We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B Perfect for Stays Near Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great B&B Perfect for Stays Near Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

Alegria B&B is a great stay if you're looking for accommodations in the San Jose area, especially if you have an airplane to catch the next morning. Highly recommended!

George and Dolly run a B&B out of their homes. The home is immaculate, beautiful, and they are both very friendly.

We had just come back from white water rafting and Dolly was kind enough to let us dry our clothes in her dryer--it was much appreciated.

We stayed in the Las Ranas room. The bathroom is located just across the hallway. Dolly showed me all of the rooms and the biggest room (with private bathroom) looked really really nice. (They all looked nice, but the private bathroom was more spacious than the one associated w/ the Las Ranas room.)

The room was tidy and clean and was perfect for our overnight stay.

Dolly and George were gracious enough to show us a great local Mexican restaurant, where we ended up having a great meal with them talking about our travels and their experiences living as expats in Costa Rica! It was the perfect way to end our week in the country.

Dolly was kind enough to cook us breakfast early, as we had to leave at 7:30 AM. The breakfast was GREAT! Eggs with ham, potatoes, pastries, juice, coffee, and lots of delicious Costa Rican fruit! The breakfast kept us going all day long!

I would hands down recommend folks looking for QUIET accomodations near the airport.

Next time we're in Costa Rica, I am definitely staying here again!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
148
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We (5) visited Alajuela during Spring Break 2008. We had never stayed in a B & B before and were concerned as to what we would find.
We have never had a better facility to stay in in our entire lives, including our honeymoon. The rooms were spotless. The home is immaculate. The hosts are more than friendly and hospitable. Breakfasts were delecious and more than we anticipated. We were given access to a refrigerator and cooking that we could use as we saw fit.
Staying is such a central location, we were able to plan each of the trips we planned to take and had the assistance of very knowledgeable people who were not getting a kickback from any of the suggestions they made.
We would go again, hopefully longer. We have recommended alajuela to many of our friends.

  • Liked — Our Hosts and their home
  • Disliked — We did not have enough time there.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the Alegria B&B just one night prior to an early a.m. flight home. After a week in a rather rustic setting on the Caribbean coast, our night at Alegria was most welcome. Dolly and George have a beautiful home that is impeccably clean and wonderfully furnished, with comfortable beds and hot showers! More important though is the hospitality. After returning from dinner, we had a lovely evening talking and enjoying tasty iced coffees with Dolly, her delightful 85 year-old mother, and a Tica neighbor who happened to pop by. Though we departed the following morning at 5 am, Dolly nevertheless packed a yummy breakfast to go for us and the kids.

Altogether, a beautiful home and excellent hospitality!! We'll definitely be back for a more extended stay!
Bob & Theresa
Little Rock, AR

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That we only stayed 1 night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We actually stayed at this B&B twice within the last year and enjoyed it immensely both times. The home is large and offers 3 guest rooms, each with it's own bath. The rooms are tastefully decorated and separate from the living quarters, for additional privacy. The entire home is comfortable with a large family room and kitchen. Breakfast is always excellent including fresh local fruit and coffee is available at an early hour. Dinner can be served on request and is often eaten with the family.

The hosts are well familar with the area and can give tourist information as well as arrange for drivers for day trips or overnighters. The San Jose airport is actually located in Alajuela, close by and easily reached by an inexpensive taxis ride.

This home is a great find for both business and vacation travelers. It's located in the Central Valley. There are many interesting attractions close by and both coasts are within a few hours drive.

On your next trip to Costa Rica, consider the Alegria B&B!

Barbara Schauland

  • Liked — Great hosts, good food and comfortable guest rooms
  • Disliked — All good!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We had a great time staying at the Alegria. We used it as a home-base and traveled on day trips to the beach, Poaz, etc.

Our favorite spot is the portico. We loved sitting outside and enjoying the lovely tropical breezes while reviewing the days' activities.

Also the breakfast was great every day. Of course the fruit was perfect and fresh, but also the other dishes were wonderful as well. We especially enjoyed that the menu changed every day.

Costa Rica is our favorite place to visit and now Alegria will be our best home away from home. We strongly recommend this excellent B&B for your visit.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.