We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service! Best Chimichangas!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
50 Mts South of Post Office, Alajuela, Costa Rica
+506 2430 4027
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Alajuela
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service! Best Chimichangas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My favorite place in Alajuela, I'm a regular customer for 5 years! English Spoken, Great Location, Local Beers, Good Music, Excellent Attention!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    64
    20
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great place, great food, OUTSTANDING host. Norman, the owner of Jalapeno's, is the reason the restaurant is so good and the best feature of the place. We finally moved to Costa Rica after eight years of visits, and this is our favorite restaurant by far.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, Homemade Fresh Food... AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we drove up to Jalapeño Central we were happy to see it is a 'mom and pop' restaurant and not a huge place....about 7 or 8 small tables....it is cozy, funky and overall our kind of place. We both ordered the beef enchiladas as a complete dinner which comes with refried beans, guacamole, rice and pico de gallo....ALL was very fresh tasty and homemade...no canned or bottled stuff here.....then the waiter brought a small wooden bowl with excellent homemade hot sauce...after 20 years in costa rica eating mostly bland and uninspired food, we were PSYCHED (I was especially happy to see the homemade hot sauce...very tasty and spicy!). The owner, Norman and his staff were very friendly and genuine...no B.S. smiles...they are the real deal!! And all of this for a very reasonable price (about $20 total including a beer and a glass of cas, a natural fruit drink made from fruit grown here in costa rica). BTW, we ate the pecan pie and a nut chocolate tort, both made with, yes i'll say it again, fresh and homemade ingredients. If you're ever in Costa Rica and anywhere near Alajuela, you MUST go get some Tex-Mex at Norman's restaurant! We loved it! Thanks Norman!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“American Style Mexican Food In San Jose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As the title says this is not Costa Rican food - it's Mexican. Small and cozy - quality - average, portion sizes modest, service good. Pretty good value. Ambiance - feh.....the owner spent the entire time basically yelling across the room conversing with other guests at other tables. While I appreciated the friendliness, we were anxious to finish out food and leave to get away from the very loud noise of his voice and the folks he was talking to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant has the "whole enchilada" ( I know, bad pun) with its really tasty tex-mex food, great owner and staff, and fun, informal decor. We went there on a recommendation from an employee at our hotel (1915 Hotel, which is a charming place) and the restaurant's location was very convenient -- only a couple blocks away by foot. We liked the food and the personable owner so much that we went back again the next night for dinner... and it was just as good the second time around!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapenos Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.