We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Linda Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Linda Montana to your Saves list
Vista Linda Montana
Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pros:
- Nice view
- Quiet (compared to the rest of Costa Rica!)
- Easy, friendly booking
- Close to the airport

Cons:
- The room was somewhat dirty. There were stains on some of the towels, the bathroom floor was dirty, and there were cobwebs and little bugs under the sink, on the walls and in the corners of the bedroom.
- When we arrived, there was a playpen in our room and the host told us it would be removed; it never was.
- The meals were nothing to write home about. The dinner was somewhat bland and the breakfast was lacking. We just had toast and tea. The fruit, eggs, and cheese was sitting and waiting on the table when we came down for breakfast, which looked rather disgusting as it was warm outside and there were bugs flying around and on the food. Perhaps if they served the food as people came out, it would have been better (fresher!)

This could be a great place if the hosts paid more attention to the details! However, we felt as if we were staying in someone's basement. Better luck next time; good value for our money I guess..

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    53
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
132
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Vista Linda Montana the first and last day of trip due to its location close to the airport. Augustine was extremely helpful before the trip via email. Our flight was arriving late at night, and I did not want to rent a car at that time. Augustine had a taxi waiting for us at the airport and he arranged a local car rental company to drop off the SUV at the hotel the next morning. Renate was amazing. She was so friendly. She showed me her lovely flowers and parrots. She offered us cold drinks when we arrived late at night. The rooms do not have air conditioning and are very basic, but it was a wonderful place to start our trip. We awoke to birds and roosters and beautiful views. Breakfast was fruit, meat cuts and the best coffee. Renate even gave us change for the toll roads!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very nice place.
The price was good.
The dinner was delicious .
The host was very nice as she agreed to keep our luggage until the end of our trip.
And the dog was very cute. ;)

It is definitely a recommended hotel!

Eyal & Chen from Israel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking for a quiet place close to the airport with a garden with birds on property. For the place I find it hard to beat this place. Nice views of mountains and of the sunset. Owner do a great job and are friendly. Food was simple but good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vista Linda Montana on our last night in Costa Rica. Although Interbus refused to bring us there, we easily found a taxi (less than a minute after being dropped off by Interbus) to take us there from near the airport. We were impressed with the location - what a lovely view of the valley and surrounding hillsides we had from our small balcony outside our room, and the grounds were well kept. The hostess was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we took advantage of ordering dinner since we knew from others' reviews that we'd be a distance from town (though we learned upon arrival we there was an option to take a bus from just outside the gate into town for little money and that ran regularly - though we did not try it out). Dinner at Vista Linda Montana was good and affordable. We also enjoyed playing fetch with the yellow lab. One caution though is that we had purposefully spent down our cash since we had just one night left in Costa Rica, but found out upon arrival that we needed to pay in cash. We scraped together our US dollars and colones and had just enough to pay for the room, dinner and even three beers, but it would have felt less stressful had we known in advance we needed to pay in cash. The hostess arranged for our taxi to the airport (including a stop along the way to get cash to pay for the taxi ride), and also made us coffee, tea and sandwiches as we were departing earlier than the usual breakfast hour. That was a great start to our long travel day! We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Vista Linda Montana. We only stayed one night, but the room was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We did have a bit of trouble finding the place and had to get a taxi to lead us. Some signs along the way would have helped a lot. It was about 10 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Vista Linda at the start and end of our vacation to Costa Rica. Booking was smooth and emails were answered promptly by Augustine. We were picked up at the airport (15 minutes away) by Augustine, who helped us with information and further tour and travel arrangements. Renate, the owner, is a warm, friendly and very welcoming host. The hotel is small, immaculately clean, and the view is beautiful out over the valleys and distance volcanoes. We had dinner there 2 nights, simple and delicious. Breakfasts were fresh fruit, cheese, meat and toast shared with other guests on the covered deck. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is a very good value for the excellent service and accommodation.
Sheila and Glen

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
2.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#7 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#10 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Linda Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Linda Montana

Address: Tambor Tuetal norte, 1.5km oeste de la iglesia, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice little cozy Hotel in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Near the airport and San Jose. Spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vista Linda Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Linda Montana Hotel Alajuela
Vista Linda Montana Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Linda Montana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.