We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1915 Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1915 Hotel
Save Saved
You added 1915 Hotel to your Saves list
Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This reservation was made for my group. I arrived at the airport and the taxi driver had to ask another for directions. Short, inexpensive cab ride. Doesn't look like a hotel from the street, but inside it is wonderful. Looks and feels like a historic home where you are a guest.
Small room, but it had an en suite bathroom. We ate dinner and breakfast here and it was excellent. Very friendly staff, who get to know you quickly as the hotel is small. This is my idea of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa rosa,ca
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent 3 nights here as a base to visit poas volcano and rest up after 3 weeks traveling around Costa Rica. This is an old place and looks funky from the outside but once you enter it is quite a charmer. Built in about1900 as a residence for some coffee magnates and converted into a hotel it offers travelers a variety of rooms at varying price points. We didnt like the 65 and 75 dollar rooms but the pricier balcony room is great. Its a large room w/ a very comfortable king size bed a large bathroom and a patio. It has a wall mounted flat screen TV, A/C and iffy wi fi. over-all very comfortable. There is a good included breakfast. The door is locked so must ask to be let out and must ring a bell to get someone to let you back in. That and the poorly designed but attractive shower which leaks like crazy bugged me a bit but hey all in all a good place. Balcony room cost me $90 per night.here is a parking lot with very tight spaces which also requires staff assistance

Room Tip: look at various rooms before you decide. can negotiate price a little w/ cash payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Tripadvisor reviews were very helpful - and I was so happy I booked in here for my last night in Costa Rica (I would have loved another few days here). From the outside, you are not prepared for the gorgeous setting inside - 1915 was an old house, the downstairs sitting areas are beautifully furnished - my room was totally updated w/flat screen t.v., amazing bed, and totally modern bathroom. The staff were very nice and the breakfast (complimentary) delicious. Easy walk to the center of Alajuela which has a nice town center and beautiful Cathedral, where I stopped in to watch a wedding. Very short cab ride to the airport. A definite find!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We arrived in Costa Rica and needed a place to stay quite near the airport. We took the guide books advice and booked into Hotel 1915. It looks nothing from the road but its amazing! An old building with loads of character, friendly staff and to top it off humming birds feed around you as you are having breakfast - loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed two nights after arriving very late November 20th, 2011. The staff were waiting for us and were very helpful getting us settled. The complimentary breakfasts were terrific, and the staff arranged transport to our next destination (La Fortuna) for us. Our adult children who were joining us in Costa Rica in early December also stayed at the 1915, and were also impressed with the warm welcome and comfortable room. The four of us stayed at the 1915 again on the way home. It is very conveniently located a short cab ride from the airport, but within walking distance to the city center, shopping and restaurants. The owner/operator family keep the hotel beautifully, and were planning more upgrades when we left. We would recommend it highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemmingford, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

When the taxi dropped us in front of the hotel, i wondered if i had made a good choice... From the outside, there is no way you can be prepared for what is waiting for you inside.
Beautiful place, nice furnitures, and so so much bigger than what we expected. The staff was nice, but not enthousiast, just OK, but we did not need anything more. The owner or manager was much more volubile, nice smile and good english. We took a room that was not near the street, so no sound problem. For the price, i was surprised to have such a good breakfast in a beautiful decor, with plants and flowers. It is located not far from the central park, so good location. Not far is the inside market for the locals, which is fun to visit.
To resume, an excellent value for the price (excuse my english, it is not my main language

Line
Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: choose a room not close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the second time we stayed here. The reason we came here again is because it is close to the airport and the hotel itself is very nice. We came here this time and got put up down the street in their apartments. If they are full and want you to stay at the apartments take my advice and go somewhere else. They were very run down and not taken care of and were the same price. Big dissapointment. Don't get me wrong the hotel is definatly worth it and the people were very friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is definatly worth the time. The apartments definatly are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1915 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.