We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel w/ Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Melrost Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrost Bed and Breakfast
Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Airport Hotel w/ Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stay here when we are leaving Costa Rica. 5 minutes for SJO airport!

The rooms are fine and comfortable, especially room 9. They bring hot eggs, toast, fruit, and juice to your room for breakfast and will shuttle you around Alajuela and to the airport for free. They also give great restaurant recommendations.

Highly recommend it and keep going back!

Room Tip: Room 9 is nicest, but if you want more space, choose a family suite downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Muchas Gracias,

We always do our best in order to help our customers with their needs so we´ll love to have you back in MELROST B&B and make you feel again the costarrican hospitality. God bless you. MELROST STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I will keep it short and simple. Great location, spacious, good amenities. It's basically an apartment with a kitchen area in your room and sitting area. Excellent Value and a safe location. Despite there not being any AC in the room Alajuela is usually pretty cool at night. Breakfast was great - you tell them what time and they knock on your door with breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed there 5/18/12. Easy free pick-up from the airport-right on time. Location 5 minutes from airport. Room was large for the price, next time I woulod make sure I asked for a A/C room, none available that night. Healthy breakfast included in room rate. Would stay again for short visit. You can walk to stores/restaurants nearby or they will take you and pick you up. Owners Rolando and Kattia speak good english, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for A/C rooms if in the summer or rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Muchas gracias,

We would love to have you back in MELROST B&B many times again. Next time we´ll make sure to have a room with A/C available for you. We´ll always do the best for our guests. Regards.
Rolando Torres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We learned about the Melrost from the owner's brother. It was the perfect place to stay for our early departure. Our driver happily transported us at 3:45 am. Wake up call was delivered by a friendly woman at 3:15 am. In room coffee, great shower, wonderfully comfortable beds and friendly service. Our room had a ceiling fan and windows. No AC but we didn't need it. Sure we had a bit of street noise, but it's all part of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We sort of stumbled onto Melrost, and I feel like we were very lucky to have found such a wonderful place! After staying in a couple of "hotels" that were much more like hostels with shoddy plumbing, this was such a treat.

Rather than a classic sterile hotel room, we stayed in what was actually a full on apartment-- and one much nicer than my tiny studio in Nyc!

It was absolutely gorgeous-- immaculate, and well maintained, but felt a lot cozier than your average hotel. The couple who own this place were an absolute delight, and took such good care of us. They seem to really care about making the trip a success for us, and it felt wonderful to have such personal care. Speaking of great service --no crappy continental breakfast here -- you choose the time (!) and they will deliver to your room (!!) a tray of eggs, fresh fruit, and toast. You also have a coffee maker and a refrigerator for any late night snacking you might want to do.

My trip to Costa Rica was one of my favorite vacations, and I think in large part, due to the Melrost. It was far and away nicer than any of the other hotels we stayed at in a similar price range, and the personal service and beautiful space made me feel like a super star. I would love to go back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Owner at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Bianca,

Thank you very much for your review. Since we started 6 years ago we've been trying to be in HOSPITALITY business instead of the lodging business. We hope to see you back here soon. Sus amigos MELRSOT B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We live in Costa Rica, but far from the city. When we have business in the city or need to catch a plane, we stay at this fine B&B, very near the airport, but reasonably priced. They have a roomy van in which they will take you to the airport or wherever you need to go. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The best part is the owners, who are on the scene running the hotel. The will do anything to make your stay pleasant. On our last visit our car battery died, and they took our car to a electrical car shop where they tested everything and installed a good quality battery at a low price because the owner worked with a big rental car agency that got a cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the Melrost hotel in late November of 2011. We were about to take a 3 day tour of the central valley and this hotel was recommend by the tour operator. We were glad it was. The hotel was conviently situated close to the airport, with a free pickup service from them. We also had them recommend a great steak restaurant, where we spent our first night in Costa Rica eating a wonderul meal under the stars. Agin they provided courtesy driver service to and from the resaurant. The rooms were clean and large and the service was great. We particularlly enjoyed talking with owners Katia and Rolando who provided us with lots of information about life in Costa Rica and things to do in the area. In fact one night we walked nearby to a shopping center and got to see one of the grandest fireworks displays celebrating the begining of the Christmas season. I would highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Address: Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Bed and Breakfast located 5 minutes away from the International Airport in Alajuela City. We are in the hospitallity business. Our rates includes breakfast served in the rooms, free wi-fi, shuttle service to the Airport and Alajuela downtown, free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melrost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrost Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrost Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;