We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for after long flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Berlor

Save Saved
You added Airport Hotel Berlor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Hotel Berlor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for after long flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arrived late in to San Jose, just wanting somewhere to put our heads down before picking up rental car the next day(Alamo next door). Only 10mins from the airport and only C2500 for the four of us. The rooms where clean and there was hot water. Could of been a little cheaper but as I said after a long flight a bit of sleep is all you want. Would use again if travelling to Costa Rica.f

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same. Was with two friends and there was the same as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Gerente at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear friends

Than you so mucho for share your opinion about the experience at Airport Hotel Berlor,
we consider your opinion and we work in order to improve your experience at our hotel,therefore I want to let you know, our hotel offers airport shuttle (pick up) under request. Also we offer drop off shuttle to the airport, an one of these service is included in the room rate,
Thank you so much and we hope you stay with us in your next trip to Costa Rica.

Kind Regards

Lester Luquez C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    14
    18
    12
See reviews for
24
44
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is the first review I've ever written! I would have gladly paid $20 more for the Best Western! Yes, the staff was nice, but from there this experience was horrible! We we're taken to a room in the back of the hotel behind the courtyard. A large room that seemed more like a storage room with a bed. There was dead cock roaches and spiders all throughout the room. The shower head was broken, cob webs hanging from the bathroom ceiling, and a stench of sewer when the water was turned on and one old hand towel hanging (who knows if it was clean) to dry ourselves off with. My husband requested a wake up call at 4:45 am which we did not get, and by 5 am we headed into the main hotel but found that we we're locked in the court yard. So with no phone in the room to call for help, we had to pound on the door and finally woke up our shuttle driver who had fallen asleep on the couch and forgot to wake us up. Oh, and there was a picture of the twin towers hanging over the bed.. sweet dreams huh!! `this place was a nightmare!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Really nice people run this hotel, but the rooms are depressingly grim and really basic.

My room was about 8 feet square, no windows, a shower with no hot water, and a really worn appearance

The only motivation for staying here again would be that I had absolutely no other option. Grim

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would suggest you spend a little more than one or two nights in this place, since most travellers do that and didn't get to enjoy it the way we did.

Because we were there for almost 3 to 4 days, we pretty much felt like we were enjoying our own villa. We hung out in the pool and at the backyard tables with little to no intrusion from other guests, because few people stay in the day.

The service was absolutely excellent. In order to ensure that you get to the hotel safely, they have a shuttle that runs anytime of the day (the old man who drives the shuttle sleeps in the hotel and awaits any phone calls). He is very good-natured and even allowed us to stop for food because we were starving.

Another service person I would like to bring up (can't remember his name, though) was this man who helped us to make phone calls for confirmations and clinch discounts through the people he knew. We were going to Jaco but spoke little to no Spanish, and had nothing concrete the day before we were due to leave. But this guy helped us by spending almost upwards of 2 hours simply calling shuttle services and hotels in Jaco to ensure we could arrive safely and comfortably. If anything, that level of service would bring me back to Airport Hotel Berlor the next time.

Check out Oscar's Fried Chicken and the Pizza Place that is connected to another inn/hotel.

One more point: I was -really- disgusted by the state of the toilet of the bigger room past the pool. Granted, it was very big and value for money, but there were dark brown holes in the ground and walls. I am generally a flexible person when it comes to lodging, but that toilet was pretty disgusting for me. I don't even mind the random paraphernalia that were strewn around the room in heaps and covered in dust. But the toilet...

Room Tip: The big room past the pool is great space for a large group, but the toilet puts me off a lot. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The review "awful" posted on aug 7 is very accurate. How this room ended up costing 77 dollars is beyond me. The room was comically and terribly small. This was the last place we stayed in costa rica and by far this was the worst value. The window of the room didn't lock and opened onto a dark hallway-also making it easier to here hotel noise. Bed was worn out and sagging in the middle.

Breakfast was ok..think the other post is referring to the same woman who made us breakfast who is not unfriendly but gives you the feeling your inconveniencing her.shuttle was on time and we liked our driver.

Recommendation to the owner:

Lower the price by half to make this value appropriate and avoid bad reviews...

Or, significantly upgrade the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton, quebec
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well I flew out of Newark, N.J. and the plane traffic was backed up due to Hurricane Sandy so I arrived in San Jose Costa Rica 2 1/2 hrs. later then I thought. Grabbed a taxi C2,000 colones and was quite worried everyone had retired for the evening. There was the owner opening the gate much to my relief! A perfect location close to the airport 10 minute ride away. They would have picked me up had it not been so late. Getting to a telephone to call wouldn't have been a problem but finding change to call is near to impossible. Room had 3 beds - I travelled solo - very clean and comfortable. They have wake-up call if needed and offer a typico Costa Rican breakfast - very nice. This isn't in a high-end district but it is quiet. Very friendly staff and owner and would recommend this to anyone wanting a close bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest

I want to thank you on behalf of all the staff of our hotel review, which come to inject new energy to our daily work
whose only interest is in the interest of a happy and relaxed host.

Come back soon to Costa Rica

thanks again

Bernal Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We decided to stay at the Hotel Berlor based on reviews we had seen here. Unfortunately the Hotel Berlor did not live up to our expectations. First and foremost we were misled about the price of the rooms. I had reserved a single room before we left on our trip and the reservation confirmation I received from the hotel quoted a rate of $58. We were charged $88. This was extremely overpriced considering the low quality of the hotel.

We were also unimpressed with the staff. We arrived there after five hours of travel at 12:30. We were sent away as check in isn’t until 2:00. The front desk clerk was not rude, but was not friendly or accommodating in any way. That evening we ordered dinner which consisted of a few frozen raviolis covered with marinara sauce and a small scoop of ice cream. It cost $32! Our waitress was unfriendly and did not check on us during our meal. We were not even offered drinks.

The room itself wasn’t filthy, but it wasn’t clean either. There was a musty smell, similar to the smell of dirty feet, radiating from the carpet. The walls were not sound proof and we could hear everything that was going on out front. Things did quiet down by 10:00 or so but that may not always be the case. The only positive aspect of our stay was that the driver arrived five minutes early to take us to the airport. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlorair, Manager at Airport Hotel Berlor, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
ar Guest

I want to thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to show us
in what we need to improve, mpuedo not stop thinking about what your stay Debio represents many disadvantages.

We invite you to give us a new opportunity to show our interest in improving, advise us when you return to Costa Rica and get a special rate that motivates.

thanks again

Bernal Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Hotel Berlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Berlor

Address: 2 km east from Juan Santamaria | International Airport, Alajuela 251-3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Berlor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Hotel Berlor is located 2 km east from Juan Santamaria International Colorful hotel open 24/7 for all of those travellers who look for a hotel with amenities such as:Free Wi-fi access, drop off shuttle to the Airport, air conditioner, breakfast, sale taxes, swimming pool, safe parking & Restaurant.Stay at Airport Hotel Berlor enjoy your first or last night in Costa Rica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Airport Hotel Berlor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Berlor Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Berlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.