We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Became our local hangout :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos Central

Jalapenos Central
50 Mts South of Post Office, Alajuela, Costa Rica
+506 2430 4027
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 84 Restaurants in Alajuela
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open 7 days a week. Mon- sat 11:30-9:00 pm Sun 11:30-8:00 pm Accept credit cards except American express
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Became our local hangout :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in Alajuela twice for a total of (8 nights because my husband got ill) and we ate here four times. The food was consistently good and the place consistently full. I noticed there was heaps of locals eating there aswell, which is good to see. Also, the prices are in colones, not in USD.

We tried different things off the menu and liked all of them, maybe apart from the Flautas. Although delicious, the serving size was a bit on the small side. Food is tasty, fresh and reasonably priced.

We didn't find the staff overly friendly though, it took some effort to get a smile out of the lady who served us everytime we went. But hey, we went there for the food, and that couldn't be faulted. (Be aware though, that taxes aren't included - this is typical for Costa Rica but can be a surprise if you have just arrived and don't know about it)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    64
    20
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love at first bite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The moment we entered Jalapeno it was a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and courteous.

The food was mouth wateringly delicious. The prices were very reasonable and the portion size was good as well.
Great value for your money.
Over all a very positive experience

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Fresh, and Consistently Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jalapeños Central in Alajuela, Costa Rica, is one of the few Mexican restaurants in Costa Rica that are consistently delicious. The owner, Norman, is always welcoming and friendly. His staff is also friendly and efficient.
I also like the fact that Norman has taken the time to decorate. It means he cares about the ambiance as much as the food.
The desserts are exquisite! Especially the Chocolate Mousse! Yum!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Only positive experiance...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although, it is hard to satisfy both my wife and I about a restaurant experience at the same time. Jalapeno restaurant did it for us. My wife liked the quality and cleanliness of it and I liked the reasonable prices. I will be visiting them more often. That is for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex-Mex resturant close to the central park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This spot is a bustling place and is frequented by many travelers. Good economical food. in a good location.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos Central also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapenos Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.