We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charly's Place Hotel

Charly's Place Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Charly's Place Hotel to your Saves list
Charly's Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   200 mts north, 25 mts east from Central Park, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 57 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My friend and I ended up staying here by chance. Charlie is a super nice guy, who's always so patient with people do not speak Spanish like me :)
Rooms are spacious, and the one we stayed last night can hold 6-7 people, with a bath room inside. There is also a beautiful garden where you can have breakfast.
Lovely place for sure, and affordable. 35 for two.
Also it's quite close to all the bus terminals!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were looking for a low budget place to sleep and at Charly's we found a average (small) room with no window to the street for a fair price. The owner is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast in the nice garden was good, WIFI in the room. All together a good first night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at Charly's Place in late July 2012. It was low season so we managed to bargain a huge room (actually 2 rooms that were adjoined) with cable TV and hot water private bath for $30!! The floors looked like they hadn't been mopped in a lonnnng time (I confirmed that by wetting the bathmat and wiping the floors down myself, it was pretty dirty!) but the beds were clean. We had a room set back from the main street and it was very quiet considering the traffic noise level in Alajuela. Only issue was with the hot water--the shower head power supply was not turned on so we had trouble getting hot water the first night. We spoke to the front desk and they came in and turned it on - problem solved. Also, just to be aware that parking is not included but there is a short guarded parking lot about 3 minute walk away which will let hotel guests park for $4 until 7 AM the next day. Additional parking is very cheap...like a dollar per hour or so. Breakfast was included and consisted of toast, guava jelly, butter, OJ, coffee and fruits. Staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. Location was ideal...along a stretch of other hotels which are all close to the main streets/parkettes. There is an excellent restaurant (Monteleone's) literally across the street that serves great food, specializing in steak. For $30/night..can't really be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were looking for a place that had hot water, a double bed and free breakfast - Charlys fit!

We had a great room facing the garden for $35UDS a night - we stayed for 3!

The breakfast was contental but there was heaps of fresh fruit - including some of the best papaya I have ever had!

The staff are nice and Charly is too.

The place is older but it has a certain charm which we liked and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

My cab driver claimed she could not find the hotel I suggested and said it was in another town entirely (which ended up being false). She took me to Charly's Place, saying it would be $30 a night. He tried to charge me $40, and the rooms were pretty nasty. I know I should have left but I was on the last night of a two-week trip and flew out early the next morning. He and his staff are nice enough people, but I don't like the element of dishonesty that pervades the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Patio Hostal & Camping
El Patio Hostal & Camping
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charly's Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charly's Place Hotel

Address: 200 mts north, 25 mts east from Central Park, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charly's Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Charly's Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charly's Place Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charly's Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.