We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1st or last night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tacacori EcoLodge to your Saves list
Tacacori EcoLodge
calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 1st or last night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got into SJO after all the trips for flights and shuttles had left, had to find a place close by until next morning. The owner (Nathan) I believe picked us up at the airport got back to the hotel about 4pm very nice guy. Grounds are nice beautiful garden setting. Went up to dinner at Xandari per owners reccomendation. Enjoyed our room very clean, spacious private patio. They arranged for our ride to our Nature Air flight the next morning. Very nice start to our trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    48
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
73
166
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the B&B the last night of our stay in Costa Rica. The place is owned and run by a french couple and their two friendly dogs. The bungalo was extremely clean. I'm not sure we would have found it without a GPS, but the location is quiet and in a gated area. Breakfast was continental style. They do a great job giving you information about various restaurant choices and also the information we needed about visiting Poas in the morning, since we weren't sure if we would have time to do it with an afternoon flight. They assured us that we did have time and we had a great one night here. Nice grounds and well run.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a great little escape from San Jose. You're close enough to San Jose, the international airport, and other tourist sights, but it feels a world away from the big city chaos. We loved the tranquility and gardens. The owners were very kind and helpful. The breakfast was great too. Who doesn't love fresh fruit, homemade spreads/jams, and even an omelet. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and even Eco-minded. Great stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Patrick and Nadine are terrific hosts! Their ecolodge is the most beautiful that I have seen on my trip even to the north and south of Costa Rica. Their hospitality was unbelievable, anything you need. Breakfast was great with a French twist. The rooms are immaculate, European and very modern. It is very quaint, a fabulous way to get away from everything. You will see plants there that you won't find any other place in Costa Rica and they are very well tended to. Patrick was very helpful in getting us set up with a GPS on our road trip to Costa Rica and the price was half of what we saw any other place. If you looking for a quaint place to get away, were you can rest and won't be disturbed . . . . this is the place. The best place to stay in Alajuela!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Tacacori Ecolodge this summer for three nights. Patrick and Nadine were wonderful hosts assisting us with travel, car rental and discounted tickets to La Paz Waterfall Gardens. Patrick picked us up at the airport, arranged a car rental and even mailed my sweatshirt that I had left behind, they definitely went above and beyond our expectations. Our favorite casita was the Orquidea, which had an outdoor sitting area with a table and a view of their lush gardens, where we enjoyed snacks and wine in the evening. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. We also enjoyed the main deck where breakfast was served. It's surrounded by lush gardens and visited by a variety of beautiful birds. For dinner we drove to Xandari resort (you can walk but it's a killer coming back up the hill). Xandari's food is delicious, the view is fantastic and they have lots of beautiful art as well. I recommend renting a car, my sister and I rented the least expensive automatic, next time I would go a step up to get more power, lots of hills in Costa Rica. And definitely rent the GPS from Patrick if you are going to visit other areas as we did, she, our GPS, saved us on many occasions. Even though we visited during the rainy season it only rained twice for a short time during the day on our 10 day trip. The weather in Alajuela was perfect! We also visited Lake Arenal, and Tamarindo and loved each for their beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

its like paradise...very friendly french couple. helpful and family. this lodge is like paradise. next time for sure i will visit again. perfect for first and last overnight, but also for longer stay. congratulation patrick and nadine

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here about 4 years ago with my mom and it was a delightful casita stay. Came during easter vacation/ spring break and got along well with the owners even though we didn't speak French. Beautiful gardens with exotic flowers which was a treat for my mom who gardens back home. The shower/bathroom was really nice too and just the overall treatment here. Rooms were always clean and the weather for the April season was more than refreshing - the morning cool air going into the early afternoon.

On our first day, we went to Xandari which isn't a far drive and had a nice dinner with an amazing view. Breakfast at Tacacori was always delicious and fresh and the owners had great things to talk about - like their trip to the Philippines, etc. The owner even drove us back to the airport for our flight.

I also did a bunch of tours with my mom to Arenal, Irazu, Poas, the hanging bridges and a couple of others. Costa Rica is a great place for nature lovers and definitely a once in a lifetime experience. I would be willing to go back for a break from the city life.

The owner even drove us back to the airport for our flight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#7 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
5.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#10 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacacori EcoLodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.