We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Hotel Berlor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Berlor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Airport Hotel Berlor to your Saves list
Airport Hotel Berlor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Bocas del Toro, Panama
2 reviews
“Airport Hotel Berlor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is priced right and convenient. Very Clean, secure and close to SJO International airport. Not a vacation hotel but very easy for 1st day in or last day out of San Jose. Free phone calls, computer, wifi and ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear deniseinbocas,
We would like to thank you for share your opinion with other travellers, and let you know how important is your opinion for us,we hope you feel welcome anytime you want to visit Costa Rica and we are so glad about the perspective that you have about our hotel. :)
Lester Luquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    15
    19
    12
See reviews for
24
49
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The employees at hotel Berlor are awesome! We would not have a had such a great experience without them. They were happy to help us in any situation whether it was setting up tours, recommending a restaurant, or planning our travel transportation. Thank you hotel Berlor for such a warm welcome to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Our guest are the most important for us and we consider that is our responsibility to advice them about anything they need while they stay in our hotel, We hope you enjoyed your staying in Airport Hotel Berlor and your time in Costa Rica. we really loved to help you with any request or information you had in those days you were with us, If you have any question or you wish to comeback to Costa Rica don't forget to visit us.
Kind regards from Silvia, Lester, Adolfo & Jeshua :)

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived quite late and tired before flying out early in the morning. It took ages for the manager to check me-in even though I was the only person around. The single room was very small, there was almost no space where to put a suitcase without walking over it. The room was rather depressing, and with a quite worn out furniture, especially the bed. Also, the fake 'window' to the hallway from which you could spy at the reception desk, was a weird addition. The only motivation to stay there was the close proximity to the airport and a free shuttle. It is worth the money if you just need a place for couple of hours of sleep before flying out, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room was overpriced, uncomfortable, and very disappointing compared to the rest of our trip. The hotel description and reviews didn't match the experience at all. This hotel might have been nice at one time, but there is really nothing to recommend it now. We would have left if it had been possible to cancel the reservation.

The room had a funny smell, and was very dimly lit, although not quite dim enough to hide the stains in the poorly-laid carpeting, which must have been hiding the tile shown in a picture, which looks like the same room, on the Booking website. When I asked for more light, I was given another small lamp, which was taken from another room. The hall light wasn't working either, though, so I asked if there was another room available. At first, I was told that the other rooms were all booked, but then the clerk did show me another similarly sized room, but it was just as dimly lit, with the same funny smell, in the same unlit hallway as the first room.

The pool garden was still gorgeous, and there was an enormous, brand new flat-screen tv in the room, which seemed out of place in the otherwise seedy hotel. The mattress looked new, but felt sort of slickly-gross, with no mattress pad or any other layer, under the very thin sheet. The air-conditioning worked very well and did help to dry our clothes overnight. Someone also did hunt down some fresh mangoes for my sister.

The staff seemed very nice, but understood surprisingly little English for the hospitality industry, and they all gave inconsistent explanations for the hotel's shortcomings.

I picked this hotel because it offered laundry service, which we desperately needed after a week in the rainforest, during rainy season, but there was no laundry actually available. I was told that it was just because they were out of soap, but then, after we returned from the grocery store with detergent, it was because the person who had the key wasn't there.

The restaurant was also closed (on a Sunday, although the website said that it was open every day but Tuesday). We were told by one person that it was closed because it was the chef's only day off, and by another that it was because a previous guest had stolen all the food from the kitchen. (The person with the only key to the laundry room had been at court all day, dealing with the food theft.)

The hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood, so being sent down the road to find an open bar in which to eat was annoying. (When we returned, they told us that they would have ordered us a pizza.)

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

arrived late. manager suggested that i return rental car and have them bring me back to the hotel and they would shuttle me to the airport in the morning after breakfast. My granddaughter called to see if i had arrived ok earlier. the manager called her when i arrived so that she would not worry about me. they had breakfast for me in the morning and shuttled me to the airport in plenty of time to catch my flight. I had a very good and friendly experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Kathiez9

I will take a personal spot to answer this review not like a worker but like a friend, beyond to provide a service, we feel acommintment to make our customers feel good and safe and give them a good service. And you are not the exception, therefore we want to thank you for having this perception of that, I apoligize for not answer your review before, but I still have a fresh reminder in my mind of your presence in our hotel, thank your valuable opinion and in a friendly manner we would love to see you again and we also want to let you know that you are always welcome here,
PD. Tell your granddaughter that we will take special care of you, by the same way that we treat you in your first visit to the hotel

Kind regards

Lester Luquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Room was ok and close to the Airport.The staff was exelent the girls made nice breafast every day. The owners are a nice cupple very helpfull and the showd me some nice places inthe area. It was not a good time because the street was in repare and hard to wolk around, but the neberhood was save.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Dra: Christina.

The time has passed since you stayed at Airport Hotel Berlor and we apologize for taking so long to answers to your comment, however we want to mention our gratitude for choosing Airport Hotel Berlor during your visit in Costa Rica, Also I want to let you know the road has been fixed and the place looks nice and safe, so next time you visit costa rica you will see a different perspective of the areat. we still keep the same amenities included in the room rate and we always keep working in provide a personalized service,
Remember that you are always very welcome at our hotel and our staff is always ready to take care of you.

Kind regards

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arrived late in to San Jose, just wanting somewhere to put our heads down before picking up rental car the next day(Alamo next door). Only 10mins from the airport and only C2500 for the four of us. The rooms where clean and there was hot water. Could of been a little cheaper but as I said after a long flight a bit of sleep is all you want. Would use again if travelling to Costa Rica.f

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same. Was with two friends and there was the same as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear friends

Than you so mucho for share your opinion about the experience at Airport Hotel Berlor,
we consider your opinion and we work in order to improve your experience at our hotel,therefore I want to let you know, our hotel offers airport shuttle (pick up) under request. Also we offer drop off shuttle to the airport, an one of these service is included in the room rate,
Thank you so much and we hope you stay with us in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Kind Regards

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Hotel Berlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Berlor

Address: 2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Berlor 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel Berlor is located 2 km east from Juan Santamaria International Colorful hotel open 24/7 for all of those travellers who look for a hotel with amenities such as:Free Wi-fi access, drop off shuttle to the Airport, air conditioner, breakfast, sale taxes, swimming pool, safe parking & Restaurant.Stay at Airport Hotel Berlor enjoy your first or last night in Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Airport Hotel Berlor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Berlor Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Berlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.