We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
50 Mts South of Post Office, Alajuela, Costa Rica
+506 2430 4027
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Alajuela
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We showed up at Jalapenos on a busy night, were seated in less time than we thought imaginable, and then proceeded to have a great meal (including apps and dessert) at what felt like a super leisurely pace. Loved the atmosphere and service, thanks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    64
    20
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great food! Everyone at our table enjoyed their meal. Wonderful atmosphere. Very accommodating host and wait staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You are in for a treat....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

About 6 years ago we found Jalapenos and were instantly hooked. I had been craving good Tex-Mex food for a while since we moved to Costa Rica and we found it right under our nose. I can't say enough about the quality of the food, it is the best! Norman the owner and food magician is a great friend and make you feel right at home. The salsa is killer! and the Monster Burritos are fantastic (my favorite). If you are in Alajuela you must try it, but beware the food is addictive. The prices are great and if you need directions Norman will help you find your way. Hope to see you there we are there at least once a month .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Constantly Craving Jalapenos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 weeks in Costa Rica summer 2013. As Alajuela is a central hub for various transportation routes, we were in and out every week or so. Once we found Jalapenos we were hooked!! As Vegans, sometimes finding GOOD vegan or vegetarian food is tricky. Not at Jalapenos! Norm has considerately planned his menu to accomodate ALL eaters. The food was fantastic!! We tried many things on the menu (as most could be made with their custom veggie blend) and were never dissapointed. There are unique creations that you will never see anywhere else. No matter what you get; spring for the spicy patacones (supreme? jalapenos? I can't remember the name) ... Norm and his staff were great! I was so addicted to Jalapenos that the day we rode the bus(es) all the way from Boca-del-Toro (Panama.....15 hours), I just kept thinking "I hope we can make it to Jalapenos in time"..... with 10 minutes to spare (and full packs on our backs) we stumbled into Jalapenos to a warm welcome and cold maragaritas!!! I can't thank Norm enough; and can't wait to get back there someday soon!!! --Norm; I'm still collecting license plates for you ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just had a wonderful time there. Food is delicious (quesadillas & fajitas) and fresh. Desserts are excellent too. Service is nice and el jeffe of this restaurant very welcoming. Don't hesitate to go. Reasonable prices.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapenos Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.