We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near the airport .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melrost Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Melrost Bed and Breakfast
Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay near the airport .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the Melrost hotel in late November of 2011. We were about to take a 3 day tour of the central valley and this hotel was recommend by the tour operator. We were glad it was. The hotel was conviently situated close to the airport, with a free pickup service from them. We also had them recommend a great steak restaurant, where we spent our first night in Costa Rica eating a wonderul meal under the stars. Agin they provided courtesy driver service to and from the resaurant. The rooms were clean and large and the service was great. We particularlly enjoyed talking with owners Katia and Rolando who provided us with lots of information about life in Costa Rica and things to do in the area. In fact one night we walked nearby to a shopping center and got to see one of the grandest fireworks displays celebrating the begining of the Christmas season. I would highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
20
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night at the end of my Costa Rica trip. Barnaby picked me up from the Sansa airport terminal, and took me and several others to the main terminal early the next morning, along with a simple packed breakfast. It was all very low-stress and the staff is very nice. My room was small and simple, with a TV and a decent bathroom. I walked to the mall a few blocks away for lunch and walked around the neighborhood a bit to kill some time. It has an edge-of-town feeling--there are some cows and horses in a field nearby. But a number of barking dogs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

There is no air conditioner and the dogs in the neighborhood will keep you up all night. I did not feel safe in this area and there is no security or bolted locks on the doors. For the price I would try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melrostbnb, Manager at Melrost Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really sorry for your unconformity.

Our place is sorrounded by a lot of little animals, the birds start singing around 5am, there are squirrels in front of the building, horses and cows around the corner, our neighbor has chickens and people in Costa Rica like to have dogs, in every house there is at least one dog (sometimes they bark, not always), in fact our hotel is a PETS FRIENDLY place. If someone has a pet that would like to bring it with, please know you all will be welcome in MELROST B&B.

Even so Dear Guest, we understand you won't come back to our place but we hope you come back to Costa Rica, which is beautiful, we hope one bad experience doesn't ruin your good memories of Costa Rica, next time we know you will enjoy better our country.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Hosts were so friendly and helpful. Large and comfortable room. Breakfast very good and served in our room. Had coffee maker, microwave in rooms. Rented a GPS from the hosts. They helped us make calls so they could talk in Spanish for us. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port richey,fl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We traveled with another couple to Costa Rica. We were greeted at the airport and taken to Melrost. The following morning they accommodated us by taking us to both the local grocery store and bank. When our rental car did not show up they took at least 30 minutes of their time to help us. We even rented a GPS from them (at a rate cheaper than from the rental car company). The owners were so gracious and what a nice welcome to San Jose. The rooms were very nice and very clean. The breakfast served in our room was a special bonus. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

we happen to stumble upon this place when we were stuck at the airport due to a rental car mishap we needed a place cheap and close to airport! we got both the shuttle picked us up within 20 mins of us calling. We stated we were starving after traveling for almost 10 hours so he brought us to an amazing steakhouse for dinner and then picked us back up when we were finished eating all free of charge! in the morning the breakfast was at our balcony promtly when we asked for it fresh fruit eggs and toast! the coffee was by far the best coffee we had the entire time we were in costa rica, come to find out at a later stay that the reason being is they have coffee plants and roast and grind their own coffee in the b&b. the owners were super nice and very helpful. i would 110% stay there next time i am in costa and would recommend anyone do the same

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

The staff is very friendly and provide a wonderful service for their guests. The room was very clean and comfortable, and a delicious breakfast was served in the morning. Their wifi internet was fast and had great signal strength which was superb compared to other hotels I've stayed in.

The hotel van met us at the airport even though our plane arrived 4 hours late (midnight instead of 7pm) due to weather conditions. Transportation from the airport was quick and comfortable.

The only inconvenience was that our bathroom was not handicap accessible, and the shower floor tiles were slippery.

This is a great place to stay if you are just getting into Costa Rica, or will be departing to the airport the following day. If you need currency exchanged, or need to do some quick shopping, there is a mall a short distance from the hotel which is very convenient.

Thanks for the great stay!

Aaron and Marie

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melrost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrost Bed and Breakfast

Address: Del Mall Internacional, 200 sur Urb. Santi, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Bed and Breakfast located 5 minutes away from the International Airport in Alajuela City. We are in the hospitallity business. Our rates includes breakfast served in the rooms, free wi-fi, shuttle service to the Airport and Alajuela downtown, free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melrost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrost Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrost Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.