We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“George's house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“George's house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

George was very responsive to email, and accommodated the bizarre staggered arrival times of our group with ease. We did rent a car, and finding the house was not the easiest (anticipating this, I found it before we left on Google Maps and printed that out, which turned out to be really useful). The rooms were clean, and our party were the only ones there for the night. George is a very nice older dude, and the accommodations are rooms on one wing of his rather large house. The kitchen was pretty messy looking, but it's hard to complain too much when someone makes you breakfast. George admitted he doesn't really know any Spanish, nor does he seem particularly interested in Costa Rican culture; it felt a lot like I was staying in America. We also were somewhat unfortunate to be there while the field nearby was being burned, so it was really smokey (all the windows were left open throughout the house). Overall it was a nice stay, though don't expect any particularly great sights, or any cultural experience unless you want to adventure out on your own... but George's hospitality, proximity to the airport, and value are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
150
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Alegria on the first night of our trip. George picked us up from the airport at 1 am. After a long flight it was so nice to get off the plane and have a ride waiting there. When we got to his house, it was so nice. It was nice quiet and very comfortable to sleep at, and we woke up to a fresh fruit and fresh bread breakfast. George is so friendly and interesting. He is incredibly helpful. Even before our trip, he recommended a car rental company, and some plans for us. I recommended this place to people throughout our trip who are frequent Costa Rica travelers. I most certainly would say if you are staying in Alejuela, stay here! Thanks George!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As all other reviews state,George meets his guests at the airport which is a great way to start a holiday after a long trip.
We stayed at Alegria 3 times as we passed through Costa Rica.George always had beautiful fruit and we sampled his savoury creations(which were great)home made muffins and donuts .On our last morning there we had an early flight so he packed us a picnic scambled egg,cheese and ham sandwich and a piece of his homemade banana bread.
Alegria is a lovely home,George is a generous host and we would encourage anyone to spend time at this great B & B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The first place we'd intended to stay cancelled our reservations without notice and we scrambled to find a room at Alegria the night before leaving for our trip. But the experience was so positive we made sure to come back for the last night as well. George is a gracious man who provided a comfortable and clean room and very good breakfast for starters, but was also willing to sit and help us plan out our explorations of the country and give us the benefit of his experience. Since this was our first trip, we avoided several mistakes that we would have walked into. One was our first rental car—Thrifty charged us an excessive "mandatory" insurance fee, but with George's help we took it back and got a good car for a reasonable rate with a Costa Rican company he knows. He also arranged a reliable taxi ride back to the airport at 3:45 in the morning, but had also offered to take us if there were any problem. This B&B will certainly be on our list for the next trip and you can stay there with confidence as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have come to Costa Rica for the last 4 years now to vacation in the winter. We usually stay for roughly a month and this year decided to see a few things around Alajuela, rather than making a B-line to the ocean.

It was really great to be picked up by George from the airport. As soon as you walk out of the airport there are a lot of taxi drivers asking you if you need a ride, although you are not searching for a taxi I feel you never know who is ready to take advantage. So this is a fabulous perk. The airport hotels may do this too but staying at Alegria is much nicer.

Upon arrival we felt welcomed and at home right away and had a nice tea to settle in.

George has a large house with plenty of nicely furnished lounging areas and a gated carport to park your rental if you get one. I don't think the room we stayed in was on his website but it was very spacious with a private ensuite bathroom, TV and kingsize bed that was awesomely comfortable and turned out to be the most comfy of our trip.

George is very laid back and accommodating. We had a variety of fresh fruit for breakfast and just a simple soft boiled egg by request for two off our three days, and a fabulous omelette with bacon he made for us the other. Toast and home made muffins and loaves were available too.(That he makes himself) I think he does pancakes and other things too, we just try to stay away from too much breads and sugars.

I would definitely recommend going to Poas (Volcano) and the La Paz Waterfall gardens if you have the time. Both can be done on the same day and are a combination of amazing, beautiful, interesting and fun and both are easy to walk for a variety of ages.

Although we didn't stay here for the last day of our trip because I wanted to try somewhere different and had it all booked, I wouldn't hesitate to do so. The combination of comforts and location make Alegria ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Alegria with 2 friends at the end of March. Clean, comfortable, convenient, and absolutely delicious fresh breakfast...what more could you want? George is a wonderful host--we only stayed one night and felt sad to leave the next day. Book here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This clean and comfy B&B is the one of best places we stayed in Costa Rica, and definitely the best place to stay if you have a late arrival into San Jose main airport. George is the most relaxed man I have ever met, the perfect antidote for a couple of stressed Londoners! We landed about 8pm and George met us at the airport for the short ten minute ride to Alegria, which is in a quiet spot just outside town.

George is a wonderful host, and a great baker! The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, there is a lovely spacious communal area and you will be served quite possibly the best breakfast in Costa Rica. The B&B is in an easy spot to walk into town for everything you need, including a brilliant Mexican and amazing fish restaurant. We came back to stay for two nights at the end of our trip, and it felt like coming home.

Thanks George - we will always remember our visit and hope to see you again. Sorry it's taken a while to write this, have been in denial since coming back to cold old UK! E y R x

Room Tip: Las Flores is enormous! George will add an extra bed if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#7 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 58 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.