We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Melrost Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrost Bed and Breakfast
Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This may be a very good place to stay for people who are only looking for a convenient place near the airport to spend the night. However, for anyone who wants to see downtown San Jose and/or who does not have their own transportation, it may not be a good choice. This B&B is located in a small nondescript residential neighborhood where we would not have felt comfortable walking at night. There did not appear to be any restaurants, shops, or anything of interest close by. Getting into San Jose would have been expensive, difficult and/or time-consuming since this B&B is located about 20 miles away from the center. We had been booked at this B&B by a travel agency, but when we saw where it was located, we decided to stay at another hotel in the center of the city even though we had to pay for both hotels. We were happy with this decision because we had a whole afternoon to explore the downtown, and there was a good restaurant in the hotel where we stayed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Visitors,

We always appreciate all comments, we have a friendly B&B, we are not in the lodging bussines, we are in the Hospitality bussines.

If anyone is looking for the RITZ, this is not the right place for sure, if you are looking for hopitality then you will have a big smile in your face.

For your information we are located only 3 minutes away from the airport, at Monserrat neighborghood , walkable distance to Alajuela downtown, 250 meters away from the Mall International Shopping Center with 4 diffents Banks, Stores, Cinema and more than 15 restaurants indoors and one restaurant outdoor, the friendly Papavero restaurant is just around the corner (with brick oven typical food).

We also provide free transportation to the facilities around the area such as, Airport, restaurants, Central Park in Alajuela downtown, bus stations, Fiesta Casino, rentacars .........ect....

By the way, because of this we can tell you this safe area, in fact the biggest shopping center in Costa Rica is going to be built next door, the City Mall.

We do not blame anyone for not knowing this, specially if they comment and have not stayed with us.

About a week ago we had a customer who made a reservation trough a travel agency, they drove here, did not get off the car and when the recepcionist approached to the car she smiled and asked what would they need but without a word they closed the window and moved the car a few meters ahead, she approached again to the car and they did the same and went away on her face. ......................... A SMILE IS ALWAYS IS BETTER THAN A 1000 WORDS, WELL-MANNERED always works better than a complaint.

If someone does not stay with us we understand, there are all kinds of hotel categories, all we have is a B&B category, with friendly people.

Travel agencies, B&B and hotels have cancellation policies, mainly when they are booked and have to refuse their repeat customers because they have to honor previous reservations.

We hope to have the chance to serve you and show you the beauty and the best of Costa Rica.......the Costarrican hospitality.

GOD BLESS YOU.

Rolando Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
15
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Melrost for the second year in a row and loved it even more! We were there in late August 2012. We were happy to see Rolando and Kattia again, and once again enjoyed their hospitality and their friendship. They even helped us get our Costa Rican driver's license. Great location, within minutes from the airport.They always have provided us with great advice and multiple services to handle any requests you many have of them. We highly recommend you stay there !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Rolando's and Kattia's B & B worked so well for us after a long trip in a packed airplane. Rolando's calm and grounded personality (and he speaks wonderful English) was comforting and he and his family so well represented the courteous and accomodating attitude of the people of Costa Rica. (One night he had his own taxi take us around Alejuela for about 45 minutes trying to find a vegetarian restaurant -- no charge.) Very kind family and the room was clean, relaxing, and the quiet neighborhood location very much an oasis right in the middle of the airport district. Jim and Marlena

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Jim & Marlena,

Thank you for staying in MELROST B&B, we hope to see back here soon. We always try as hard as we can to do our best in order to offer you the best hospitality in Costa Rica.

PURA VIDA,

MELROST B&B Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stay here when we are leaving Costa Rica. 5 minutes for SJO airport!

The rooms are fine and comfortable, especially room 9. They bring hot eggs, toast, fruit, and juice to your room for breakfast and will shuttle you around Alajuela and to the airport for free. They also give great restaurant recommendations.

Highly recommend it and keep going back!

Room Tip: Room 9 is nicest, but if you want more space, choose a family suite downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Muchas Gracias,

We always do our best in order to help our customers with their needs so we´ll love to have you back in MELROST B&B and make you feel again the costarrican hospitality. God bless you. MELROST STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I will keep it short and simple. Great location, spacious, good amenities. It's basically an apartment with a kitchen area in your room and sitting area. Excellent Value and a safe location. Despite there not being any AC in the room Alajuela is usually pretty cool at night. Breakfast was great - you tell them what time and they knock on your door with breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed there 5/18/12. Easy free pick-up from the airport-right on time. Location 5 minutes from airport. Room was large for the price, next time I woulod make sure I asked for a A/C room, none available that night. Healthy breakfast included in room rate. Would stay again for short visit. You can walk to stores/restaurants nearby or they will take you and pick you up. Owners Rolando and Kattia speak good english, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for A/C rooms if in the summer or rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Muchas gracias,

We would love to have you back in MELROST B&B many times again. Next time we´ll make sure to have a room with A/C available for you. We´ll always do the best for our guests. Regards.
Rolando Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We learned about the Melrost from the owner's brother. It was the perfect place to stay for our early departure. Our driver happily transported us at 3:45 am. Wake up call was delivered by a friendly woman at 3:15 am. In room coffee, great shower, wonderfully comfortable beds and friendly service. Our room had a ceiling fan and windows. No AC but we didn't need it. Sure we had a bit of street noise, but it's all part of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melrost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Address: Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Bed and Breakfast located 5 minutes away from the International Airport in Alajuela City. We are in the hospitallity business. Our rates includes breakfast served in the rooms, free wi-fi, shuttle service to the Airport and Alajuela downtown, free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Melrost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrost Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrost Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.