We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is a super coool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango

Hotel Mango
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mango to your Saves list
Hotel Mango
500 m east from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“is a super coool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is real good is near to volcanoes and the beaches plus close to the airporto and the capital of Costa Rica San Jose.If you want a real special rest my recommendation is this nice Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    5
    9
    11
See reviews for
8
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

When we arrived to Costa Rica after a terrible fight a friend recommended us the Hotel Mango by the airport.... Wonderful, it is hard for me to believe the comments that give such an awful description... The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped, the staff was wonderful and one of the main things to describe was how helpful they were with all the info and the great customer service they provided me and my family. They help us from the great rates for Hotel at the beach to get the best car rental at the lowest rate. Great food and a nice environment at the bar that made us feel more than happy to be there. Now my family went back home and for bussines reasons i stayed and every time i have the chance i go by to have a drink... I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Please do yourself a favor and do not stay here. Once you've done a few days at the luxurious hotels at the beach and near the volcanoes, choosing to end your vacation here is like undoing all the enjoyment of the rest of the trip. My wife could not sleep a wink. The woman at the front desk was very rude. There were ants and mosquitoes in the rooms which were old, dirty, and incredibly cold. Even though it said no smoking, our room had the distinct smell of cigarette smoke, and obviously still had the same air filters as when it was allowed. Had we not already paid in full we would have certainly left for another hotel. The men's bathroom in the restaurant had no soap and there was an OPEN window to the kitchen...disgusting!! We ended up leaving at 3 in the morning and headed over to the airport just to get out of the room.

It is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my entire life.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Old, dated hotel, close to Int. airport. Overpriced. Great lady on front desk, very helpful and good English. Rooms ok, good bed, small, dated shower and toilet. WiFi in room. Old computer in lobby for guests.
Small, nice pool. Restaurant closed our nt.,(Monday), looked ok, but not good prices.
Older hotel is now being remodeled and new addition under-construction.
Stayed one nt. to catch early flight. Arranged 5AM wake-up call with friendly lady at desk. Also was to secure airport taxi for 5:30 am.
We woke up at 4:30, packed, looked for coffee and desk, etc. was closed. Wake-up call never came. At 5:15am went again to front desk. Still black. Went to front drive-way and realized that security gates are pad-locked. The fence over 6' high.
We were locked IN our hotel!
My wife, in search of coffee, found a solo maintenance-man. Very friendly, but non-English speaking. His English only slightly better than my poor Spanish. He was the only employee actually AT the hotel 7-minutes before our taxi was scheduled to arrive.
Fortunately, this really nice early-worker guy saved us BIG STRESS. He had a key to unlock the castle-type gates and the taxi was on time. I had imagined trying to throw end-of-trip HEAVY bags over a 6-foot fence. Could not get my mind around getting my sub-five foot spouse over that fence.
Trying not to be paranoid, I must admit that for 5 to 7 minutes it freaked me to realize that we were trapped in a hotel and not speaking Spanish curtailed much chance of calling another taxi and trying to explain that the gates were locked, but please come in and rescue us. Fat chance that we could explain our situation to a Spanish speaking operator and have her get help for us in time to catch our flight out of the country.
Things did work-out for us, but folks that sleep heavy may have had trouble with NO wake-up call ever coming.
Bottom-line: there is a new Holiday-Inn Express a few blocks way. Same price, but new room with amenities, (gym, better TV, atmosphere etc.). A better choice than the tired old Mango.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We, like other, look for 1-2 nights before we leave from CR, let me make a note, THE HOTEL JUST CHANGE ADMINISTRATION, we was atended by Michelle and Vianey, both, very nice person, perfect english and friendly.
We are not to fancy for hotels, if is clean and safe is enough.
Of course, if the hotel is close to the airport you will hear the flights/planes landing and departing but is nothing mortal is a normal noise.
The food was great (persian food), the breakfast is include, they pay the taxi to the airport (include in the rate), the pool look clean (we dont use), the room was clean, with tv cable, a/c, fan, 2 queen beds.
Rgds

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Warning!!!!! Do not stay at hotel. Theives of the worst kind.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed there this past weekend, the hotel is a dump.. smells, beds are horrible and is way overpriced. Dont pay in colones because there transfer rate is horrible and and u will end up paying well over the 87$$ dollar amount . We sayed ther not wanting to give money to the big "corporate hotels' , but should of. I know i wont use them again, plenty of hotels to choose from.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango

Address: 500 m east from Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Mango Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.