We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in the apartments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1915 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1915 Hotel to your Saves list
1915 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't stay in the apartments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is the second time we stayed here. The reason we came here again is because it is close to the airport and the hotel itself is very nice. We came here this time and got put up down the street in their apartments. If they are full and want you to stay at the apartments take my advice and go somewhere else. They were very run down and not taken care of and were the same price. Big dissapointment. Don't get me wrong the hotel is definatly worth it and the people were very friendly.

Room Tip: The hotel is definatly worth the time. The apartments definatly are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank very-thirsty-travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were referred to this hotel through our guidebook and it turned out to be a gem. The hotel has been in the same family for many years and has been recently renovated. The building itself was built in 1915, hence the name. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. There are 2 large common areas for relaxing, reading, and visiting. The owners and employees are very kind and helpful. The rooms have hot water, AC, and mini-refrigerators. The breakfast is terrific-fresh juice, fruit, and your choice of several breakfast dishes. It's right in the heart of the little town of Alajuela so there are a few nice cafes closeby for lunch or dinner. To top it off you're only minutes from the international airport! This is the place to stay when you just arrive in Costa Rica or you're just about to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trish1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this very lovely quiet hotel. The interior was completely redone and it had a wonderful vibe to it. The rooms were clean and spacious, there was even a little covered balcony which was great for reading. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We spent a week at the Hotel 1915 and found it very enjoyable. The staff is very sweet and took good care of us. Our room was on the street side and was very noisy at night with cars honking, etc., but nothing that couldn't be taken care of with a good pair of earplugs. We were with a group, so the various sitting areas came in handy as we met to play cards, etc. The breakfast is amazing - something to look forward to every morning! Our shower was a bit of an adventure as it was hot at times and cold at times - not unusual for Costa Rica. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croozinsoozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay for a night near the airport and this was perfect. I was somewhat nervous driving through the city and the first place we looked at didn't help my nerves. However, once we checked out Hotel 1915, I was relieved. The staff was friendly (Darwin), the hotel was charming and cozy with nice decor and the sit-down breakfast was a treat. We had a very pleasant stay and would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

1915 is a gem in the city. DO NOT STAY in San Jose. Go to Alajuela and be 5 minutes from the airport. This hotel is clean and beautiful with a wonderful and helpful staff. The breakfast is also great and hotel is warm and cozy. It has the feeling of staying in someone's lovely home. Darwin at the front desk is FANTASTIC!! I loved it here and could not recommend it enough for those wanting to stay close to the airport to either begin or end their Costa Rican journey.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I've stayed previously at Hotel 1915 for two continuous weeks while working with a church group. On a recent return trip, Hotel 1915 was used one night as a convenient location on arrival (before sight seeing at Monte Verde and La Fortuna) and two nights before departure. The hotel is still very convenient to the Airport -- about one mile directly down the street from SJO -- and still offers friendly service for reasonable accomodations. It is certainly not luxurious, and there are no frills, and it doesn't have a doorman or even a portico. But it is very convenient and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Staff speaks fluent Spanish and basic English.

Before my recent visit, I reviewed Trip Advisor Reviews for some of the common complaints, i.e., bars on the windows, the front door is kept locked and the hotel looks old, in order to structure my comments about my planned visit. Specifically, the hotel is older, it is located in Alajuela and the bars on the doors and windows -- none of the windows actually have openings to the exterior -- are consistent with every other building in the city, and, yes, the front door is locked at all times but visitors/guests who ring the convenient door bell are greeted promptly by friendly staff.

I had planned to check out the "Apartments" which are about two hundred yards/meters from the main building and down the street/across a main street. During the time of our visit, it was being used by survivors from a nearby hillside village that had suffered a landslide as a result of the heavy rains while they waited to learn the fate of those who were swept away and I was asked not to go there.

The hotel is clean, the bathrooms are quite small but the water in the shower is hot and the towels are large and fluffy and work well. I was fortunate to stay in Room 8, which is away from the street, and it was relatively quiet. There was heavy rain one night and there was some noise from the downpour. Breakfast -- "tipico" or American and included -- was cheerfully prepared by staff to order! There is a computer with Internet access albeit quite slow and Firefox works best. Staff arranged my taxi pickup for 4 a.m. and we (three of us) were dropped at the SJO airport in less than five minutes. Hotel 1915 is convenient and comfortable but not luxurious!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
Hotel Catedral Casa Cornejo
#19 of 31 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.3 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1915 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1915 Hotel

Address: Downtown Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1915 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your 1915 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1915 Hotel Alajuela
1915 Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing