We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest Hotel I have ever stayed at!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cortez Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cortez Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Cortez Azul
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela ., Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Noisiest Hotel I have ever stayed at!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The owner recommends you to go to his restaurant nearby but it's crap food.
It was the noisiest place I have EVER stayed in all my trips! Even with earplugs I was woken up multiple times during the night.
The bathroom smelled like sewage and there was no toilet paper.
It was the worst place I stayed in Costa Rica by far!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
41
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very relaxing place with a nice patio and outdoor kitchen. The father and son who run the hotel are so friendly and helpful. The gate to the hotel is always locked so you feel totally safe. The only drawback is that the house is sort of falling apart, they really need a carpenter to fix all the broken parts...But it still feels like a home away from home!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is a nice hostel with an open air communitity kitchen and a small garden.
We liked the room and the staff.
There is only one bathroom so that you have to wait sometimes.
The hostel is located very close to everything you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I know you can get better accommodation than this near the airport for the same $35 price--at Vida Tropical. First, the positive: Marc at reception (the owner's son) was great--very helpful. I had a private room with a strange little bathroom arrangement--the sink was in the shower! Bed was OK and room seemed clean. I certainly wouldn't want to spend more than one night here. Breakfast was below par. Guests were left to fend for themselves with a bread, jam, bananas and not very good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we stay there the 1st and last night in Costa Rica; very close to the airport ( 5 USD for taxi ride!!), close to the centre, the owner will bring you to eat or drink something in Monteleone restaurant just accross the corner. The hostel is clean and simple, the problem is that's very noisy, if you have problems to sleep with noises at every hour of day and night don't stay there

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I realized I was booking a hostel for our first night in CR but the glowing reviews on TA just don't match up to our experience.

The room was very clean. That was great.
The staff were very nice. That was great.

The biggest problem: the rooms didn't have walls that go to the ceiling so we listened to the TV in the lobby until 1am and then it started again at 5am. No sleep after a long flight doesn't make for a good start.

The backyard is cute but the kitchen was pretty filthy.

There seemed to be a lot of long-term tenants living in the hostel. It felt a little unsafe. Two or three drunk guys wandering around all the time.

Even though we were told we could pay with CC and they have stickers in the window, we had to pay cash which wouldn't be a big deal except that the cash machines weren't working for 12 hours.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Cortez Azul for the first and last days of our honeymoon. It was super cheap and we just loved it.

Pros:
- Very friendly staff (we quickly made friends with Luis and Johanna, who were managing the place when we stayed there. Love them!)
- Cute open-air kitchen with all the amenities you need to cook or bake whatever you'd like
- Lots of personality (interesting artwork and nice garden area)
- Free wifi
- cable tv

Cons:
- the water in our room (#6) only barely made it out of the freezing cold zone
- beds were not the most comfortable in the world

If you are interested in a low-cost place with a lot of personality, this is a great one. If you're interested in luxury, not so much the place for you.

Room Tip: We were in a private room (with a bathroom) in the back, near the kitchen and garden. It's much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Patio Hostal & Camping
El Patio Hostal & Camping
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hostel Trotamundos
Hostel Trotamundos
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Inn Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortez Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortez Azul

Address: Avenue 5, between Calle 2 and 4, Alajuela ., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortez Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To fly in and out of Costa Rica for convenience may need to stay near an airport and the Juan Santamaria in Alajuela. The hotel is conveniently located Cortez Azul near the most important airport in Costa Rica. Alajuela is located only 2 km away and about 5 minutes from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cortez Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortez Azul Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Cortez Azul Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cortez Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.