We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and friendly place with beautiful gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacacori EcoLodge

Save Saved
You added Tacacori EcoLodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tacacori EcoLodge
calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Sweet and friendly place with beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here twice, for one night at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica, and for one at the end. Both nights we were in the Banana Guest Room, which has a double bed and bunks for the children, and an en suite bathroom (about $95 per night, I think). There are cabins in the gardens too, they looked lovely. The room was clean and comfortable, although ants were traversing the floor day and night, there really isn't much you can do to stop them. The bathroom had an electric shower, we only got tepid water at best, which was disappointing, but the owners have plans to install a solar system which should be better. We managed to block the loo twice - not sure how good the plumbing was overall!

The view from the room was of the lush gardens, lots of trees, flowers and birds to see and hear. We had a couple of strolls through them, a good first and last taste of Costa Rica. Our daughter enjoyed playing with the owners' dogs and parrot. Our son enjoyed to good wifi.

Breakfast was provided on the terrace outside the owners' home, just next to our room, and consisted of fresh fruit, coffee, juice, bread and homemade jams. On our second visit, we had to leave at 4am for an early flight, so Nadine and Patrick packed us some bread and jam, boxes of juice, biscuits, and bananas from the garden to take with us.

Nadine and Patrick were very sweet to us, doing some laundry for a reduced price, providing the packed breakfasts, providing some bread, ham and bananas for an impromptu lunch when we arrived the second time, and even whipping up some pancakes for supper when it became obvious we were not going out in the rain and the dark to get any food. The lodge is on a tiny, hilly road, you need a car or taxi to get anywhere, and when all we wanted was some bread and fruit, a taxi seemed an unnecessary extravagance. Patrick even got up at 4am to open the security gates for us, and waved us off.

So - this is not a luxurious place to stay, but it is comfortable, friendly and beautiful. I'm not sure if we would go back or not, but that is only to do with location, everything is lovely once you are there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    36
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
136
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We chose Tacacori lodge for our first night of our Honeymoon in Costa Rica. The garden was lovely and the individual room very quiet with lovely views of the garden. We had a romantic dinner at the Xandari Resort down the road. However, compared to the other hotels later in our trip the Tacacori was just ok, since it was relatively basic for the price and some details let us down. It being the rainy season, the room felt rather humid and unfortunately we did not have hot water in the morning. I should have mentioned it to the owners, but since we were only there for a single night I didn't bother, but my newlywed bride didn't appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Propriétaire at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
We are sensitive to your comments on our garden and are happy that you appreciated the serenity of the place. However, we wish to bring some precision concerning your appreciation on our lodge which you qualify as basic item in comparison to the other hotels of your honeymoon. You doubtless chose hotels of a superior category and we do not claim to be able to want to compete with services offered by these. However the equipment of our bungalow compares with these upper-class hotels and it at a much lower price because we provide a safe, a kettle with tea and coffee, a refrigerator with bottle of water offered upon your arrival, hairdryers, thermostatic faucets and multi-shower jet equip the bathroom, without forgetting the free broadband WiFi.
Concerning the absence of hot water, we apologize for this incident due to a technical failure. Indeed in Tacacori Ecolodge and in agreement with our environmental commitment the hot water is produced from solar panels, in case of bad weather an electric resistance has to warm the water, the dysfunction of a relay does not have allowed this switching. We quickly brought in the company which installed this boiler to replace the defective element. Other present guests in our lodge understood that this incident was outside our control and did not hold us responsible. We hope that this incident did not spoil your honeymoon and we wish you a lot of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I think Americans can have unrealistic expectations. We want little bottles of L'Occitane bath products, no bugs in the room, everything neat and tidy, and people to cater to our needs. When we don't get exactly that we are dissappointed. This is Costa Rica! You are going to have bugs in your room, especially if you stay at Ecolodge because it's in a beautiful environment, without manicured lawns and garden statues, it's like being in the wild. The owners, Patrick and Nadine, could not have been more pleasant and helpful. I read the reviews in which people said they weren't friendly and I disagree completely. There is a language barrier, they are from France (bonjour!) so if you are English only, as we are, it can make communicating a little more difficult but we certainly understood each other just fine and found them to be gracious hosts. We had to leave at 4am to catch our flights, they gave us breakfast to put in the in room fridge for the morning and made sure the path lights were on. We returned the gate opener as we left and off we went. No problems. It's a super easy drive to the airport, we didn't ask for directions and easily found it and the car rental agency.

