We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping into history . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1915 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1915 Hotel to your Saves list
1915 Hotel
Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like stepping into history . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Tripadvisor reviews were very helpful - and I was so happy I booked in here for my last night in Costa Rica (I would have loved another few days here). From the outside, you are not prepared for the gorgeous setting inside - 1915 was an old house, the downstairs sitting areas are beautifully furnished - my room was totally updated w/flat screen t.v., amazing bed, and totally modern bathroom. The staff were very nice and the breakfast (complimentary) delicious. Easy walk to the center of Alajuela which has a nice town center and beautiful Cathedral, where I stopped in to watch a wedding. Very short cab ride to the airport. A definite find!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We arrived in Costa Rica and needed a place to stay quite near the airport. We took the guide books advice and booked into Hotel 1915. It looks nothing from the road but its amazing! An old building with loads of character, friendly staff and to top it off humming birds feed around you as you are having breakfast - loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed two nights after arriving very late November 20th, 2011. The staff were waiting for us and were very helpful getting us settled. The complimentary breakfasts were terrific, and the staff arranged transport to our next destination (La Fortuna) for us. Our adult children who were joining us in Costa Rica in early December also stayed at the 1915, and were also impressed with the warm welcome and comfortable room. The four of us stayed at the 1915 again on the way home. It is very conveniently located a short cab ride from the airport, but within walking distance to the city center, shopping and restaurants. The owner/operator family keep the hotel beautifully, and were planning more upgrades when we left. We would recommend it highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemmingford, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

When the taxi dropped us in front of the hotel, i wondered if i had made a good choice... From the outside, there is no way you can be prepared for what is waiting for you inside.
Beautiful place, nice furnitures, and so so much bigger than what we expected. The staff was nice, but not enthousiast, just OK, but we did not need anything more. The owner or manager was much more volubile, nice smile and good english. We took a room that was not near the street, so no sound problem. For the price, i was surprised to have such a good breakfast in a beautiful decor, with plants and flowers. It is located not far from the central park, so good location. Not far is the inside market for the locals, which is fun to visit.
To resume, an excellent value for the price (excuse my english, it is not my main language

Line
Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: choose a room not close to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the second time we stayed here. The reason we came here again is because it is close to the airport and the hotel itself is very nice. We came here this time and got put up down the street in their apartments. If they are full and want you to stay at the apartments take my advice and go somewhere else. They were very run down and not taken care of and were the same price. Big dissapointment. Don't get me wrong the hotel is definatly worth it and the people were very friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is definatly worth the time. The apartments definatly are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were referred to this hotel through our guidebook and it turned out to be a gem. The hotel has been in the same family for many years and has been recently renovated. The building itself was built in 1915, hence the name. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. There are 2 large common areas for relaxing, reading, and visiting. The owners and employees are very kind and helpful. The rooms have hot water, AC, and mini-refrigerators. The breakfast is terrific-fresh juice, fruit, and your choice of several breakfast dishes. It's right in the heart of the little town of Alajuela so there are a few nice cafes closeby for lunch or dinner. To top it off you're only minutes from the international airport! This is the place to stay when you just arrive in Costa Rica or you're just about to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this very lovely quiet hotel. The interior was completely redone and it had a wonderful vibe to it. The rooms were clean and spacious, there was even a little covered balcony which was great for reading. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your 1915 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1915 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.