panels to produce hot water, use energy saving /LED lights, recycle waste and reduce individual packaging. We provide more information on our ecological commitment on our webpage.

Just as Costa Rica itself blends many cultures, we are proud of blending our French culture with the beauty of the people and land of Costa Rica. Ours visitors, including many Americans, are very happy with their experiences at Tacacori Ecolodge. The reviews say it best.

We hope in the future that you able to find lodging better suited to your personal preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biscarrosse, France
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

If you're looking for a good place to rest after or before an exhausting flight, don't look further...THIS IS IT !!! 4 villas beautifully decorated spread in a magnificent garden of exotic flowers and by far, the best bedding we had during all our stay in Costa Rica...The San Jose nights can be rather cool and believe me, the quilt is mostly appreciated !!!
Conveniently located 15 mns from the international airport. Nadine & Patrick offer great service for their customers: airport transfer,car rental, sat nav rental ( inescapable in this country ), a very reliable taxi service and a bunch of infomations on what to do around...
The breakfast is continental only and there is no restaurant but the Xandari hotel is 500m away...to enjoy a beathtaking overview over Alajuela from their restaurant without staying in this much more expensive hotel.
Thanks to Nadine & Patrick for this nice stay !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del carmen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

To write a very honest review, the place is good, the houses look ok, but the owners are not what you expect when arriving in Costa Rica for the first time... Let's say it like this, after you have paid you should leave directly. We didn't expected much but their service and friendliness stopped directly after paying for the night. Strange couple....

Besides that they say that their will be a swimming pool soon, nothing is happening...
and inside the cabins you don't have internet... Of all the places you can stay... you can get way better then this, especially for the price they ask

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Owner at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
We are very disheartened and concerned that your experience at TACACORI EcoLodge was disappointing, as we pride ourselves on being a very attentive and service oriented establishment. We think the minimum our guests should expect from us is great service, value, intimate and personalized attention.
We arranged a pickup from airport for these guests and waited for them at 11 pm.
We prepared for them a romantic room with candles, flowers and a welcome drink free of charge as they have asked for. The candles were lit just before their arrival.

After informing them about breakfast times (7-9 am), they let us know that they preferred not to have a breakfast and to sleep in.
Never the less, they arrived at 9.30am for breakfast, which we were happy to serve anyway.

We do not understand the comment about the internet, while we helped our guests establish internet connection on his computer on the terrace of his own room.

The check –out time is 12h and they left 30 minutes later. We explained to them that the next clients arrive at 2 pm and that we have to close for lunch at 1.30 pm. We need time to prepare the room.
We offered them to store their luggage and suggested a nice place for lunch and a nice walking trail nearby. Nevertheless, they decided to take their luggage and leave.

As for the swimming pool, it is clearly indicated on our website that it is a project of construction for next year. We opened last January and had to allow to pass a complete season before envisaging these additional works.

Both the owner and staff of TACACORI EcoLodge are very proud of our reviews both on this site and at other similar sites. However, we can do little to prevent guests from developing their own expectations based on these reviews. We put forth every effort to live up to the good reviews other guests have kindly written about our hotel. But regrettably we are powerless in face of negative reviews written without merit.

We offer a warm welcome, friendly and efficient service, comfortable surroundings, excellent leisure facilities, a plentiful breakfast and a mine of local information and even an occasional driver if you want a transfer from or to the airport.
But guests are welcome to use our facilities in TACACORI within the usual rules of courtesy during their stay and according to our availability for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October. Room was very clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful and have two very friendly dogs who 'protect' the lodge. It is a little way out of Alajeula but worth it for the views and the comfort of the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Patrick and Nadine were delightful hosts :)
Flying into San Jose on a late flight, we chose to stay at Tacacori overnight rather than trying to rent a car and drive through the night to Arenal.
Patrick picked us up at the airport!! Good thing too, if we had to find this place at night, we would have gotten lost 5 times at least.
Walking the grounds to our room at night was a beautiful introduction to Costa Rica.
The rooms were clean and crisp (Patrick was an electrician in France, so the lighting is great). The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
In the morning, Patrick and Nadine made us breakfast and helped us rent a car. Then they took us to the car rental office!
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacacori EcoLodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.