We had the bamboo room, with a comfortable bed, decorated in soothing tones of green. We sat on the patio, drank the vodka we brought with us, and used the wifi. Each room is a little cottage. You can sit in the reception room and read, visit, and pet the two sheepdogs if you are so inclined. If you dont like dogs tell them, the dogs wont visit with you. We didnt hear them barking unless we were playing with them. You do hear roosters and cows nearby, you are in the country, where such animals live, so expect that! Patrick suggested going to the resort a bit down the road for lunch, we did and ended up walking the trails at the resort, as you can go to a waterfall and see lovely plants and birds. The view at the resort overlooks San Jose, it's beautiful, but Tacacori is half the price!

There is hand and body soap in the room. The towels smelled a little musty, but everything is so humid and wet it's hard to keep anything totally dry. We were there in the rainy season. Having shampoo available would be nice, we left our bottle there if you need it.

We would absolutely go back. We went with no expectations and were very happy. It's not a Hilton hotel, there is no pool, room service, you have to walk up and down a little hill, but it's quiet, charming, perfect for those who want to escape and relax. It's easy to find, drive through Alajuelah on the main road, follow the blue signs to the auto mercado, then xandari, ecolodge is past xandari and the white house on the right, has a light brown wooden gate. For 85 dollars a night in the off season, it's a bargain and the owners were lovely and charming.

Room Tip: They are cottages, you can't choose a bad room if you tried.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were traveling Costa Rica and between all the places that we visited we loved this one, this is the Ecolodge Tacacori. Not only because the place has a beautiful garden but because the place is so peaceful and the owners were very helpful, giving us all the advices on road directions, Many thanks to Nadine and Patrick. Thanks for the directions on how to take the new highway , we have saved lots of time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quite !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We travelled with our two children (9 months and 2 year) to Costa Rica in November 2010. We were searching for a place to start and end our trip with our two babies. We read the reviews about Tacacori and felt it would be a nice play to go with our family. We exchanged a few emails with the management of the hotel in order to arrange our stay there but we finally decided to cancel since the management was extremely rude, arrogant and not helpful at all. Also, we travelled in Costa Rica for almost a month and this hotel is the only one that charged an extra 15 $ fee per baby (for the cleaning of the bedding !!!). We strongly suggest you stay away from this hotel.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Propriétaire at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Google Translation
Chère Melou81
Comme vous êtes québécoise et que nous avons échangé en français par e-mail nous nous permettons de vous répondre en français.

Nous venons de recevoir votre avis "Epouvantable" et sommes particulièrement surpris de la sévérité et de la disproportion de la note attribuée par rapport aux FAITS REELS. C’est la note la plus sévère reçue à ce jour, note attribuée par une personne qui n’est jamais venue dans notre écolodge.

Vous avez posté simultanément un avis « excellent » pour votre séjour passé dans l’hôtel d’un confrère à Alajuela. Nous en avons déduit que votre séjour c’est donc bien passé et cet hôtel a su répondre à toutes vos attentes, vos vacances se sont donc bien déroulées et nous nous en réjouissons. Alors pourquoi, plus de 9 mois après ce voyage, et sans même être venue dans notre lodge avez-vous posté cet avis ?

Nous avons relu les 12 mails que nous avons échangés, à aucun moment nous nous sommes permis d’être impoli ou arrogant comme vous le prétendez.

Je vous rappelle également que dès le deuxième mail, nous vous avons accordé la gratuité pour votre fille de 2 ans et demi en mettant à votre disposition notre lit bébé car votre second bébé de 9 mois utilisait votre lit pliant personnel. Il n’a jamais été question de vous facturer une nuit pour ces bébés.
Nous acceptons volontiers les enfants et d'ailleurs quelques couples québécois avec de très jeunes enfants sont venus chez nous et ont été enchantés de leur séjour. Notre politique d’accueil des enfants est clairement expliquée sur les pages tarifs et FAQ de notre site internet.

