We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Spotless Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1915 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1915 Hotel to your Saves list
1915 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Spotless Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in 1915 Hotel in May 2012. We only stayed the one night, after flying in to San José airport that evening.

The hotel was spotless clean, was very quiet and far more beautiful than the photos on this site would lead you to believe - they do it little justice. The staff didn't have much English, but enough to communicate at a basic level. In addition, they were very accommodating, warm and friendly (like most Costa Rican people that we met on our trip!).

Would def. stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Small simple cramped rooms, slightly disorganized staff, though very nice and helpful. The hotel was beautiful, historic building with lovely places to lounge. Great breakfast. Very safe rooms and parking. Nice place to begin or end your adventure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This reservation was made for my group. I arrived at the airport and the taxi driver had to ask another for directions. Short, inexpensive cab ride. Doesn't look like a hotel from the street, but inside it is wonderful. Looks and feels like a historic home where you are a guest.
Small room, but it had an en suite bathroom. We ate dinner and breakfast here and it was excellent. Very friendly staff, who get to know you quickly as the hotel is small. This is my idea of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Level Contributor
185 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights here as a base to visit poas volcano and rest up after 3 weeks traveling around Costa Rica. This is an old place and looks funky from the outside but once you enter it is quite a charmer. Built in about1900 as a residence for some coffee magnates and converted into a hotel it offers travelers a variety of rooms at varying price points. We didnt like the 65 and 75 dollar rooms but the pricier balcony room is great. Its a large room w/ a very comfortable king size bed a large bathroom and a patio. It has a wall mounted flat screen TV, A/C and iffy wi fi. over-all very comfortable. There is a good included breakfast. The door is locked so must ask to be let out and must ring a bell to get someone to let you back in. That and the poorly designed but attractive shower which leaks like crazy bugged me a bit but hey all in all a good place. Balcony room cost me $90 per night.here is a parking lot with very tight spaces which also requires staff assistance

Room Tip: look at various rooms before you decide. can negotiate price a little w/ cash payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Tripadvisor reviews were very helpful - and I was so happy I booked in here for my last night in Costa Rica (I would have loved another few days here). From the outside, you are not prepared for the gorgeous setting inside - 1915 was an old house, the downstairs sitting areas are beautifully furnished - my room was totally updated w/flat screen t.v., amazing bed, and totally modern bathroom. The staff were very nice and the breakfast (complimentary) delicious. Easy walk to the center of Alajuela which has a nice town center and beautiful Cathedral, where I stopped in to watch a wedding. Very short cab ride to the airport. A definite find!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We arrived in Costa Rica and needed a place to stay quite near the airport. We took the guide books advice and booked into Hotel 1915. It looks nothing from the road but its amazing! An old building with loads of character, friendly staff and to top it off humming birds feed around you as you are having breakfast - loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed two nights after arriving very late November 20th, 2011. The staff were waiting for us and were very helpful getting us settled. The complimentary breakfasts were terrific, and the staff arranged transport to our next destination (La Fortuna) for us. Our adult children who were joining us in Costa Rica in early December also stayed at the 1915, and were also impressed with the warm welcome and comfortable room. The four of us stayed at the 1915 again on the way home. It is very conveniently located a short cab ride from the airport, but within walking distance to the city center, shopping and restaurants. The owner/operator family keep the hotel beautifully, and were planning more upgrades when we left. We would recommend it highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#20 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1915 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your 1915 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1915 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.