We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word: GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Linda Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Linda Montana to your Saves list
Vista Linda Montana
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“One Word: GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I can not agree with the the two below mentioned reviews. The rooms where totally clean and lovingly furnished. The dinner was delicious as well as the breakfast. The owner was totally friendly and gave us great advices. However, the one point I can agree with is that the hotel has wonderful surroundings and a breathtaking view. I enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Vista Montana as we had seen very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, we weren't exactly pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was basic (which I'm totally ok with) except that it felt like we were staying in a strangers basement. The room had a crib in it (portable one) which was not removed even after it was noted that we have no children. There was a small single bed without sheets tucked into the corner of our room covered in stuffed animals (?). One of our towels had brown stains on it and it looked as though something wasn't completely cleaned off of the bathroom floor (coloured streaking). To top it off, the side tables were covered in dust and there were several cobwebs hidden around the room (not to mention the 4 bugs I had to kill upon arriving). Breakfast is slightly unsanitary - food is placed outside at 7am and left there until you decide to eat it (breakfast is from 7 - 9). When we arrived around 8, there were flies crawling all over the food (hardly appetizing). The one redeeming feature of this place is the view, it's pretty great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros:
- Nice view
- Quiet (compared to the rest of Costa Rica!)
- Easy, friendly booking
- Close to the airport

Cons:
- The room was somewhat dirty. There were stains on some of the towels, the bathroom floor was dirty, and there were cobwebs and little bugs under the sink, on the walls and in the corners of the bedroom.
- When we arrived, there was a playpen in our room and the host told us it would be removed; it never was.
- The meals were nothing to write home about. The dinner was somewhat bland and the breakfast was lacking. We just had toast and tea. The fruit, eggs, and cheese was sitting and waiting on the table when we came down for breakfast, which looked rather disgusting as it was warm outside and there were bugs flying around and on the food. Perhaps if they served the food as people came out, it would have been better (fresher!)

This could be a great place if the hosts paid more attention to the details! However, we felt as if we were staying in someone's basement. Better luck next time; good value for our money I guess..

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhNerd_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Vista Linda Montana the first and last day of trip due to its location close to the airport. Augustine was extremely helpful before the trip via email. Our flight was arriving late at night, and I did not want to rent a car at that time. Augustine had a taxi waiting for us at the airport and he arranged a local car rental company to drop off the SUV at the hotel the next morning. Renate was amazing. She was so friendly. She showed me her lovely flowers and parrots. She offered us cold drinks when we arrived late at night. The rooms do not have air conditioning and are very basic, but it was a wonderful place to start our trip. We awoke to birds and roosters and beautiful views. Breakfast was fruit, meat cuts and the best coffee. Renate even gave us change for the toll roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goyeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very nice place.
The price was good.
The dinner was delicious .
The host was very nice as she agreed to keep our luggage until the end of our trip.
And the dog was very cute. ;)

It is definitely a recommended hotel!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place close to the airport with a garden with birds on property. For the place I find it hard to beat this place. Nice views of mountains and of the sunset. Owner do a great job and are friendly. Food was simple but good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlifeship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vista Linda Montana on our last night in Costa Rica. Although Interbus refused to bring us there, we easily found a taxi (less than a minute after being dropped off by Interbus) to take us there from near the airport. We were impressed with the location - what a lovely view of the valley and surrounding hillsides we had from our small balcony outside our room, and the grounds were well kept. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we took advantage of ordering dinner since we knew from others' reviews that we'd be a distance from town (though we learned upon arrival we there was an option to take a bus from just outside the gate into town for little money and that ran regularly - though we did not try it out). Dinner at Vista Linda Montana was good and affordable. We also enjoyed playing fetch with the yellow lab. One caution though is that we had purposefully spent down our cash since we had just one night left in Costa Rica, but found out upon arrival that we needed to pay in cash. We scraped together our US dollars and colones and had just enough to pay for the room, dinner and even three beers, but it would have felt less stressful had we known in advance we needed to pay in cash. The hostess arranged for our taxi to the airport (including a stop along the way to get cash to pay for the taxi ride), and also made us coffee, tea and sandwiches as we were departing earlier than the usual breakfast hour. That was a great start to our long travel day! We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#6 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#3 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Linda Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing