We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SET ANOTHER ALARM!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango

Hotel Mango
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Mango to your Saves list
Hotel Mango
500 m east from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SET ANOTHER ALARM!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Close proximity to SJO, but our 4:30am wake up call never came. Being so close to the airport, one would think the staff would be more attentive to the early departures. Security guard showed us the paper where the wake up call was written down, then refused to open the gate until I returned the room key, even though I was returning to the room. Eventually he let us out. Still no staff at front desk upon my return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    9
    11
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent one night (which was one night too many) at this hotel. We almost left as soon as we walked in but since we paid for reservations and were only there for 8 hours before our early flight, we stuck it out.

Old & creepy is the best way to describe this dimly lit, shady place. My kids were creeped out and begged us to go somewhere else. Our room was spartan at best and was filled with mosquitos. Ugh.

I am a world traveler and up for adventure but this isn't the kind of funky experience I enjoyed. The only advantage to this place was the proximity to the airport but that wouldn't be enough to ever make me go back.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

After flying all night we were given a nice clean room at 7AM for the cost of our 1 night stay and offered a tasty Costa Rican breakfast too! The hotel is smaller but has a nice courtyard, pool and indoor/outdoor dining. Outside perimeter walls on the property, locked entrance gate and inside door access to the rooms made us feel very secure! Very close to airport and main highway. Easy pick up for tours/taxis. The staff was always helpful, even beyond the ordinary requests. That is what prompted me to write. These people are working very hard to make a well run, comfortable hotel. We'll stay again if we ever are lucky enought to get back to Costa Rica!

Room Tip: face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good: The lady from the bar did actually bring us a drink by the pool, the taxi driver to the airport was on time and the a/c did work well.

Bad: The front desk tried to charge us more than the billboard outside by saying that it was an old sign, internet didn't work, the pool area is very small, no washclothes, old mattresses, burn hole in the bedspread, restaurant was closed, the shower knob was missing, there is no chain for the door, there was no breakfast/only coffee, no in-room coffee pot, there was no hangers and you could hear every noise from the hallway. And no one was ever at the front desk when you needed them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Can't believe this place has a single good review...if you have ever stayed in a motel that really gave you the creeps, imagine yourself here. Dirt all over the floors, gnats and mosquitos in the rooms, no hair dryers in the entire hotel, the on-sight restaurant has open windows in the bathrooms that lead to the kitchen. Pony up the 10-15 bucks a night and go to the Hampton Inn across the street. After weeks of resorts and beachlife, this last night in CR almost ruined our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I had to go back.... and for my surprise i could not believe my eyes!!! Since 2 years ago the Hotel is under the administration of Mrs. Vihanney White, that has done an incredible job!!!! She remodeled rooms, Changed colors, illumination and the bar/restaurant could not be more comfortable even for those that only want to sleep they can hear nothing from the bar after raising the wall's with a huge flat screen T.V and also remodeling the bar!!! We stayed there (me and 6 friends ) and honestly was really enjoyable!!! Great service!! and the best of all they DO speak ENGLISH!!! I RECOMMENDED TO ALL....

Room Tip: I usually ask for a room by the pool so that i can hear the waterfall and have the beautiful feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is real good is near to volcanoes and the beaches plus close to the airporto and the capital of Costa Rica San Jose.If you want a real special rest my recommendation is this nice Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango

Address: 500 m east from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Mango Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.