We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Berlor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Hotel Berlor to your Saves list
Airport Hotel Berlor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

So we decided to spend our last night in Costa Rica at Hotel Berlor. We were amazed by the hospitality and the dedication of the hotel staff. They made sure To serve a delicious american breakfast before we headed home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting Airport Hotel Berlor, your opinion is really important for us, and we consider every word you type here, in order to improve our service and we appreciate you mentioned a few a details of the service provided at Airport Hotel Berlor,as well as you mentioned, we serve breakfast from 6:00 am-9:00 am and is included in the room rate, We remind you that we provide Airport pick up under request or either, Drop off to the Airport, as one of the most important amenities required for our guest, Thank you for your review, we will ensure every detail in order to provide a better service everyday, Victoria, Adolfo and Silvia send you a "Pura Vida" and we will be aware of your next visit to Costa Rica and we hope you feel at as home in our Airport Hotel Berlor, Best Wishes.

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    15
    20
    12
See reviews for
24
51
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I chose Hotel Berlor for the price and seeing as we only needed to stay one night I wasn't expecting much. Instead we found a real gem. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the hotel is small with a wonderful family feel. Lester offered us dinner and, again we didn't expect much, but what a meal! One of the best we had in Costa Rica. I would really recommend this hotel. Thank you Lester for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Family Bray, thank you so much for staying at Airport Hotel Berlor, we loved to have you here and sharing a good time with all of you.
Remember that you all are welcome and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica.

Lester Luquez Cano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just needed a place to stay the night before we flew out of San Jose and this place served its purpose. However, if we go to Costa Rica in the future we will stay at a different hotel! I have stayed at many, many cheap hotels and hostels but this was one of the worst because it was VERY MISREPRESENTED ON THE WEBSITE.... the info and photos on Trip Advisor and the hotel website did not match our experience at all. On their website the rooms have white tile floors, flat screen TVs, and brightly painted walls. We got 2 dingy, old, and tiny rooms so we were shocked to say the least.

Pros - close to airport, free shuttle service that was prompt, staff spoke English, a/c works

Cons - Our rooms (2 of them) looked nothing like the rooms on their website. There was old, dirty wall to wall carpet, saggy beds, and questionable, ill-fitting bedding. The bathroom in one of the rooms was very dark with just a single dim lightbulb. The walls and doors are paper-thin so you can hear everything happening in the hallway and other rooms. The rooms were also very small and there was hardly room to put our luggage. The TVs were not flat screens.... that's not important to us personally but since they advertised photos of rooms with flat screen TVs on their website I feel I should mention it.

All in all the price was the best we could find for a decent place to rest. We were only there for a few hours and if you're doing the same you might not mind the questionable conditions since the cost is ok. I don't know if some rooms in the hotel have been renovated while others were not, but beware that you may get a room that does not look like the ones pictured online.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear daisy21988
Thank you for staying at Airport Hotel Berlor, your opinion is very important for us, so we can improve our service in order to satisfy the needings of our guest,I see you are unsatisfied with our service. I understand that you don't get the service that you expected from us, that's why as well you mentioned in your review, we have rooms with carpet and some with tiles and also there rooms with flat screen tv, also I want to mention that daily we clean deeply all our rooms in order to avoid any complaint from our guest and keep the cleanliness,
Rooms are designated since the moment our guest make the reservation, however if the guest is not satisfied, at the arrival and if we have room availables, we can modify it into another room,the day you stayed at the hotel you didn't show any complaint about the service, so we considered that everything was ok. Pictures were taken recently and up loaded in a original format. Once again I want to say thank you for staying in our hotel and we take seriously your opinion in order to improve our quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro, Panama
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is priced right and convenient. Very Clean, secure and close to SJO International airport. Not a vacation hotel but very easy for 1st day in or last day out of San Jose. Free phone calls, computer, wifi and ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear deniseinbocas,
We would like to thank you for share your opinion with other travellers, and let you know how important is your opinion for us,we hope you feel welcome anytime you want to visit Costa Rica and we are so glad about the perspective that you have about our hotel. :)
Lester Luquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The employees at hotel Berlor are awesome! We would not have a had such a great experience without them. They were happy to help us in any situation whether it was setting up tours, recommending a restaurant, or planning our travel transportation. Thank you hotel Berlor for such a warm welcome to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Our guest are the most important for us and we consider that is our responsibility to advice them about anything they need while they stay in our hotel, We hope you enjoyed your staying in Airport Hotel Berlor and your time in Costa Rica. we really loved to help you with any request or information you had in those days you were with us, If you have any question or you wish to comeback to Costa Rica don't forget to visit us.
Kind regards from Silvia, Lester, Adolfo & Jeshua :)

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived quite late and tired before flying out early in the morning. It took ages for the manager to check me-in even though I was the only person around. The single room was very small, there was almost no space where to put a suitcase without walking over it. The room was rather depressing, and with a quite worn out furniture, especially the bed. Also, the fake 'window' to the hallway from which you could spy at the reception desk, was a weird addition. The only motivation to stay there was the close proximity to the airport and a free shuttle. It is worth the money if you just need a place for couple of hours of sleep before flying out, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room was overpriced, uncomfortable, and very disappointing compared to the rest of our trip. The hotel description and reviews didn't match the experience at all. This hotel might have been nice at one time, but there is really nothing to recommend it now. We would have left if it had been possible to cancel the reservation.

The room had a funny smell, and was very dimly lit, although not quite dim enough to hide the stains in the poorly-laid carpeting, which must have been hiding the tile shown in a picture, which looks like the same room, on the Booking website. When I asked for more light, I was given another small lamp, which was taken from another room. The hall light wasn't working either, though, so I asked if there was another room available. At first, I was told that the other rooms were all booked, but then the clerk did show me another similarly sized room, but it was just as dimly lit, with the same funny smell, in the same unlit hallway as the first room.

The pool garden was still gorgeous, and there was an enormous, brand new flat-screen tv in the room, which seemed out of place in the otherwise seedy hotel. The mattress looked new, but felt sort of slickly-gross, with no mattress pad or any other layer, under the very thin sheet. The air-conditioning worked very well and did help to dry our clothes overnight. Someone also did hunt down some fresh mangoes for my sister.

The staff seemed very nice, but understood surprisingly little English for the hospitality industry, and they all gave inconsistent explanations for the hotel's shortcomings.

I picked this hotel because it offered laundry service, which we desperately needed after a week in the rainforest, during rainy season, but there was no laundry actually available. I was told that it was just because they were out of soap, but then, after we returned from the grocery store with detergent, it was because the person who had the key wasn't there.

The restaurant was also closed (on a Sunday, although the website said that it was open every day but Tuesday). We were told by one person that it was closed because it was the chef's only day off, and by another that it was because a previous guest had stolen all the food from the kitchen. (The person with the only key to the laundry room had been at court all day, dealing with the food theft.)

The hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood, so being sent down the road to find an open bar in which to eat was annoying. (When we returned, they told us that they would have ordered us a pizza.)

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Hotel Berlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Berlor

Address: 2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Berlor 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel Berlor is located 2 km east from Juan Santamaria International Colorful hotel open 24/7 for all of those travellers who look for a hotel with amenities such as:Free Wi-fi access, drop off shuttle to the Airport, air conditioner, breakfast, sale taxes, swimming pool, safe parking & Restaurant.Stay at Airport Hotel Berlor enjoy your first or last night in Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airport Hotel Berlor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Berlor Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Berlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.