We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alegria Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alegria Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alegria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the place! I have stayed at other B&Bs and hotels in Alajuela due to its close proximity to the airport but Alegria is now my favorite. The one level house is huge, clean and very relaxing.
I left the USA on an early morning flight, George met me at the airport and I was able to really relax at Alegria and slept well too. Woke up to fresh coffee, fruit, and really good Banana nut bread muffins.
I asked George if he had a vacancy for the next night. Luckily he did. So I explored Alajuela that day and returned to Alegria B&B that evening to relax in the rocking chair on the front porch, take a hot shower with plenty of water pressure (you don't get that at some B&Bs) and slept like a baby.
Located away from downtown noise and traffic but a taxi fare of about $1.50 will get you to the center of town. George had a Taxi there in about two minutes of his call. Taxi stand nearby.
Too bad there were no vacancies for my last night in Costa Rica but for my next trip I'll go on-line to make reservations to stay at my new favorite B&B in Alajuela. No more searching. I don't think you can do any better. Good value, good ratings, and George is a great host and cook.

Room Tip: Driving directions for Alegria B&B are on the website. Bus from Downtown stops 1/2 block from fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
150
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at Alegria B&B more than once.

George is a fantastic host, has lived in the area a long time and can assist with virtually anything, plus will give excellent advice on places to eat, etcetera. The setting is a private home in a quiet residential area, with very few rooms, each with an independent or private bath. The living room or common area is huge, and there is an assistant separate TV area. The kitchen is a welcome place, we have brought our own food and drink which was well accommodated. However the is little need as George makes a filling breakfast with fruit, eggs and his home baked banana bread.

Not only recommended, but we will go there again when in the area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Alegria was a great location to begin and end our time in Costa Rica. It is about ten minutes from the airport (though taxis seem to have a hard time finding it!) and a short walk from downtown Alajuela. George was a gracious and considerate host. He gave us excellent advice on places to eat as well as to shop for souvenirs, and he prepared a delicious breakfast that included homemade bread, fresh fruits, and an egg bake. Because we were leaving at 4:30 a.m. on the day of our departure, he not only packed a breakfast for us, but drove us to the airport when our cab failed to materialize. The house has a huge dining room/living room area with a table for playing games (George has a good supply); there is also a substantial lending library. George immediately made us feel like part of the family!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here on Super Bowl Sunday the night before flying home. George told us to make ourselves at home and he meant it. He has a large comfortable house with two rooms with sitting areas and our room had a very comfortable bed. A friend of his came over and they prepared a large variety of food for a Super Bowl party which they freely shared with another couple and us. Even though we had an early flight and were up at 5 a.m. he was up with a pot of coffee going and called us a taxi. The atmosphere was very low key and laid back meaning if you wanted to interact that was ok and if you wanted to find a quiet spot by yourself that was ok too. Will definitely return on our next visit to Costa Rica. One warning though: This is a residential neighborhood and if you don't have a car it's maybe a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

George was a great host. We felt like we were at home. Breakfast was great. George was always there when we needed him; even at 4 am departures to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome for anyone spending his first or last light in Costa Rica and flying from San Jose airport. The house is really nice and the USA native host, George, knows how to make yourself at home. He gave us good advices for our short time in Alajuela and for our trip in general. The house is big and very clean. In the morning, he came up with this big plate of fruits and a slice of banana bread which was delicious! We will definitely go back there every time we come to Costa Rica. 
The house is located on a corner and look for the Alegria sign at the bottom of the fence. It is a little hard to find but it really really worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Alegria our first and last night in CR. It was very convenient to the airport (about 10 minutes and $5-8), very clean, relaxing and George was a great and friendly host. There was wi-fi, plenty of space to relax in the house with two separate lounge areas and access to the kitchen if needed. We had to get up very early both times we were there and George packed us a to-go breakfast (including his amazing banana bread) and made sure that we were up on time. It is about a 15 minute walk into town or a $2 taxi ride if you want to get something to eat. When George calls a taxi, they were always there in less than 2 minutes! If you're heading in or out of CR, this is the perfect place and price and much more fun than staying at an expensive chain hotel next to the airport. Thanks George!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Palm room. It was plenty of space with a bathroom just across the hall. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#2 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#7 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Hotel
Pura Vida Hotel
#1 of 58 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Pacande Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pueblo Nuevo de Alajuela, Residential Alajuela, segundo entrada, 200 metro norte, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegria is a true Bed and Breakfast with guest rooms in our family home. We are only minutes from the San Jose International airport, convenient for your arrival and departure days. Enjoy the best of Southern Hospitality in a classic Spanish home with precious wood ceilings, hand-carved doors and welcoming porches. We are located in a friendly, secure neighborhood of professional Tico and international families. Convenient shopping and bus service are just steps away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alegria b&b
Alegria Hotel Alajuela
Alegria Bed And Breakfast Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alegria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.