Petit rappel : Nous mettons gratuitement à la disposition de nos clients un lit bébé moderne et confortable, mais lorsqu’un enfant plus grand dort dans l’un des deux lits superposés de la chambre familiale ou si nous devons installer un lit d’appoint dans une casita, nous facturons un supplément de 15 USD, correspondant aux charges liées à l’entretien du linge (emploi d’une personne, lavage, séchage et repassage des draps) et inclus un petit déjeuner pour l’enfant.
Nous avons construit dernièrement une laverie et un séchoir écologique pour réduire ces coûts, mais cependant l’énergie est assez élevée au Costa Rica. Pour information l’électricité a augmenté de 32% en 3ans !

Lors de ces échanges de mails, nous avons répondu favorablement à toutes vos demandes : gratuité pour vos bébés, transfert aéroport pour votre mère, suivi d’un transfert le lendemain vers l’arrêt de bus pour Arenal. Mais lorsque vous avez souhaité dormir à 5 (un couple, 1 personne adulte +deux lits bébés + bagages !!) dans la chambre familiale prévue pour 4 maximum nous avons préféré vous prévenir cordialement que cette chambre serait trop exiguë. Vous avez alors choisi d’annuler votre réservation et nous vous avons immédiatement remboursé votre acompte sans discuter.
Soucieux du confort de nos clients, nous pensons important de les conseiller de façon honnête sur nos capacités d’accueil au moment de leur réservation afin leur offrir une fois sur place une chambre appropriée et le meilleur service.

Internet est devenu pour certains un formidable outil d’expression et de défoulement personnel sans réel contrôle ni possibilité de riposter ou de rétablir la situation pour les hôtels pris pour cibles.
Dissimulés derrière leur écran, certains n’hésitent pas à entacher la réputation d’un établissement où ils ne se sont jamais rendus en rédigeant des commentaires gratuits et des propos hors contexte. Ce n’est pas agréable, et les dommages sont bien entendu préjudiciables pour une petite structure qui en 18 mois d’existence seulement s’est positionnée dans les premières places grâce à beaucoup de travail.

Ceux qui se livrent à ces pratiques oublient une chose, les nombreux feed-back de nos clients satisfaits sont là, heureusement, pour témoigner du meilleur service que nous tentons d’offrir à nos visiteurs. Merci à eux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights while we explored the Poas and La Paz waterfalls area. Our experience was excellent. Patrick and Nadine were extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel at home. For example; they voluntarily printed maps and made phone calls to find out if certain places we wanted to visit were open; they let us borrow one of their umbrellas because we did not have one; they gave us a very expensive waterproof map as a gift for helping them with a very small favor; and I could go on. The casita was very clean and tastefully put together, and the gardens were beautiful. Breakfast was really good too and we loved Patrick’s homemade jams.

I laugh at the previous reviewer, who blamed the hotel owners for getting lost. Whose fault is that? It's extremely easy to get lost in Costa Rica because there are no street names. Also puzzled that they went to a B&B and expected to have a restaurant and a bar open for them. It’s a B&B! For dinner, we went twice to Xandari hotel, which is a very short drive from Tacacori, and the food was excellent.

We had a great time and highly recommend it. Thanks Nadine and Patrick for a wonderful stay and for your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Owner at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Madame/ Sir, thank you very much for your review which you posted recently on Trip Advisor following your stay at our establishment.
It is a pleasure to read your great comments about our B&B overall especially our quality of service. It makes us of course very proud and encourages us to continue the way how we provide our hospitality to our most esteemed guests.
Thank you! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011 via mobile

We have spent our last day in Costa Rica at the Tacacori lodge, as it seemed a convenient way to reach the airport on the last morning.
First annoying thing – the owner explained (in an angry manner..don’t know why) how to reach the airport from his hotel. Well, instructions were wrong and almost made us miss the plane. Thank you.
Aside of that, we really do not feel like more of the reviewers :
- Owners were very very far from nice or welcoming. We felt that we were disturbing them at all times, as their own private house acts as some sort of lobby, and is filled with signs forbidding you to make a step into this sort of lobby. Nice...

