We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start and end your trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to start and end your trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have come to Costa Rica for the last 4 years now to vacation in the winter. We usually stay for roughly a month and this year decided to see a few things around Alajuela, rather than making a B-line to the ocean.

It was really great to be picked up by George from the airport. As soon as you walk out of the airport there are a lot of taxi drivers asking you if you need a ride, although you are not searching for a taxi I feel you never know who is ready to take advantage. So this is a fabulous perk. The airport hotels may do this too but staying at Alegria is much nicer.

Upon arrival we felt welcomed and at home right away and had a nice tea to settle in.

George has a large house with plenty of nicely furnished lounging areas and a gated carport to park your rental if you get one. I don't think the room we stayed in was on his website but it was very spacious with a private ensuite bathroom, TV and kingsize bed that was awesomely comfortable and turned out to be the most comfy of our trip.

George is very laid back and accommodating. We had a variety of fresh fruit for breakfast and just a simple soft boiled egg by request for two off our three days, and a fabulous omelette with bacon he made for us the other. Toast and home made muffins and loaves were available too.(That he makes himself) I think he does pancakes and other things too, we just try to stay away from too much breads and sugars.

I would definitely recommend going to Poas (Volcano) and the La Paz Waterfall gardens if you have the time. Both can be done on the same day and are a combination of amazing, beautiful, interesting and fun and both are easy to walk for a variety of ages.

Although we didn't stay here for the last day of our trip because I wanted to try somewhere different and had it all booked, I wouldn't hesitate to do so. The combination of comforts and location make Alegria ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
143
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Alegria with 2 friends at the end of March. Clean, comfortable, convenient, and absolutely delicious fresh breakfast...what more could you want? George is a wonderful host--we only stayed one night and felt sad to leave the next day. Book here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This clean and comfy B&B is the one of best places we stayed in Costa Rica, and definitely the best place to stay if you have a late arrival into San Jose main airport. George is the most relaxed man I have ever met, the perfect antidote for a couple of stressed Londoners! We landed about 8pm and George met us at the airport for the short ten minute ride to Alegria, which is in a quiet spot just outside town.

George is a wonderful host, and a great baker! The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, there is a lovely spacious communal area and you will be served quite possibly the best breakfast in Costa Rica. The B&B is in an easy spot to walk into town for everything you need, including a brilliant Mexican and amazing fish restaurant. We came back to stay for two nights at the end of our trip, and it felt like coming home.

Thanks George - we will always remember our visit and hope to see you again. Sorry it's taken a while to write this, have been in denial since coming back to cold old UK! E y R x

Room Tip: Las Flores is enormous! George will add an extra bed if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything said before is true.
After a very long flight, it was great to have George pick us up from the airport to his lovely B&B, located in a pleasant neighbourhood on alajuela.
A big house with 3 rooms. We stayed in "las floras", which was big and very cosy, with a large and nice bathroom, with hot water and ok waterpressure.
In the morning we woke up to see George finishing fixing our breakfast. If it wasn't my honeymoon, i would've married this man :).
The breakfast was delicious! Lots of fresh tropical fruits, banana and mango bread (yum!) and George's special: scrambled eggs with zuccini and peppers.
We felt very welcomed and were sorry to find out there's no vacancy for our return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really cannot thank George (the owner/operator) enough for his hospitality. We arrived in San Jose the night before our scheduled flight out and were discovering we'd contracted a pretty harsh dose of food poisoning. After a long 4hr bus ride from Puerto Viejo, George's hospitality was a saving grace. He personally drove me to the pharmacy down the road late that night. The following morning he prepared a "healing" breakfast and arranged his driver to show us to a doctor. The accommodations at Alegria were very nice... comfortable bed, hot shower, nice decor. The place truly felt like home and was a welcome respite in our trip. Thanks again George!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recommend this place for its safety, cleanness and very good service offered by the owner George. Thanks to the trip advisor and the reviews, I found this place and I can say the reviews were really true. George came to pick us up to the airport, we didn't pay anything for this service. The room was nice and clean. Wifi worked well in the house. The breakfast was delicious, the best we had during our 14 days stay in CR. We even got a bottle of water for free and George gave us some fruit and donuts to take for the trip to Manuel Antonio - that was very nice of him!
Unfortunately the place was booked when we wanted to stay there on our last two nights so we had to find another place in Alajuela (Mi Tierra - it was also a very good choice).
No negatives about staying in Alegria B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really appreciated George's warm welcome in his house in Alajuela. Room was very clean, quiet and big.
The breakfast that George prepared was delicious: fresh fruits, coffee, homemade muffins and donuts!
it's a good feeling to be in a safe place (our rental car slept behind the closed gate), with a great host. i would definitely come back!

The place is not that easy to find, Costa Rica does not use street address so we used the GPS location provided on the website but it did not work out for us. We did find the place after all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list