We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end of trip transition to home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect end of trip transition to home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a fantastic little place! We stayed with George for our last night in CR before our flight back the next day. After 3 weeks of beaches, lush forests and little country towns, this bed and breakfast was a great transition back to "city life", easing us back gently to our home lifestyle. The place is very clean, the bed comfy and the hot water is a luxury in this country. After eating the best ceviche of our trip, upon George's recommendation, we slept like babies and when we woke up we thought we were actually home. George made us an amazing breakfast of fruits, eggs and sausages, english muffin and his delicious home-made banana bread. Comforting and re-energizing. When it was time to leave for the airport, we felt like we could have stayed so much longer at Algeria B&B. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
143
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had to leave for the airport at 5am the morning following my stay, and George had coffee and a packed breakfast of an egg english muffin sandwich, banana bread, and a banana waiting for me when I got up. Throughout my stay, he was very helpful and had many resources for the surrounding area. Downtown Alajuela is about a 20 minute walk from the B&B so it is in a tranquil neighborhood, but it is easy to walk to restaurants. The building itself it clean, well-maintained, and cute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Like others we stayed with George our first and last nights in Costa Rica. At the end we realized George was the only BnB that followed the traditions of those we are used to. A great common area, plenty of literature on Costa Rica and other reading materials. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and quite reasonable. The breakfast was wonderful and George makes the best Banana Nut Bread I've ever had. (You were supposed to share the recipe George!). George is a very amiable guy and we went to dinner with him both nights we were there and he entertained us with stories of his friends and his time in Costa Rica. George even went out of his way for me in between our visits by inquiring about a T-shirt I had spotted on our first night at dinner. Thanks George.
I highly recommend the Alegria Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at George's at the start and end of the trip, and very glad we did. George picked us up at the airport, which was great. The fresh cooked muffins the next morning and the fruit was delicious.

We stayed there at the end also, and as we were leaving before breakfast George made us muffins with eggs, cheese and ham to take to the airport which was amazing.

If we come back to Costa Rica we wouldn't hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

George was very responsive to email, and accommodated the bizarre staggered arrival times of our group with ease. We did rent a car, and finding the house was not the easiest (anticipating this, I found it before we left on Google Maps and printed that out, which turned out to be really useful). The rooms were clean, and our party were the only ones there for the night. George is a very nice older dude, and the accommodations are rooms on one wing of his rather large house. The kitchen was pretty messy looking, but it's hard to complain too much when someone makes you breakfast. George admitted he doesn't really know any Spanish, nor does he seem particularly interested in Costa Rican culture; it felt a lot like I was staying in America. We also were somewhat unfortunate to be there while the field nearby was being burned, so it was really smokey (all the windows were left open throughout the house). Overall it was a nice stay, though don't expect any particularly great sights, or any cultural experience unless you want to adventure out on your own... but George's hospitality, proximity to the airport, and value are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Alegria on the first night of our trip. George picked us up from the airport at 1 am. After a long flight it was so nice to get off the plane and have a ride waiting there. When we got to his house, it was so nice. It was nice quiet and very comfortable to sleep at, and we woke up to a fresh fruit and fresh bread breakfast. George is so friendly and interesting. He is incredibly helpful. Even before our trip, he recommended a car rental company, and some plans for us. I recommended this place to people throughout our trip who are frequent Costa Rica travelers. I most certainly would say if you are staying in Alejuela, stay here! Thanks George!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As all other reviews state,George meets his guests at the airport which is a great way to start a holiday after a long trip.
We stayed at Alegria 3 times as we passed through Costa Rica.George always had beautiful fruit and we sampled his savoury creations(which were great)home made muffins and donuts .On our last morning there we had an early flight so he packed us a picnic scambled egg,cheese and ham sandwich and a piece of his homemade banana bread.
Alegria is a lovely home,George is a generous host and we would encourage anyone to spend time at this great B & B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria b&b
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.