We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place. An absolute must visit!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
50 Mts South of Post Office, Alajuela, Costa Rica
+506 2430 4027
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing place. An absolute must visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Don't let the size of this place fool you. The owner Norman is a great guy with fantastic staff, and oh yeah - the food is incredible. Flavourful, reasonably priced, and a great atmosphere. Fantastic margaritas. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Costa Rica!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    81
    22
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The owner speaks excellent English, which is nice since my Spanish isn't good. I got to visit with him for a bit and he continued personally checking on me while I was there. I had the enchilada plate, it was delicious. A giant enchilada with rice, beans and yummy guacamole. The salsa they have is really hot!! The price was more than fair and I loved the decor! Jalapenos everywhere and license plates from the states and other random countries. I loved the big opening in the front because it was nice to look out and people watch! Definitely would eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food at good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you like Mexican food, then this is a great place to go. Great value for money. But take a fan with you as gets a bit hot inside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Tex-Mex in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great little restaurant in Alajuela. Authentic Tex-Mex which you really can't find much of in Costa Rica. Very good food, great service, good prices - what more could you want? Norman the owner is really friendly, will make some recommendations for you and make sure things are right. Would definitely go back. Worth a trip from San Jose too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“None better ... Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was fast and great food and great service. My first time here, will not be my last. Taco salad was beyond my expectations. Ask around to find this place great food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapenos Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.