We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word: GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Linda Montana

Save Saved
You added Vista Linda Montana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista Linda Montana
Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“One Word: GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can not agree with the the two below mentioned reviews. The rooms where totally clean and lovingly furnished. The dinner was delicious as well as the breakfast. The owner was totally friendly and gave us great advices. However, the one point I can agree with is that the hotel has wonderful surroundings and a breathtaking view. I enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    46
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
120
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Vista Montana as we had seen very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, we weren't exactly pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was basic (which I'm totally ok with) except that it felt like we were staying in a strangers basement. The room had a crib in it (portable one) which was not removed even after it was noted that we have no children. There was a small single bed without sheets tucked into the corner of our room covered in stuffed animals (?). One of our towels had brown stains on it and it looked as though something wasn't completely cleaned off of the bathroom floor (coloured streaking). To top it off, the side tables were covered in dust and there were several cobwebs hidden around the room (not to mention the 4 bugs I had to kill upon arriving). Breakfast is slightly unsanitary - food is placed outside at 7am and left there until you decide to eat it (breakfast is from 7 - 9). When we arrived around 8, there were flies crawling all over the food (hardly appetizing). The one redeeming feature of this place is the view, it's pretty great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros:
- Nice view
- Quiet (compared to the rest of Costa Rica!)
- Easy, friendly booking
- Close to the airport

Cons:
- The room was somewhat dirty. There were stains on some of the towels, the bathroom floor was dirty, and there were cobwebs and little bugs under the sink, on the walls and in the corners of the bedroom.
- When we arrived, there was a playpen in our room and the host told us it would be removed; it never was.
- The meals were nothing to write home about. The dinner was somewhat bland and the breakfast was lacking. We just had toast and tea. The fruit, eggs, and cheese was sitting and waiting on the table when we came down for breakfast, which looked rather disgusting as it was warm outside and there were bugs flying around and on the food. Perhaps if they served the food as people came out, it would have been better (fresher!)

This could be a great place if the hosts paid more attention to the details! However, we felt as if we were staying in someone's basement. Better luck next time; good value for our money I guess..

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Vista Linda Montana the first and last day of trip due to its location close to the airport. Augustine was extremely helpful before the trip via email. Our flight was arriving late at night, and I did not want to rent a car at that time. Augustine had a taxi waiting for us at the airport and he arranged a local car rental company to drop off the SUV at the hotel the next morning. Renate was amazing. She was so friendly. She showed me her lovely flowers and parrots. She offered us cold drinks when we arrived late at night. The rooms do not have air conditioning and are very basic, but it was a wonderful place to start our trip. We awoke to birds and roosters and beautiful views. Breakfast was fruit, meat cuts and the best coffee. Renate even gave us change for the toll roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very nice place.
The price was good.
The dinner was delicious .
The host was very nice as she agreed to keep our luggage until the end of our trip.
And the dog was very cute. ;)

It is definitely a recommended hotel!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place close to the airport with a garden with birds on property. For the place I find it hard to beat this place. Nice views of mountains and of the sunset. Owner do a great job and are friendly. Food was simple but good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vista Linda Montana on our last night in Costa Rica. Although Interbus refused to bring us there, we easily found a taxi (less than a minute after being dropped off by Interbus) to take us there from near the airport. We were impressed with the location - what a lovely view of the valley and surrounding hillsides we had from our small balcony outside our room, and the grounds were well kept. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we took advantage of ordering dinner since we knew from others' reviews that we'd be a distance from town (though we learned upon arrival we there was an option to take a bus from just outside the gate into town for little money and that ran regularly - though we did not try it out). Dinner at Vista Linda Montana was good and affordable. We also enjoyed playing fetch with the yellow lab. One caution though is that we had purposefully spent down our cash since we had just one night left in Costa Rica, but found out upon arrival that we needed to pay in cash. We scraped together our US dollars and colones and had just enough to pay for the room, dinner and even three beers, but it would have felt less stressful had we known in advance we needed to pay in cash. The hostess arranged for our taxi to the airport (including a stop along the way to get cash to pay for the taxi ride), and also made us coffee, tea and sandwiches as we were departing earlier than the usual breakfast hour. That was a great start to our long travel day! We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Linda Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.