We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a touch of Eden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tacacori EcoLodge to your Saves list
Tacacori EcoLodge
calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
jerusalem israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a touch of Eden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for the beginning and the end of our visit in Costa Rica. A bit off of the beaten track, the quiet and lush gardens surrounding the lovely cottages were just beautiful. The room was very attractive and comfortable, but it did require a short walk thru the gardens to get to it.
Nadine and Patrick were most helpful and I can only repeat the enjoyment expressed by the previous reviewers about the breakfast and setting.
We also ate dinner at Xandari and enjoyed it very much.
Just a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    43
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
64
151
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night on our way home to the UK, but the owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating. It is a lovely haven of peace in a rather hectic little town, with lovely bungalows, even with a kettle and fridge and tea making facilities (rare in Costa Rica in our experience!) Thank you, Nadine and Patrick, forgetting up at 5am to help us with too much luggage as well as help getting to and from Xandari for dinner!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

All the cabins (rooms) are beautifully decorated with very nice small touches. We enjoyed our stay and there are many things to do and see, so it was a good base but you need a car. The owners are very helpful and charming. The breakfast was great, lots of lovely fruit, home made jams and eggs cooked anyway you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thank you Patrick and Nadine for a lovely end to a wonderful trip! We had no trouble finding the lodge since we were given great instructions and were able to follow the Xandari signs as well. The casitas were lovely, clean and thoughtfully equipped. Beautiful baths and great showers. The property is magical...chock full of exotic plants trees and flowers all carefully tended by the gardener. The breakfast on the terrace was exceptional. Beautifully presented star apples, papaya, pineapple and mango then scrambled eggs and toast with plentiful local coffee. What could be better than watching Kiskadees and motmots make off with fruit from the porch side feeder while enjoying the sounds of the water trickling though the garden and the sight of the owners dogs lounging on the tile? It was lovely from start to finish. On their recommendation, we walked to Xandari and had a great dinner on the terrace overlooking the lights of the Central Valley. Awesome people and a lovely B and B!

Room Tip: We stayed in Porito Casita with a king and a bunk bed for kids. We had about 30 green parrots in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The grounds and gardens are beautiful. Nadine and Patrick were very helpful with directions and gps rental. Good location when flying in and/or out of San Jose. Each casita has its own style and was very private.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Tacacori Edco Lodge is wonderful. Set in beautifully groomed and lush gardens, you will find all the comfort you need in non-pretentious, eco-friendly sophistication. Every cabin has its own style and is spotless. Breakfast is served in a lovely terrace where you can relax, while admiring the tranquil nature that surrounds you.
Nadine and Patrick are fantastic hosts, who will provide you with the best advise to make the most of your trip.
I wish we had had a few more nights to spend there. However, we will surely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The grounds are very well groomed and provide a feeling of being in a private retreat, great for bird watching. Nadine was very helpful with information about dining and area attractions. We enjoyed a nice dinner with a wonderful view of the city at Xandari resort next door, as suggested by Nadine. If you're concerned about the lack of air conditioning, don't be as it really isn't necessary. By far, the best value of any accommodation we had in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacacori EcoLodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.