We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to start and finish our journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coconut House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Coconut House to your Saves list
Hotel Coconut House
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“The best place to start and finish our journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed already a couple of times with Heike & Reiner and can highly recommend their place to everyone! Its a cute and clean hotel, very close to the aiport (~10 min by taxi) and the rates are absolutely fair. The rooms are equipped with basic needs, overhead ventilators and private or common bathroom. It is located quietly within a residential area, with nearby park, supermarket + ATM and Gas Station. There is a central bus stop going to almost all directions, which one can reach by foot (~20min). For us, the Coconut House is the best place to start and finish our travellings, or to take a rest while crossing the country and passing by or exploring the melting pot around San Jose. We were always allowed to leave parts of our luggage within the hotel, which we appreciated very much. Owners and staff are always friendly and helpful, providing knowledge of the local area, transportation and tourist attraction. They are calling reliable taxi drivers, contacting rental car services and airlines and support their guests in every respect. We really appreciate the commitment of Heike and Reiner to run the hotel environmentally friendly in terms of waste separation, energy and water consume. We enjoyed a good breakfast buffet with plenty of food and fresh fruits. Whenever we are visiting Costa Rica, we are using the Coconut House as our base and can honestly revommend it to anyone without any restrictions.

Room Tip: We have been in all rooms with private or common bathroom and did not find any significant differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raglan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here in March and then again in April 2011. It is a short taxi ride from the airport and nothing is too much trouble for the owners - so friendly and helpful. My wife had to fly home after two weeks in Costa Rica so I travelled up to Nicaragua on local buses and Heiki's knowledge of the local area and transport system was very helpful. There is an array of choices for breakfast, the best we had in our travels. I wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Coconut House.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Over some years I stayed there a couple of times & it was always a pleasure. Friendly, helpful owners Heike & Rainer run a cozy place with very nice, clean rooms and are open for any questions about the country. A very quiet location. Great breakfast-buffett. Rainer bakes his own bread! I can recommend Coconut House to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We used Coconut House for 4 weeks as our base for going off and exploring different parts of the country, and as on a couple of occasions we had weight restrictions on domestic flights we very much appreciated being able to leave part of our luggage at the hotel.
The owners Heike and Reiner are German, but both speak English as well as Spanish. We have travelled a great deal, but never before have we ever felt more at ease, more competently advised, more helped along in every respect than by them. They bend over backwards for their guests - phoning reliable taxis, describing the way to good eateries, giving advice about the quirks of driving in Costa Rica, checking flight times, if necessary rebooking flights etc. They run their hotel on strictly eco-friendly lines, so rubbish is carefully separated, and only biological cleaning materials used.
The hotel is small with only 6 rooms, which are kept spotlessly clean. Everything works, which is not something you can always expect in Central America. The rooms are furnished with the basic necessities, and the overhead ventilators keep the air pleasantly moving on hot nights. There is no air-conditioning , which might be a problem for some people.
Coconut House is well located in a side-road in a quiet residential area opposite a small park. It is about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport, and there is a bus stop to San Jose, the capital, just round the corner. A modern well-stocked supermarket with an ATM is a bare 10 minutes on foot.
Breakfast is buffet-style, and is plentiful and good. The cook comes in most evenings a week and prepares a very tasty dinner (local cuisine) at a very moderate price.
There is a quiet, beautifully kept little garden with wonderful tropical plants (and birds!) behind the house, and we enjoyed a bit of quality time there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Heike the owner was so helpful and accommodating. I had planned on staying there with just my husband but due to flight cancellations my sister was with us also. At the last minute Heike was able to rearrange and accommodate all of us. The hotel is great a short stay when going or coming from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel twice. It is a great place when you have an early flight out of, or late flight into, C.R. It is a 10 minute, $6 taxi ride from the airport. Breakfast is included, & dinners can be ordered for $10. The hotel is clean, secure and very quiet. The German owner is pleasant, helpful and speaks English.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here the night before our morning flight home from San Jose. It was small but clean and comfortable. Theres nothing much more special about it than that. It was basic and convenient for 1 night, but I wouldnt have liked to stay here as part of a longer holiday. When we got up early for our flight, the nightman (who I think was local) greeted us with a smile and made us (much welcome) mugs of coffee for while we waited for our taxi which was nice.
The price for a double room with private bathroom including breakfast and tax was US $37 so its a real bargain.

One thing worth mentioning- the owner has about 6 cats that wander about the property so if you are allergic, make sure you pack your antihistamines!

There was a cheap take-away place nearby (5-10 min walk) where you could also eat in, so we went there for dinner. The food was good but greasy and definitely no frills! To go to somewhere decent to eat you would have to get a taxi out.

It was US $7/8 for a taxi to the airport.

One thing we hadn't realised is that you have to pay an airport fee of $26 EACH to leave Costa Rica. I had assumed that charges like that were included in your flight price- not so (at least not with Continental Airlines). If you pay this charge by credit card, they put it through as a cash advance fee (with the huge charges associated), so make sure you have some spare dollars to exit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coconut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coconut House

Address: Urb. La Trinidad, del Super La Trinidad 100 Sur y 350 oeste, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Coconut House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Coconut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coconut House Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coconut House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.