- They had 2 dogs barking all night long... Very nice
- The breakfast was more than average, orange juice was disgusting
- Rooms were very average, sheets were dirty, and bugs were EVERYWHERE inside the room
- The hotel is far from everything, not a restaurant, not a bar, nothing walking distance (oh, and there is no bar and no restaurant at the hotel...). We didn’t feel safe at all at night outside the hotel.
So, all in all, we really do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacacori, Manager at Tacacori EcoLodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We are sincerely disappointed that these guests did not feel their stay lived up to what they were looking for. We take any criticism extremely seriously, and if these guests were experiencing any trouble we would have immediately remedied the situation as quickly as possible. But these guests maintained, since their arrival, a physical distance from us, preferring to keep their private lives well separated from the management and other guests while staying at our EcoLodge. We respected this choice and were discreet with them.

The day before their departure Patrick supplied a plan and explained clearly to these guests how to get to the airport, he knows perfectly the best road because it is he who makes airport transfers. They left our lodge at 6 am for a plane departure at 9:30 am. Our lodge is only 15 mn (10km) from the airport. We are sorry to hear they had a difficult time reaching the airport. Let us be serious! Which would be our interest to give wrong indications?

At TACACORI, most of the general area is open to guests and they are welcome to visit, but private areas (private cooking area, private bathroom, administrative and technical sites) are not.

Our 2 dogs sleep in our room with us every night and we would never allow them to be outside barking endlessly, being totally inconsiderate of our guests.

About rooms, these guests reserved their last nights through a travel agency by choosing the most economic room. We don’t know if this agency supplied them a complete description of our structure specifying the level of equipment and services. For clarity’s sake, we asked to this agency to complete the information concerning our lodge appearing on its web site

About the sheets, 79 clients who posted a review on our Ecolodge awarded a rating of 4/5 or 5/5 for cleanliness. So, we are very surprised by the rating of 1/5 which these guests granted us. We would have appreciated if they showed us directly their observation rather than write a negative review on tripadvisor from home… We would have been pleased to change the sheets or offer them another room.

For bugs, situated in a tropical garden, we recommend to keep doors and windows closed when guests take dinner outside at night to keep flies and mosquitoes out of living areas.
Finally, I was anxious to assure you that we took good note of your review, and to improve still the comfort of our guests, we installed mosquito nets on the windows of the family room which you occupied
We are a B&B of 5 rooms, so we have no restaurant and no bar but if you want the best in fine dining, exemplary service, amidst elegant ambience and an amazing view at a walking distance (only 500 m) from our lodge, the nearest restaurant is the ideal setting. Located on the same road in a safe and enjoyable district this exclusive restaurant is the perfect way to begin your evening. TACACORI Ecolodge is located in a peaceful area at only 5 km to the North of Alajuela, where you can also find many other restaurants easily and quickly accessible via you private transportation or a taxi. Guests can find all of our best recommendations in the welcoming book in their room.
Complaints by guests and any possible suggestions for improving the lodge’s activities are welcomed by the hotel management. But we prefer that these guests say it to us directly rather than by means of a keyboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tacacori EcoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tacacori EcoLodge

Address: calle Burios - 500 m Northest Xandari Resort & Spa- Tacacori | Tacacori, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a stop over or a place to spend at few days to find time relaxation in a beautiful tropical garden. TACACORI EcoLodge is your deal destination. Located 15 mn away from the Juan Santamaria International Airport in a peaceful neighbourhood withing Alajuela, Costa Rica and just minutes away from the business district, entertainment spots and shopping centers in San Jose.Tacaori Ecolodge is an exclusive rest place for tourists coming from the airport to stop over for a good night’s rest.Each of the 5 bungalows rests in harmony with its surrounding and included personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tacacori EcoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacacori EcoLodge Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacacori EcoLodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.