We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Trip to Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My Trip to Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Alegria Bed and Breakfast was so AMAZING and such a delightful place to stay in. My cousin and I went to Costa Rica for my birthday and we stayed at Alegria Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights, first night and the last night of our trip. Mr. George the owner was so sweet, so friendly and so personable. He was there to pick me up the airport and tell me about Costa Rica and then he had a driver to for me the next morning, his friend Mr. Luis to go to the airport and pick up my cousin. Mr. Luis was GREAT and he took us to our next destination and showed us some amazing places in Costa Rica.
The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had in a bed and breakfast. It was fresh, so yummy and tasty! Mr. George fresh fruits, eggs, blueberry muffins and you have to try his banana walnut cake OH WOW soooo delicious. If you are looking a great place to stay I definitely recommend Alegira bed and breakfast, the sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean. We had our own bathroom across the hallway which had good pressure and hot water which you will want in the mountains! All in all, a great stay with a very hospitable and generous host. We will be back on our next trip to Costa Rica and stay in Alegria for sure!!! Thank you Mr. George and Luis for everything!

Room Tip: The rooms are great with private bathroom, with sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
143
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

George, the owner, will make sure you have the best stay in Alajuela as possible.

Upon arrival George was very friendly and told us that his house is our house. You can use anything in the house and there is lots of common areas to hang out. He has a desk with heaps of information about Costa Rica. George makes muffins in the early morning so you wake to the smell of freshly baked goods which is heaven. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in a B&B. We had lots of fruit, muffins, and a veggie omelet. George is very good if you have food allergies as well. He made my boyfriend dairy free muffins!

We stayed in the palmas room. The sheets/ towels are white so you know they are clean. We had our own bathroom across the hallway which had good pressure and hot water which you will want in the mountains! Wifi works very well everywhere.

The location is only a 20 minute walk to downtown. This assures you will have a great, quite night of sleep. Within a couple minutes there is a pizza shop and small market to pick up anything you may need. The taxi is only 5-10 mins depending on traffic. Make sure you have 3500 to pay for the taxi if there is traffic.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Alegria B&B on the first and last nights of our two weeks stay in Costa Rica. We arrived on a late flight and George was there at the airport to meet us. He took care of arranging a car rental to be delivered to the B&B the next morning (and the car picked up at the end of the trip). The B&B is located in a quiet residential area about 20 minutes walk from the center of Alajuela, an easy and safe walk into town. The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. On the day we left, George was up early helping out other guests with their 5 AM pickup, and he packed up a breakfast up for us and drove us to the airport before 6 AM. All in all, a great stay with a very hospitable and generous host. We will be back on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge District Municipality, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am able to highly recommend Alegria bed and breakfast as being a comfortable and convenient place to stay when visiting Costa Rica. It is close the airport for arrivals and early flights out. George is an amazing host who will make you feel at home right away. And he prepares "hands down" the best breakfasts to start your day. The rooms are very nice and the atmosphere is relaxing. George is willing and able to offer travel advise, share stories, and arrange transportation as needed. We spent 2 weeks in the country and used Alegria as our home base.
Thanks George, until next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is great, and although the house is beautiful and comfortable, it's George that really makes the experience stand out. I won't even consider staying anywhere else in Alajuela from now on. I've never had a B&B host that opened up their home to guests the way George does and he does it in a way that makes you totally comfortable. My daughter and I only stayed one night, but by the time we left the next day it was like we'd known him for ages. And he is a great cook - breakfast was wonderful. I would give this place 6's if I could.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Alegria feels like a true bnb...it's a large house in Alajuela. There is a pretty front porch and a big living room to hang out in. The kitchen is for everyone to use. The guest rooms are clustered together on one side of the house. We stayed in Las Palmas, a nice cozy room with a bathroom just across the hall. The shower was good and hot. There is no AC, but it wasn't needed at night. George was very welcoming and nice, he gave us dinner suggestions after we arrived and answered any questions we had. My sleep wasn't the best, as I'm a light sleeper and I could hear the people in the room next to us coughing and getting ready at 4am. So, earplugs are a good option if you are a light sleeper. Our shuttle picked us up at 6am the next morning and George prepared us a breakfast to bring along - it was very tasty and much appreciated!

I think George has a great place...it's close to the airport and very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here again if we go back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't spend much time in Alajuela - the first night, we flew in around 8pm on New Year's Eve. George collected us at the airport, saving us an $11 cab ride. Score. The next morning, we headed out early. He made us a sack lunch, which really saved us.

Our second stay was on the way back home. We spent the afternoon in downtown Alajuela - at the Mercado Central (10 min cab ride or leisurely 30 min walk). Very cool! Hardly any tourists. Tip: Check out the ceviche stand inside. Delicious! Again, the next morning George packed us a meal of breakfast sandwiches, fruit and cookies. A real lifesaver!

Tips
- Alajuela is just a few miles from SJO - much easier than staying in San Jose proper.
- Alegria is located in a very residential area. Not much by the way of restaurants or stores. You have to walk about 20-30 min to get downtown, but we didn't think this was an issue.

You just can't beat the southern-style hospitality and squeaky clean rooms for $50 a night! Thanks again, George!

Room Tip: The house and all the rooms were very clean - nothing fancy. The first time, we stayed in a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
Free internet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#6 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Boutique, Free...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Romantic, Famil...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#3 of 53 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list